We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$63
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-05-13
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$57
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-05-14
Agoda.com
US$63
US$52
View deal
SAVE US$11
Free cancellation until 21-05-13
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveller rating
63
49
38
47
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
63
49
38
47
69
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 266 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2020

I stayed here for one night for a golf tournament. I had booked a twin room with a friend. On arrival we were shown to a double room. When I pointed out the error, it appeared to have been an unclear request via a third agent, but they immediately gave us keys for a second double room, overlooking the sea, and let us have a room each at no extra cost. So in all I was extremely impressed by their customer service. The hotel is a stunning building going under extensive renovation by a new owner. There is a lot of work to be done but our rooms were huge,well appointed, Fantastic views and very comfy. Would definitely return. Exceptional value for money. Also it was so nice to have such friendly staff and great service.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank C2920MPjackies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2020

The pictures show a sorry state and Not what was advertised by trip advisor or booking.com.major rip extremely disappointing no breakfast either. Lumpy pillows no mattress protect. Sheets not pressed. Soap for hand washing was tesco own brand not even dressed up.
I was so tired I slept.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank 284siobhang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2020

Up to the NE for a family visit and needed a comfortable hotel for the night... the Staincliffe was very good. We had a very large double room, front facing over the brooding North Sea, and it was clean, comfortable and absolutely fine.
There are CV-19 measures in place, although face-coverings don't seem to be required for staff.
Yes, there are on-going external refurbishments taking place and yes, it needs a little bit of decoration inside, but for £40, it was ok and we will come again.

Room tip: The Silk room was very good.
Date of stay: August 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank petesag356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2020 via mobile

There seem to be very mixed reviews on here, but having just spent a single night here in Aug 2020 we were very pleased. The hotel was booked through Booking.com and there were no issues with the reservation. We were given a large comfortable room with a sea view. Dog friendly. The refurbishment was taking longer than expected so the restaurant was closed so I can’t comment on food or the pub. We thought it was very good value!

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank D1615XFnicolat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2020

We stayed at the staincliffe in august for one night we had a lovely room faceing the sea the staff were very friendly.we took our pet labrador as the hotel is pet friendly .the room was very clean also the bar area.staying there we felt very safe while the covid19 was on .

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turnbullp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews