We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy Stay.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 19 Burgate

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Pickering, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
David E
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Cosy Stay.”
Reviewed April 9, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Great location, easy access to all amenities in the town of Pickering.
The cottage was extremely clean and tidy and the bed was really comfortable.
The cottage was well equipped and the garden was pretty but unable to use at this time due to weather.
Would not hesitate to stay here again if we visited the area in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2018
Thank you David and you were perfect guests-really do hope to see you on future trips
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipbubble
England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed February 5, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Great location,close to some fabulous walks. The cottage was very well equipped and clean.
Having the host Pat nearby was very handy to answer any queries. Would definitely recommend and would love to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Feb 2018
We would be delighted to have you back!!!!
Thanks for your review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C
Thornton Hough
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Chilled and relaxed”
Reviewed November 6, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We spent a week here - we parked the car and used the buses - have travel pass will travel. We also caught the steam train to Whitby for the lovely fish and chips. We had a day in Scarborough and also Bridlington. Bridlington we didn't like. Found the locals very friendly, the eateries White Swan, good food and friendly. Black Swan was good for food but a bit cramped. Weather was dry and we had a thoroughly good break. The cheese scones are to die for

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2017
Thank you for your review and delighted you enjoyed both 19 Burgate and the area. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 26, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Sep 2017
Thank you for this and your lovely comments in our visitors book.Great to know you will be telling your friends and family -the best possible sort of recommendation. Hope to see you here at 19 on a future visit
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Margaret...
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A chic, peaceful self catering cottage with hidden extras”
Reviewed June 12, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second visit to no 19 and this time we took a friend , Our second visit did not disappoint, as before it was immaculate and this time there was the added bonus of a new walk in shower and the worktop freezer in addition to the fridge. The welcome pack contained, milk, butter, eggs, marmalade, tea, coffee, sugar, lovely biscuits and a very nice bottle of chilled white wine. With 3 of us the second bedroom was used and this is beautifully decorated , we would make a suggestion that perhaps some coat hangers could be put on the coat hooks together with a small chest of drawers instead of the table.
We had wonderful weather and were able to take advantage of the lovely garden and the garden shed where we were able to eat our evening meal and enjoy a glass of wine whilst listening to the birds. It is so peaceful you would never know you were near the centre of town, we commented that with the style of the roof tiles you could be in the French countryside.
Whilst in Pickering we visited the Beck Isle Museum of Rural Life, it is a social history museum and well worth a visit for both young and old.
Another place worth visiting is Scampston Hall and walled garden, whilst there make a visit to the garden cafe which has some amazing salads. Just before you get to the Hall you pass a lovely coffee shop where the proprietor makes everything she sells, wonderful pastries, chocolates and cakes.
Our second visit to no 19 did not disappoint and I am sure we will be back for a third.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2017
Delighted you enjoyed your second visit to 19 and we look forward to seeing you again on future trips. Thank you for your suggestions which we will be implementing
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill N
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A great base in all weathers”
Reviewed May 1, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A homely cosy cottage just off the Market Place which has numerous shops, pubs and tea/coffee shops. Perfectly situated for exploring on foot,by bus or train (NYMR)

The cottage is well equipped, the bed very comfortable and the walk-in shower a great addition. Coupled with a summer house in the garden and parking at 17 Burgate we enjoyed a really nice break. Welcome pack was just that and Will seems a mine of information.
One negative - the fridge could be bigger ( currently a table top fridge/freezer on the floor)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2017
Thanks for your lovely feedback about 19 Burgate and we look forward to future visits. We note your point on the fridge which we will address going forward
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drake-601
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely, cosy cottage – mind your head!”
Reviewed April 10, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Visited Pickering for a few hours on 3 occasions when-staying in Thornton Dale; first time we’ve stayed in the town itself. Loads of places to eat, drink and shop and No.19 is perfectly situated for all, including being close to Pickering Castle.

Quiet enough location too; the only time we heard traffic through the double glazing in the bedroom was if an extra-loud motor bike passed or on bin collection morning.

As other reviewers have stated, the very thoughtful owners have kitted the cottage out with everything you could need, which includes a lovely welcome selection of goods (see other reviews so that I’m not boring you all by repeating it).

With 2 very comfy, 2-seater settees in the front living room that sit side-on to a very good-size TV and DVD box, this was very cosy for the 2 of us and our little dog. Once connected, which took me a few goes; the wi-fi is excellent!

Very comfy bed in the front bedroom; additional single bed in rear bedroom if you have 3 staying. Good size too with good draw and wardrobe space. There were only 6 hangers provided; we could have done with around 12 and, of course, we could have brought our own with travelling by car… and I have no doubt that if we’d have asked we would have been provided with additional.

Again, a good size bathroom with bath, an excellent shower and as with the rest of the cottage; it’s decorated / furnished to a high standard.

Likewise, the good-size kitchen, which has everything you could need. Now I’m around 6-foot and I struggled at times with the small, low-down fridge (decent size freezer on top), which is in a space that has room for a taller one, if that doesn’t sound too picky. It’s not just the limited height for taller people but, I’m just being honest; you can’t fit too much inside for a few-day’s stay.

Being 6-foot and as careful as I tried to be in-remembering to crouch down; there are 5 ‘head-crash points’, which are mainly doorway entrances (including the summer house) and I was into double figures of-cracking my head after just 48-hours! If you’re 5-foot 9’ish or taller, then try to be more careful than I was.

As in the pictures and as advertised, the garden is not grassed but stoned instead (grassed garden is connected to Number 17, the owner's B&B) and is accessible via several steps and a handrail from the house, which sits lower down in comparison. Narrow / half-decent length and it has a nice, really-useful summer house that can comfortably accommodate 4. I’d say between April and September this garden is positioned to get some REALLY-long hours of sunshine in the afternoon / evening. There are plenty of flowers and bushes so if you don’t like ‘buzzy things’ then during the Spring and Summer months there isn’t much room for escape!

All-in-all - and despite headroom issues for me - location and cottage-comfort & welcome, I would stay here again and would recommend for a couple (or 3 people).

Thank-you to the owners for a really-lovely welcome and stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2017
Thank you for your very detailed and very positive review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Take your point on low ceilings the norm in these period town cottages. The second bedroom has a double bed and ,since the improvements in the bathroom, we are now happy to let to 4 people. Your observations really are very much appreciated and they do a real feel for a stay at 19-we look forward to future visits. Kind regards Pat and Will
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing