We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pasta perfection?? ”
Review of Matteo's

Matteo's
Ranked #9 of 241 Restaurants in Hartlepool
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$24
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Little gem hidden in the heart of Seaton Carew if your looking for good value and Authentic Italian meals look no further our staff are always happy to help
Reviewed October 8, 2018 via mobile

I would so love to give this little restaraunt a five star review exept for the front off house flunky.
Yes ,we didn't think we would have to book on a cold October evening at seven o'clock,still the fact the place was wall to wall gave testamony to the standard of food on offer.
Firstly he must have wasted ten minutes deliberating wether to seat our party of four at the only available table for four there was..so by the time we were seated and the drinks order was taken 25mins had elapsed..when mine host informed us there was "just a possibility"he would need the table for 8pm !??.
The mains were ordered and to be fair once they arrived were excellent but whilst I enjoyed my dish it would have benefited from a bit of garlic bread for the amount of sauce on the portion....Then.! 7.45 arrived "possible" the 8 o'clock booking...i honestly didn't know who was more put out !.
They left making it audibly clear "we'll be back in ten mins".. Then our esteemed host spent the next ten to fifteen minutes giving us the bums rush to clear the table..
Not even the offer off desert. !
The moral of the story is simple..expect a beautiful meal in a small but clean Italian restaurant...and if you don't want a rushed meal with accompanying smart quips from the matrie dee..then book in advance.. simply because the meals are worth it...

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank gerard_hly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amr G, Manager at Matteo's, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2018

Hi there Thank you for your feedback. We apologise that you were rushed and not offered desserts we try and accommodate walk-ins however most night we are quite full around that time of the evening. However this is no excuse we do advise booking in advance and we would love that you would come again if you enjoyed your meal We apologise again and hope it didn't spoil your evening

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 284 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2018 via mobile

Nice location on the seafront of Seaton Carew, nice atmosphere and music, staff welcoming and very friendly. Food is interesting mixture between Italian and local North-East Uk cousine...couldn't resist to try italianised parmo: impossible to finish but very nice and not too heavy like some you can get in Hartlepool

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Thefollowingtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amr G, Manager at Matteo's, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2018

Thank you for your feedback and will see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2018 via mobile

Visited with family for 2 course happy hour. Very impressed with the quality and service. Will definitely return.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank jmh0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amr G, Manager at Matteo's, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2018

Thank you very much for your feedback we see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2018

decided to try Matteo,s Italian restaurant on a groupon 2 courses for 2 people £12.90 deal. the food was fantastic and the room very relaxing and Italian. drinks were reasonable, so well worth the money and we are going back next week.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank mickDrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amr G, Manager at Matteo's, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2018

Thank you very much for your feedback we see you soon x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2018

Myself and the wife visited this restaurant for the first time
last weekend and and we were both impressed with the Friendliness of the staff and the Quality of the food.
We both took advantage of the 5-7 Happy hour period in which you can have three courses for £10.95 which we chose,or you can have two courses for £8.95.
Oh and the cheescakes are huge,and i got wrong for not finishing it off lol,give it a try you won't be disappointed.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank RobbieC78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amr G, Manager at Matteo's, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2018

Thank you very much for your feedback we see you soon x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Matteo's also viewed

Hartlepool, Durham
Hartlepool, Durham
 
Hartlepool, Durham
Hartlepool, Durham
 

Been to Matteo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing