We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner”
Review of Penhelig Arms

Penhelig Arms
Ranked #6 of 18 Restaurants in Aberdovey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed May 18, 2018 via mobile

Pleasant meal and very friendly staff. Doors right on edge of the road and outdoor area is across the road

Thank robynbaker555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penhelig, General Manager at Penhelig Arms, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2018

Hello,

Thank you for your lovely review, we hope we can welcome you back to the Pen' soon!

Many Thanks
Nicola & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 494 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2018

Booked in advance stating it was a birthday celebration.
Table for 4, was situated near door to hall/reception area. Recommended a window table if you can request one.
Decoration good
Food Good, Saturday does not offer Menu Deal for Lunch. Specials offered.
Service rather slow, as staff serving the many visitors that were sitting outside as the weather was glorious.
On paying one had to queue with the clients wanting drinks from the bar, not convenient, as again many due to hot weather, and mainly men, It would be better to have set staff looking after the restaurant as we had a train to catch and were worried about the timing.
Previously we have stayed here, and thoroughly enjoyed the personal attention. This time it was more disorganised, partly due to the glorious weather , and staff having different priorities.
The food was good in presentation and choice. Excellent fish and chips.

Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penhelig, General Manager at Penhelig Arms, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2018

Hello Heather K,

Thank you for your lovely review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Penhelig, on what was a glorious Saturday lunch time. We hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Many Thanks
Nicola & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 7, 2018

Gammon (my son) and burger (me) with chips. Food quality was very good - as I'd expect from a Brains pub. Not sure why we get our fries in a tumbler with a paper wrapper in the bottom - just put them on the plate, for goodness sake!

Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penhelig, General Manager at Penhelig Arms, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2018

Hi PratJeffley,

Thank you for your review, it's great to hear you enjoyed your visit with us. We hope we can welcome you back soon!

Many Thanks
Nicola & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 2, 2018

Interesting layout. Good choice on menu with food well presented and served. Enjoyable evening. Intend trying to stay over next time in Aberdyfi.

Thank Brianinsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penhelig, General Manager at Penhelig Arms, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2018

Hello,

Thank you for your great review, its lovely to hear you enjoyed your visit, We hope to welcome you back soon!

Many Thanks
Nicola & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 16, 2018 via mobile

After reading the menu online it looked like a good place to eat. The menu is varied, reasonably priced and the service was attentive. As a coeliac there was plenty of choice. I’d really recommend the spinach, red pepper and chick pea pie. Delicious pastry, a treat indeed. The location of the pub is lovely, too with good views of the Dovey.

Thank kathympalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penhelig, General Manager at Penhelig Arms, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

Hello,

Thank you for your lovely review. It's great to hear you enjoyed your visit to us. We hope we can welcome you back soon!

Many Thanks
Nicola & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Penhelig Arms also viewed

Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park
Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park
 
Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park
Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park
 
Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Penhelig Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing