We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Orchard cottage

View from the orchard showing the large balcony from the lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the orchard showing the large balcony from the lounge
Orchard Cottage entrance by lower floor Picture showing how the other cottage adjoins. Orchard cottage has a private balcony and privacy
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
View from the orchard showing the large balcony from the lounge
Orchard Cottage entrance by lower floor
Picture showing how the other cottage adjoins. Orchard cottage has a private balcony and privacy
View from the balcony
One side with gravel inclining path onto the balcony
A stone with the other cottages painted on it.
Stone at the entrance to the wee clachan
Bathroom
Electric shower
view to orchard.garage beside
View from balcony
NEW. This amazing pool is within walking distance from Orchard Cottage. Exercise in any weather.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Bangor, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Vi010116
Saintfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Wonderful cottage”
Reviewed October 19, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I rented this cottage as a hideaway for my newly-wed son and daughter-in-law to stay in before flying off on their honeymoon. It was perfect for that purpose.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic unique peaceful cottage”
Reviewed October 5, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Once found you won't want to leave. We spent 3 wonderful weeks staying in Orchard Cottage and enjoyed every minute, so peaceful and so quiet. Karon and Malcolm were just terrific helping us any way they could as our trip was a very sad time coming back to be with a very sick friend. Orchard Cottage is a fantastic unique place to stay and we would highly recommend it to anyone, we will certainly be back.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2015
Hi David
Thank you so much. You were perfect house guests and we were sad to see you leave. Would love to see you back and I hope the rest of your trip went smoothly at such a sad time for you.
Hope your back has improved

Kind regards
Karon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin M
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very relaxing”
Reviewed August 9, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We needed accommodation that permitted dogs and were delighted when we found this location. Karen & Malcolm were very relaxed & happy to let our dogs stay with us. The cottage was very clean & had everything that we needed. The dogs loved lying out on the deck area. Looking forward to another visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We were able to bring our dogs without any restrictions being placed on them.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lianne F
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect hideaway”
Reviewed June 24, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My parents and I really loved this place and looked forward to getting back to it at the end of every day. You really feel like you're away from it all being surrounded by fields. The pictures are very accurate and the private outside seating area was such a great place to sit in the sun. The cottage had everything you could need and the owners were so helpful and friendly. We would definitely recommend this to anyone.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claretmoo...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little gem of a place..”
Reviewed June 8, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Quirky, cute, cosy cottage tucked away in the most beautiful countryside.
Hosts Karon & Malcolm were just lovely and made us feel really welcome.
The views from the balcony are gorgeous & it is the perfect little place to escape to.
Near Bangor & also a great base for exploring the Ards peninsula & beyond.
Highly recommend!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cami R
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT!!!”
Reviewed May 30, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Orchard Cottage in May 2015. We found it exactly as advertised. Quiet and cozy. Malcolm and Karon were great hosts. We stayed 5 days and wished it was longer! If ever we are back in the area, we would definitely stay here again! You can't go wrong staying here as it is in the country, but just minutes from Belfast and all the city life you could want!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The serene country side
Liked least: Nothing...everything was great!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avi-trave...
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A real pleasure”
Reviewed April 26, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

From the start Karon & Macolm made me feel really welcome.

The accommodation was really wonderful. Extremely comfortable, clean and the surroundings were beautiful.

The cottage had everything you could wish for, all the appliances & utensils required to make it a home from home stay.

I booked as I was waiting for my own house to complete and wanted somewhere to stay during this time. I'd certainly stay again and recommend Orchard Cottage to anyone wanting a peaceful break.

On arrival there was milk, bread and essentials waiting which was a lovely touch and very welcomed.

Thanks Karon and Malcolm for making my stay so relaxing and I hope to see you soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing