We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St Olaf Hotel(Peterhead)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel(Cruden Bay (Port Erroll))
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Redgarth(Oldmeldrum)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
52
65
28
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
65
28
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstayed heregreat foodmain coursehuge portionsscampigood sizeporkextensive menucar park at the rearquality mealsuper mealrooms are modernthree coursesfantastic mealwell worth a visitserved quicklyboth times
Filter
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 155 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2012

my nephew, his wife,my husband, and myself, went for Sunday lunch at the New Inn Hotel in Ellon at the end of March,it was absolutely packed, we managed to get a table, we ordered the roast beef and all the trimmings, it was fantastic, but so much we had to ask for a "doggy bag", ( we were going to see a friend later who has four dogs ).the service was excellent,and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PorthNewquayHotpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 6, 2012

this is the second time i have stayed here while working but im afraid i cant remember much of my first stay.....must have been impressive.
HOWEVER, i cant say the same this time.....i was only here for one night but i really enjoyed it.
my room must have been one of the best in the hotel as there was a photo of it in reception but if they are all like this one, the new inn will be hard to beat......the room and toilet were spotless and the tv shower etc were a treat , the bed was a little on the soft side but i slept ok.
when i went down for dinner i was more than surprised to see a very busy restaraunt, usually hotel dining areas are fairly quiet just after six ( my opinion, i have seen a few busy ) and i thought , must be a good sign, and it was i really enjoyed my meal, and people kept coming in not bad for a tuesday evening.
as i say in my reports i was only here for one night through work so i cant comment on holiday stays but i would stay here again and i would bring my wife to visit and stay for a few days, if i get the chance.
all prices were reasonable £85 for bed and breakfast with my dinner and a pint of lager also, and breakfast was traditional full scottish, very enjoyable.

Room Tip: room 7 is a good place to start
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boaz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The Corn Kist serves food all day and is the main eating area of the hotel. There is a huge selction of meals at extremely good value. Children's menu and daily specials available Portions are on the large side!
Only complaint was the poor and slow service.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dale160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 23, 2012

I've stayed in the hotel once and eaten in the Corkist restaurant at least half a dozen times since my last review so time for an update.

As a hotel it remains a homely family country hotel with comfortable rooms and a decent breakfast which is well cooked.

The icing on the cake for the hotel is the restaurant which I visit around once a month either just with my wife or more usually with her and her parents who live in Ellon.

For a good home cooked freshly prepared quality meal with decent (large) portions you will travel far to beat The Cornkist. The decor is olde worlde with lots of wood and old ornaments on high shelves. There are a mix of open tables and booths and an overall warm dimely lit feel.

We know most of the staff and are guaranteed a freindly welcome but then the same goes for strangers too. Some of the staff have been there for years and know the job well and sometimes you will find Christos the owner helping out as well.

Theres a nice range of starters from the "Chip Shop Delight" which is a small piece of each of four puddings white, black, red and haggis fried in crispy batter and served with a tangy sauce and salad. The Cullen Skink is still by far the best I've ever had, thick very creamy and well flavoured with smoked haddock but be warned as a starter it's quite filling. My current favourite is a variation which is smoked haddock on a cream sauce with a poched egg.

Main courses have the choice of old favourites on the menu such as Chicken Cornkist which is a large chicken breast in a mushroom sauce topped with toasted oatmeal and cheese or steak and ale pie, a rich stew of tender beef with a pastry crust.

There are always specials on offer in addition to the main menu and I recently had chicken and ribs a large burtterfy chicken breast and three huge meaty ribs cooked to perfection.

If you have a big appettite you may manage one of the desserts including the homemade cheesecake which are always excellent.

In the days when many restaurants take shortcuts and serve up bought in meals The New Inn do the majority of preparation in thier own kitchen even to the point of homemade coleslaw.

Still a treat, still highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daveydites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 20, 2012

My husband,daughter,son in law,grandsons aged 4 and 2 and myself enjoyed a superb meal on Saturday night.The food was excellent,portions huge and staff although extremely busy could not have been more welcoming and attentive.Highly recommended for both couples or families.Definitely going back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews