We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Have Though”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Morecambe
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I have though along time about this rewiew and reread all the others and i seemed to have been at another hotel towhat i have read and my own experience.My wife and i visited Morecambe in Sept 2011 i searched the rewiews and we decided to book in at the Eidsforth Hotel it only had an owners rating this was 3 star but rewiews were good. The hotel was 2 old houses Knocked into one.Whilst it was very clean and it had top grades for hygiene the bathroom could have done with some ventalation and bedroom which was standeredwas small(they did havebigger rooms at extra cost) you could just down the sides and along the bottom of adouble bed.We had Had a Sea view and to be fair we were not charged extra for it. You could have a change from the english breakfast if you wanted(which was a generous size)and if you wanted extra toast etc you could have it.The staff were all very heipful.pleasent and welcoming.Mine host Andrew was the entertainment and was Quite a good singer hewas also Very good with childern.Whilst we enjoyed our stay and after looking around i think his rating and prices are a bit over the top.Also some thing should be done about the decor

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank westyorksbigun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed here because we read the positive reviews on Tripadvisor - what a mistake!

It was like stepping back to the very worst of the sixties in almost every aspect. The decor throughout is outdated. It is dark, dingy and gloomy.

The cluttered room we paid £67.50 for was so small, the lumpy and uncomfortable, double bed had to be jammed up against one wall to allow space for movement. The bathroom was tiny with a shower that spat a very weak jet of constantly changing hot and cold water.

Breakfast was served for one hour, from 07.45 until 08.45 only (this was a Sunday morning) and was served again in a dismally decorated and cluttered room.

We were glad to get out of the place. It did not have a single redeeming feature in my view. Never again!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Walton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Just got back from Morecambe had a fantastic time.The Eidsforth Hotel is a brilliant hotel,we were made to feel welcome the minute we walked through the door.Andrew is a brilliant host whilst the staff are nice and polite,nothing is too much trouble.Breakfasts are delicous we will definately be back to The Eidsforth.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We were made to feel very welcome at the Eidsforth Hotel. The room was good, the cooked breakfast was excellent. Andrew is an exceptional host and obviously enjoys families staying. The hotel is also in an excellent location right next to the sea and close enough to visit the Lakes (we had a day at Honister and a day at the races in Cartmel) - there is just so much to do - we will be back - the boys can't wait.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

I loved the contemporary facade of this hotel on a previous trip to Morecambe and was keen to visit. I liked the comfortable and informative balcony lounge overlooking the bay. Unfortunately the interior is less modern, which is no surprise given the few visitors seen in Morecambe on an August saturday. However the hosts made every effort to spritz up our small outdated room with jazzy bedthows and cushions, wicker storage, an LED TV, lifestyle magazines, sweets and chocolates on the pillows. Overall the room was let down by the poor shower. Breakfast was rather quiet, whether it was the timing (7.45-8.45) or the groans from the couple at the next table, but I would have preferred to help myself to juice/coffee/cereal. The cooked breakfast however was faultless but I had to ask for toast and coffee. However, many guests are likely to enjoy Andrew's ebullient personality, 10 out of 10 for the sheer effort this guy makes either welcoming, advising, entertaining (Neil Diamond and Elvis impersonations abound) or wowing the kids at breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank medic123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Warm Welcome....Clean sheets....and a GOOD breakfast, of course we got all three here at the Eidsforth hotel, our room was small but adiquate with a few added touches chocs on pillows and sweets in a dish.. but room was very clean!! Andrew (the one man band as we called him) was a superb host who took an interest in us as individuals and not just our wallets...one man band because he was not just the owner but cheif cook, bottlewasher and entertainer( nice fellow)...we have nothing to compare this hotel with as we have not stayed in morcambe overnight before but would defnately recomend this hotel if only for the THREE things i said at the start of the review.....thanks Andrew we will be back....

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philantsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Our first time to Morecambe, but due to the fantastic welcome and the standard of service we received it will not be our last. From the moment we arrived at the hotel we felt like we were at home, and the views from our room were priceless. The proprietors and staff were so friendly and attentive nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was fantastic, and the beer from the bar was'nt bad, try to stay at the weekend the entertainment is a true treat.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view room, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vaughan2433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morecambe hotels
0.4 km away
Travelodge Morecambe
Travelodge Morecambe
#4 of 10 in Morecambe
333 reviews
0.0 km away
Best Western Lothersdale Hotel
0.8 km away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 10 in Morecambe
2,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Auckland Hotel
Auckland Hotel
#2 of 10 in Morecambe
200 reviews
0.8 km away
Headway Hotel
Headway Hotel
#6 of 10 in Morecambe
207 reviews
1.4 km away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 10 in Morecambe
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morecambe Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morecambe Bay Hotel

Address: 317-318 Marine Road Central | Central Promenade, Morecambe LA4 5AA, England (Formerly Eidsforth Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Morecambe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Morecambe
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Morecambe
Price Range: $54 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Morecambe Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run hotel on the prom in morecambe offering outstanding views of Morecambe Bay and the lakeland hills. A warm welcome awaits you in our well stocked bar with entertainment on selected nights. all rooms are en suite and up to and exceeding three star standing with a free car park and lift to all floors. A good and hearty breakfast too with all local produce to set you up to explore the best kept secret of the North West. Close to all amenities in the nearby town and yet comfortably placed to be near but not too near for late night revellers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Morecambe Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eidsforth Hotel Morecambe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing