We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eating Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of New Inn Hotel

New Inn Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
New Inn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Ellon B&B and Inns
Ellon
Level Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Eating Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

The New Inn is first rate for a local change of scene from domestic fare. Eating out at short notice is no problem. Consuming my favourite starter of battered mushrooms and main meal of Steak Pie is always a pleasure. I am a self-styled connoisseur of Ale and Steak Pie wherever I go and I have still to find a place that does it better than The New Inn. It is scrumptious!!! The meat melts in your mouth and the pastry is easy to manage and very tasty. Staff are always friendly and welcoming. A homely, warm atmoshpere. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donhawthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    57
    24
    6
    3
See reviews for
33
28
5
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Porth Newquay
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

my nephew, his wife,my husband, and myself, went for Sunday lunch at the New Inn Hotel in Ellon at the end of March,it was absolutely packed, we managed to get a table, we ordered the roast beef and all the trimmings, it was fantastic, but so much we had to ask for a "doggy bag", ( we were going to see a friend later who has four dogs ).the service was excellent,and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PorthNewquayHotpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayrshire scotland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

this is the second time i have stayed here while working but im afraid i cant remember much of my first stay.....must have been impressive.
HOWEVER, i cant say the same this time.....i was only here for one night but i really enjoyed it.
my room must have been one of the best in the hotel as there was a photo of it in reception but if they are all like this one, the new inn will be hard to beat......the room and toilet were spotless and the tv shower etc were a treat , the bed was a little on the soft side but i slept ok.
when i went down for dinner i was more than surprised to see a very busy restaraunt, usually hotel dining areas are fairly quiet just after six ( my opinion, i have seen a few busy ) and i thought , must be a good sign, and it was i really enjoyed my meal, and people kept coming in not bad for a tuesday evening.
as i say in my reports i was only here for one night through work so i cant comment on holiday stays but i would stay here again and i would bring my wife to visit and stay for a few days, if i get the chance.
all prices were reasonable £85 for bed and breakfast with my dinner and a pint of lager also, and breakfast was traditional full scottish, very enjoyable.

Room Tip: room 7 is a good place to start
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boaz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anerdeenshire
Level Contributor
251 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

The Corn Kist serves food all day and is the main eating area of the hotel. There is a huge selction of meals at extremely good value. Children's menu and daily specials available Portions are on the large side!
Only complaint was the poor and slow service.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dale160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

I've stayed in the hotel once and eaten in the Corkist restaurant at least half a dozen times since my last review so time for an update.

As a hotel it remains a homely family country hotel with comfortable rooms and a decent breakfast which is well cooked.

The icing on the cake for the hotel is the restaurant which I visit around once a month either just with my wife or more usually with her and her parents who live in Ellon.

For a good home cooked freshly prepared quality meal with decent (large) portions you will travel far to beat The Cornkist. The decor is olde worlde with lots of wood and old ornaments on high shelves. There are a mix of open tables and booths and an overall warm dimely lit feel.

We know most of the staff and are guaranteed a freindly welcome but then the same goes for strangers too. Some of the staff have been there for years and know the job well and sometimes you will find Christos the owner helping out as well.

Theres a nice range of starters from the "Chip Shop Delight" which is a small piece of each of four puddings white, black, red and haggis fried in crispy batter and served with a tangy sauce and salad. The Cullen Skink is still by far the best I've ever had, thick very creamy and well flavoured with smoked haddock but be warned as a starter it's quite filling. My current favourite is a variation which is smoked haddock on a cream sauce with a poched egg.

Main courses have the choice of old favourites on the menu such as Chicken Cornkist which is a large chicken breast in a mushroom sauce topped with toasted oatmeal and cheese or steak and ale pie, a rich stew of tender beef with a pastry crust.

There are always specials on offer in addition to the main menu and I recently had chicken and ribs a large burtterfy chicken breast and three huge meaty ribs cooked to perfection.

If you have a big appettite you may manage one of the desserts including the homemade cheesecake which are always excellent.

In the days when many restaurants take shortcuts and serve up bought in meals The New Inn do the majority of preparation in thier own kitchen even to the point of homemade coleslaw.

Still a treat, still highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daveydites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

My husband,daughter,son in law,grandsons aged 4 and 2 and myself enjoyed a superb meal on Saturday night.The food was excellent,portions huge and staff although extremely busy could not have been more welcoming and attentive.Highly recommended for both couples or families.Definitely going back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

The New Inn is fairly old and well established! Some redecoration is overdue but the quality of food in the popular restaurant is excellent. We enjoyed lunch in a party of six. We all had different starters and main courses and all spoke highly about the food. Service was prompt and the staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerryattrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellon
0.1 km away
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ellon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
14.5 km away
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cruden Bay (Port Erroll)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
18.0 km away
Premier Inn Aberdeen North (Bridge Of Don) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 km away
No photo provided
8.7 km away
Aikenshill House
Aikenshill House
#2 of 4 in Ellon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
12.8 km away
White Horse Inn
White Horse Inn
#2 of 2 in Balmedie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Inn Hotel

Property: New Inn Hotel
Address: Market Street, Ellon AB41 9JD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ellon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ellon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Expedia, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your New Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Ellon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing