We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Fox,s Lair

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Olivia L
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing! ”
Reviewed September 8, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just come back from a 2 night stay and the chalet was beautiful! It was so modern and had everything that we needed, including an iron
It stood out from the other chalets and you can tell that a lot of work has gone into it. The neighbours were friendly and we had a chat on the private patio with gorgeous views.
At night I have never seen so many stars it was absolutely stunning!
The fire place really made it for us, it was so snug to put it on and chill out with the TV on like a home away from home.
Already recommended to all our family and friends and would love to come back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ToniB50
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What a litle gem!”
Reviewed September 6, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Just returned from a 3 night stay at Fox's Lair for my partners birthday. What a beautiful find. The chalet was immaculate, cozy and comfortable, A "home from home" and literally 10 minutes from Aberdovey. The steep climb is well worth it. Even though we took basic provisions there were already tea, coffee, salt and pepper and washing up and cleaning products there. The kitchen had everything that you could need. The electricity is provided by a £1 coin meter and even after cooking 2 full meals and breakfast, hot showers and using the fire briefly one night we only used £3. I can't recommend this place highly enough. Gary the owner responded to our booking request immediately and as he lives nearby I felt the need to go and thank him personally for providing such a wonderful place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and superb accommodation
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ian S
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful holiday lodge”
Reviewed August 15, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Recently returned from a very nice 3 day break staying at 'The Fox's Lair'

The chalet was very clean throughout and had all the amenities we needed. The chalet has recently been renovated to a high standard with a modern bathroom and kitchen.

The view to the estuary is limited, however the private garden area is nice and offers sun during the day and a great area for a BBQ.

Overall highly reccomended - we have stayed in a few other lodges at the same location and this was by far the nicest.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
fryingpan...
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely chalet - done out to very high standard”
Reviewed June 18, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Although it took us a little while to find the park (sat nav is not quite specific enough!), the chalet itself is beautiful. The park it is on leaves a lot to be desired, but if, like us, you are either in the chalet or out and about in the car, it is perfect. I was expecting more basic, 'caravan' type facilities, but Fox's Lair was like a mini house, done out to an extremely high standard - great for relaxing and stretching out after a day's walking!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The facilities in the chalet
Liked least: Rest of the park - Fox's Lair is by far the nicest chalet on it!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“High standard chalet in beautiful location”
Reviewed June 16, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Well equipped property in a peaceful location with stunning views over the estuary. A 5 minute drive from Aberdovey which we had not visited before, but which turned out to be lovely with superb beaches and some great restaurants. it's a very steep drive up to the chalet though, so possibly not for the nervous driver.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing