We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (290)
Filter reviews
290 results
Traveller rating
237
33
9
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
237
33
9
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews starfish cafe potato cakes plum chutney friendly hosts view of the bay crab jamaica inn fresh milk visiting bangor eggs benedict northern ireland filter coffee highly recommend a stay home made breakfast room breakfast was amazing home from home
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 290 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2018 via mobile

We arrived on a beautiful bright morning for coffee and scones. The house is very interesting...built in 1914 in the Arts and Crafts style. It’s all quite quirky! There is a choice of rooms to sit to have coffee, breakfast and lunch. We were warmly greeted and asked to choose a table. We ordered two Americano coffees, a cherry scone and a pear and almond scone! The coffee was very SMALL! The pear scone had no taste of pear at all though as a ‘plain’ scone it was very good. We needed a ‘top up’ of coffee so we were invited to purchase a pot of filter coffee which we did. The bill was £13.68 which was far too expensive. I appreciated the surroundings and the ambience but NOT THE COST!!
Having travelled from Belfast, it’s quite unlikely we’ll return!!

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 7, 2018 via mobile

Great service and great food. Friendly and helpful staff - sit and enough a coffee over a book - can get busy but well worth a visit. Reasonably priced - plenty of parking nearby and after some food a nice walk along the beach -

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank belfast-jj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 21, 2018

Cairn Bay has it all! Cozy but with character! The variety of breakfasts were excellent. But what makes the Cairn Bay Lodge stand out is the staff. They are very friendly, most accommodating and certainly go out of their way to make you feel welcome. I stayed there for 4 nights while attending my son's wedding earlier this month. If I return to the Belfast area, I would definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OnAir363804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 30, 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights whilst on business. Much more enjoyable than the usual chain of hotels that I have used and I will definitely be back. Great breakfast and rooms comfortable. Good local restaurants for evening meal.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank FellowTraveler383025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 29, 2017 via mobile

We didn’t stay at the lodge, but ate at the cafe. The house itself is gorgeous, old and very cozy.
The food is amazing...the brunch salad was delicious as well as the BLT. The view is lovely as well. Good place for friends for food anytime of day. Would have loved to have gone back while visiting.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank twoknowtheway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews