We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (541)
Filter reviews
541 results
Traveller rating
198
155
102
47
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
198
155
102
47
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sports bar indian restaurant council car park western hotels wedding planner single room executive room old building shopping centre saturday night great night good nights sleep excellent stay full english couldn't fault one night stay cooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 541 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2016 via mobile

Had a pleasant one night stay. Room was clean and comfortable. The TV was a bit small for the room - especially given where it was mounted. The sports bar is an unusual yet welcome addition to a hotel of this type. Good choice at breakfast. Friendly staff at all times.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank GuyRopeTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2016

Dear GuyRopeTrip,

Many thanks for your kind review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Best Western Grand Hotel and hope we will see you again soon.

Regards,

Hannah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 19, 2016

We stayed at the Grand last Sunday night as part of my sons wedding there, We had a great day and were well catered for the hotel itself has seen grander days and in places needs some upkeep ,but the staff were great and really looked after us , the Wedding reception food was lovely as was the breakfast the next day , The room we stayed in was very large and the bed was massive and very comfortable , thanks again for a great day.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank steveyNewmarske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2016

Dear steveyNewmarske,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are pleased you enjoyed you event here and found our staff warm and welcoming.
We hope to see you again soon,

Regards,

Hannah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 6, 2016

We spent our wedding night here in 1986 so 30 years later thought we would see what had changed. I can see how the hotel attracts such differing reviews First impressions approaching the hotel having to push past a crowd of wedding guests smoking on the front steps-no one had the common sense to let guests through with their luggage The reception staff however were very friendly and efficient and advised us to use the council car park next door which had a wall around and as was weekend would not be a problem having to vacate early next morning We had an executive room at room only rate £63 if paid in advance-for that price was OK Room a mixture of old and new-some parts like old doors and vintage plumbing adds a certain charm However the woodchip wallpaper on ceiling and old damp patches don't! Modern bed covers and blinds look good but the frayed net curtain underneath looks tacky Bathroom seems to be the same old fashioned bath from 30 years prior complete with plastic 70's style taps Toilet modern but with a cheap flimsy toilet seat that moves when you sit on it! The sports bar will come as a shock to those expecting a hotel lounge-it's open to public and full of pool tables and wipe clean surfaces which are needed with the spilled beer as people crowd in Mumbai Indian restaurant in basement but also open to public is the star of this hotel A happy hour between 5 and 7 each night where 4 courses for £10.95 Some of the nicest Indian food I've tasted and couldn't manage all 4 courses Again for the price we paid and the fun of revisiting on our 30th anniversary it was a good night but we would be unlikely to repeat

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank canadabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2016

Dear canadabound,

We are sorry to hear about the issues you encountered on what should have been a lovely trip down memory lane. We are, however, pleased that you enjoyed the restaurant and received a warm welcome from our staff.

We do hope you may stay with us again in the future.

Regards,

Hannah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 3, 2016 via mobile

All staff at the grand hotel were very helpful and very polite. They went out of their way to help us, which was much appreciated by us all. The ballroom was absolutely lovely and made the scene we were filming really stand out.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Jodie-Leigh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2016

Dear Jodie-Leigh G,

Thank you very much for your comments, We are pleased we could assist you with your filming and are sure the finished product will be great!

Regards,

Hannah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 3, 2016

The Grand is one of those old Grand Hotels that were once the life and soul of seaside towns. It retains a lot of its grandeur and the staff adhere to high standards of service. The rooms are comfortable and clean and the hotel is well situated for the harbour and attractions. We stay here every time we come to the North East on business and it does a fine job.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2016

Dear James M,

We are so pleased you enjoy staying with us here at the Best Western Grand Hotel and look forward to providing you with the high level of service you have become accustomed to receiving here next time you stay.

Regards,

Hannah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews