We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three night stay in a single room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Hartlepool
Reviewed 15 November 2017

Attending the Remembrance Day Parade on 12th November and then staying on to see friends and relatives, I know that Best Western hotels have a good standard and so I booked here for my 3 night stay. It's central to most things, a few minutes drive or a 10 minute walk to the Marina, a large shopping centre opposite and, if you don't fancy driving or walking, there are bus stops right outside.
Being on my own, I was concerned about booking a single room as they are usually no more than closets, right next to the lift shaft or overlooking the dustbins which are emptied at silly o'clock, but I needn't have worried. Perhaps it's because the hotel is a Victorian building rather than a modern box, while obviously a single room, it was large enough for me, in the centre of a row and far enough away from the lift that it didn't bother me. The room had all that I needed - a very comfortable bed, an easy chair, rather than a dining chair which a lot of rooms have, and an en-suite with a shower cubicle for a normal sized person rather than a stick insect! Toiletries, coffee, tea and biscuits replenished daily, as were the towels. There was a dressing/writing table and a proper wardrobe rather than a covered rail. The breakfast was what was expoected of a Best Western, with cereal, porridge, fresh (as opposed to tinned) fruit,, croissants and pastries, cold meats and a cooked breakfast if you wanted one. The staff were friendly, knowledgeable about the town and it's history and, if the manager of the hotel is reading this, then Karen, who served me breakfast every day deserves more pay than she is getting. Her cheery smile and very pleasant disposition made even the coldest blustery day, and there were a few of them, seem brighter. I couldn't afford to stay here when I lived in the town but would definitely stay here again when I come back.

Room Tip: Had a single room on the 3rd floor. Very quiet, apart from the 5 o'clock seagulls!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penseivat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2017 via mobile

Couldn’t ask for much more,

I use the best western every time I travel to the north,

There are plenty of hotels closer to where I have to work but I choose to travel to the best western,

Perfect customer service
Nice size rooms (very clean ) thanks to Dianne,Jenny,edwina,Tracey

Comfortable beds
Great bar
Great range of facilities
Perfect breakfast thanks again Kellie and cesie

I want to say a massive thanks to

Hannah , Donna and sam at reception for catering any requests I had and thanks to Tilly ,glen and billy for a relaxing night in the bar

Also thanks to maintenance for providing me with a screw driver for my phone ( sean and tony )

All staff are so helpful and friendly highly recommend this hotel

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank grantLDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed for two nights last weekend. Had read reviews and was a tad nervous about the noise and the lift and things other reviewers had stated. Anyway was on the 2nd floor facing the cenotaph. Some noise from revellers but not too much. Earplugs sorted that out. As for the lift it doesn't make a sound when you are in it so ignore that. Staff were fabulous really friendly and helpful. There is a pub downstairs which got very busy. We went to the Indian in the basement and that was good. The surrounding area is run down which is a shame. Breakfast was lovely and freshly cooked. Rooms were very spacious and clean. It was worth the money we paid.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank KilaHaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

Stayed Fri and Sat night recently for a friends wedding overall cannot fault the facilities, rooms, food, prices but most of all the staff. they are dedicated hard working and very very pleasant. A special mention must go to 2 people the wedding planner who had everything sorted and under control she had a lovely smile for everyone, nothing was too much trouble for her, also the lady who was in charge of the wedding food, who I believe stepped up as the head chef was not available, the food was all first class, hot, tasty and plentiful. We had a great weekend a big part played by the Grand Hotel Thank You...

Room Tip: If possible go for the executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tigertiger2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

Good: location is quite central in Hartlepool, room biscuits were nice, and room and bed were quite big, check in was good/nice staff.

Bad: Shower went cold halfway through shower, TV in room small with really poor sound quality, dodgy electrical socket next to bed (moves in and out of wall), had to put standalone air conditioning unit on as room was too warm (noisy).

Overall, for the price, it did the job and if breakfast had been included it probably would have got 4 stars from me but you do get what you pay for.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

Staying in a single room at the back of the hotel I didn’t have high expectations but I was very pleased to be able to say that this was no broom cupboard bedroom... it was lovely, spacious enough for 1 (ibis budget doubles are smaller than this) at a decent and fair price.

It’s close to amenities and my rear position meant no noise interference as another group member complained about from a nearby different hotel

Staff were good and brekkie lovely at £8

Warm, clean, quiet and clean

Thanks Grand Hotel

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank ikelly46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

An overnight stay at this hotel was very pleasant. Check in was smooth and it’s good to see the parking ticket malarkey has been resolved with an electronic system, which avoids having to dash over the road to put a paper ticket on the dash!
The room was well appointed, warm and spacious. The bath was brilliant and the hot water was plentiful. The shower was not powerful but did the job. The bed was very comfortable.
Breakfast was served in a beautiful room, and despite us being close to the end of service was excellent. The staff were polite and efficient, nothing was too much trouble. Full English was hot and plentiful!
The only downside of this hotel is the sports bar, which can be noisy and not in keeping with the ‘Grand’ nature of the rest of the hotel. But I guess it’s what keeps the income up.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartlepool
0.9 km away
Premier Inn Hartlepool Marina Hotel
0.5 km away
Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel
8.7 km away
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
#3 of 9 in Hartlepool
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 9 in Hartlepool
146 reviews
0.4 km away
Hillcarter Hotel
Hillcarter Hotel
#7 of 9 in Hartlepool
139 reviews
21.1 km away
Hallgarth Manor House
Hallgarth Manor House
#12 of 18 in Durham
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Grand Hotel

Address: Swainson Street, Hartlepool TS24 8AA, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Hartlepool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Hartlepool
Price Range: $69 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Grand Hotel Hartlepool, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing