We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“I really like this hotel..... but” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madeley
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“I really like this hotel..... but”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012 via mobile

Just returned from an all inclusive weekend stay at this hotel, this is the third time we have stayed here,I really love the overall feel of this place, the staff and the food is as good as you can get, but on this stay we have had a few mixed things happen, to start off we had a free upgrade to the best available room, but we were told that this was unavailable as the the hotel was full on the saturday night, we only counted around 20 other people in the hotel and when we ate at 7pm, there was only 4 other people in the resteraunt on both evenings, so we felt a bit miffed that a better room could not be found, we stayed in room 34 on the west wing, this room was terrible, the bathroom was full of black mould on the windowsill,the sink bath and bed was full of hair,the walls were filthy and the paintwork was really not good, we were surprised as the rooms we had stayed in before were really good, now we have been a couple of times,it is clear that overall this hotel is getting very tired and is starting to feel like it needs a complete refurbishment, the chairs in the bar are falling apart,I know that this is an old building,but I feel like there are lots of things that need addressing,the wifi is labeled when you log in as Madeley Court high speed internet, but at 0.5mbs, this was probably high speed 20 years ago,again I would like to repeat the fact that I would not hesitate in using this hotel again,as we really love it,hopefully a few of these things could be sorted out.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyMeredith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NMines, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. We do offer complimentary upgrades subject to availability and sadly on this occasion those rooms had been taken. We were 100% full on this night but a large party did dine away from the hotel.

The south wing bedroom were refurbished just over 14 months ago but i have asked our maintenance team to address your concerns.

On Reading your comments i double checked the wireless system at we were registering 54mbs in all parts of the hotel apart from the cellar area. I have requested our IT company to review our service following your comments.

Once again thank you for your comments

Noel Mines
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    310
    144
    58
    47
See reviews for
108
507
18
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Stayed for the second time at this hotel in March. The building is stunning as is the setting. The rooms are large and well equipped. The staff are very helpful. Enjoyed excellent food on an all inclusive pckage and was not disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NMines, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Hi and thank you for your feedback. We shall pass this onto our team.

Please come back and see us soon.

Noel Mines
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

We have just returned from a two night all inclusive break which we could not fault. We had a room in the East Wing which was very near to the bar and restaurant reception etc. but was very quiet, comfortable spacious spotless what more can you ask for? Food was superb, staff were welcoming and professional and nothing was too much trouble, we have been to quite a few hotels on this same deal but this was definately one of the best and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazzy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NMines, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you for your comments - please come back and see us soon.

Noel Mines
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Just returned from a two night break had a fabulous time. Beautiful hotel with stunning original features. The staff create a professional friendly atmosphere where nothing is to much trouble and everyone we spoke to took pride in their place of work and in helping you have the best stay possible. Breakfast was well cooked and both evening meals perfection loved the open fire in the lounge where we enjoyed a relaxing after dinner coffee
We stayed in an historic room in the old part of the hotel it was tasteful spotless with lots of room a comfortable bed and delightful views over the lake.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NMines, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Thank you for the positive comments regarding your stay i shall pass this onto my team.

Come back and see us soon

Noel Mines
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Having arrived at noon we were able to check in early, unfortunately the south wing rooms are heated by individual electric heaters which are on timers! Ours did not operate and the room was cold. We reported the problem and were promised 'maintenance' would correct it. This failed to cure the problem, a promise of a different heater failed to materialise and only when we told reception staff that we would have to leave, through my health problems in relation to my getting cold, were we offered a different room! The service deteriorated when a number of guests arrived for the weekend and meals were delayed as the staff tried to cope with various dining rooms all at once! The staff were friendly and helpful but there were not enough on duty!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tuffty17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NMines, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. we were sorry to read that you were unhappy with your room. Since the change in the weather we have not received any comments regarding the heating. I shall look into this matter.
I am also sorry to read that you were unhappy with the restaurant service.
Thank you for your comments and i shall discuss them with my team.

Noel Mines
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Just had an all inclusive weekend at this hotel, on arrival we were greeted by a most pleasant lady on reception, we were offered a complimentry sherry which we had an enjoyed. We were staying in the new wing room 29 which had a nice view of the lake. The room was beautifully laid out and the bed was very comfortable, it was everything you would expect but the shower took abit of working out either too hot or cold. That was the only thing I could fault about the room. We booked our table for the evening meal for 9.00pm but werent seated till 9.45pm ok they cant be spot on as some people tend to sit longer at their table when they have eaten. The meal itself was ok that evening, nothing over the top. I had prawn and crayfish cocktail which was not presented as well as Ive had it in another mercure hotel in clitheroe on the same package,my husband had the soup which he enjoyed but a very small amount serevd, I had the steak which I had to pay £6.00 supplement , again not presented as well as Ive had it before and a very thin steak , my husband had the lrack of lamb which again was a supplement of £4.00 which was served only on a bed of mash. The staff on that evening were a very pleasant group of people could not do enough for you their service was excellent. Next morning for breakfeast was mayhem, we waited 15mins to be seated, 45mins for the coffee and toast and a furthur 15mins for our cooked breafeast ( which was awful ) there was hardly anything on the buffet table as they only had three staff on ( poor girls ) felt sorry for them, everyone was complaining and they were apologising and no fault of theirs , ( short staffed for a full retsaurant). My husband asked for the manager at reception to which he was told no one here, he insisted he wanted to see someone and she was called in early to see us. My husband explained everything to her to which she was grateful for the feedback and we were reasured that there would not be a repeat of this again. That evening we got our table no problem, more staff, nice service,We had the haddock fishcake with poached egg on top, a really nice starter, I had the chicken which was nice and my husband had the belly pork, which was nice. Staff again I could only praise at the bar and restaurant ( well done ) Next morning for breakfeast, they also had alot of wedding guests staying for this but the manager did do a wonderful job it was run exceptionally , even the buffet stayed tip top , but the difference was alot more staff so what happened to the staffing the day before we dont know we werent told. But lovely hotel.

Room Tip: stayed in new part on the incluse part of hotel I believe its £25 pound a night more to sleep in old...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WirralLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NMines, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Many thanks for leaving such positive comments regarding your stay - we do appreciate all comments but especially the positive ones.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Noel Mines
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We just had a lovely weekend spent at the Mercure Madeley Hotel. What a great experience! The room was tasteful and very clean. My favorite spot was the lounge in the old part which had a roaring fire and we sat there very peacefully with a glass of wine. Dining was a pleasure with a very attentive server. I would highly recommend for anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NMines, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Hello and thank you four your comments regarding your stay - i shall pass this on to me team.

Please comeback and visit us soon.

Noel Mines
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madeley
3.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Valley Hotel
BEST WESTERN Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
23.6 km away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
2.1 km away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Haughton Hall
Haughton Hall
#1 of 4 in Shifnal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
22.5 km away
Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel
5.8 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Shifnal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel

Property: Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Address: Castlefields Way, Madeley TF7 5DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Madeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel is one of few hotels steeped in so much history. It offers the ambiance of a beautiful 16th-century manor house with parts of the hotel dating as far back as the 13th century, together with all the facilities you'd expect of a modern hotel. You can relax in the stunning conservatory bar overlooking the lake, take a walk around the walled gardens or just settle down in the library. The hotel can be easily reached from junction 4 of the M54 and is only 4 miles from Telford Railway Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeley Clarion
Clarion Madeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing