We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clifton Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Midland(Morecambe)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
    Auckland Hotel(Morecambe)
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    • Free Parking
    • Beachfront
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Headway Hotel(Morecambe)
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Royal Kings Arms(Lancaster)
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    Reviews (120)
    Filter reviews
    121 results
    Traveller rating
    23
    46
    25
    14
    13
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    23
    46
    25
    14
    13
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewssingle roomfull englishsea viewtea coffeewould stay againsea frontyogurtlovely hotelone night staylong weekendvisit morecambefantastic viewslake districtbed and breakfastbiscuitslydiacrawley
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    117 - 121 of 121 reviews
    Reviewed 22 November 2009

    My partner and I stayed for 2 nights at the Clifton hotel while visiting family in the Morecambe area. From the moment we stepped through the door we were treated extremely well by the friendly, welcoming staff who went out their way to ensure we had a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

    Our room was large and had a beautiful view overlooking Morecambe bay. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room were much appreciated, as was the flatscreen T.V. The building itself was quite traditional, complete with a down-stairs lobby and bar in the style of an old-English pub...with a pool table and dart board. The hotel is situated on the sea front in a nice, quiet area of town.

    If you're looking for a busy, all-singing all dancing hotel, in the middle of town near pubs and clubs then this certainly isn't the hotel for you... But if, like us, you were looking for a nice, cosy place to relax in for a few days, then certainly give this place a look.

    • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Dan51Oxford
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 1 November 2009

    My husband and I stayed at this hotel last night (Halloween) as we were attending a show. We arrived in Morecambe at 1pm, rang hotel to ask if we could check in rather than wait until 2pm. Was told no and to come back at 2pm as room was not ready. Asked where the car park was and was informed no car park, just one space round back of hotel (the website states parking is available!!). Went back at 2pm to check in. Lady was very friendly and welcoming. Hotel looked outdated and shabby in the reception (which was under the stairs) and ground rooms with damp evident from the wallpaper lifting off the walls. Was given key to room on the 2nd Floor, told to take lift as the stairs were not safe! Husband does not like lifts so he took the stairs and she was right, they were not safe. Entered room, room was very outdated with ceiling wallpaper peeling off. Carpet looked like it needed a good hover. Furniture was old and 1980's with wardrobe being propped up and level by folded old bits of carpet, chairs with broken legs belonged on a bonfire. Bed was pushed into corner of the room with black damp spots and paper lifting off the walls right next to bed which did wonders for my Asthma during the night. "Onsuite" was small, mouldy and had pubic hair on the shower unit and around the top of the toilet bowl. Would have complained and found elsewhere to stay however due to time restraints, had to suffer the place. Breakfast - given a choice of three cereals brought in small bowls to your table. No choice for cooked breakfast, given plate with overcooked egg, bacon, sausage, fried bread (tomato was cooked fine and 1 tablespoon of beans). No toast until asked for it then received one slice. Food was terrible. What I will say is that the waitress staff were really friendly and rushed off of their feet and really did their best to make you feel a guest. Checked out, no goodbyes, just a box with sign saying leave keys here (basically, we have had your money, so you can bugger off now!). Would not use again. Three stars, I would not give it one!!

    • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    4  Thank Ali_BSurrey
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 28 September 2009

    On first glance it looks OK, but there was only one thing nice about this place and it was the staff who serve you breakfast, we had booked well in advance for a family sea view room and a request to get in room early to change for a wedding. We got there to be told room was not ready and we could use another room, which sounded OK at first, but then we looked at room and you couldn't take 2 steps in there without walking into something, I complained and said ''why was room not ready'' to be told they weren't aware we wanted to get in room early, so I said even if room just needed cleaning it wouldn't matter, only to be told they had already booked it out to someone else.
    Shower tiles were mouldy, extract fan had dirt all over it.
    WEEKEND TOTALLY RUINED BY STATE OF THIS PLACE, IT'S EMBARASSING TO THE B&B TRADE

    • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank BedfordAndyBedford
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 25 August 2009

    no bar facilities only open when coach party as residents.Evening meals only available when 10 persons or more are resident.Tea/coffee making facilities in room no biscuits or tea spoons on the tray.
    BOOKLED OUT ONE DAY EARLY

    • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
    Thank fisherman21
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews