We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art and Great Beer”
Review of The Treacle Tap

The Treacle Tap
Ranked #38 of 220 Restaurants in Macclesfield
Price range: US$5 - US$14
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Small cosy European-style bar a stones throw from Macclesfield railway station, serving coffee, teas, fine wine, world beers but main specialities are local real ale and fabulous pies!
Reviewed October 20, 2016

Who would think you'd get not only great service, friendly banter, and superb beer in such a small pub. You also get great art done every week. What other pub allows local artists to paint temporary murals on the walls.

It sums the place up. Vibrant, left field, and just totally wonderful!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BNJR, Owner at The Treacle Tap, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2016

Thank you so much for the lovely review, and for appreciating the quirks! We don't manage to get the art wall repainted every week - and we love some of the paintings too much to paint over them that quickly - but yes we love having local people (and our staff) contribute to our ambience. Enjoy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 123 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2016

We drink in here regularly, because it is just a couple of doors away from our favourite restaurant, the Maliwan.
The beer is always excellent, and there is always a choice of three real ales. It is also good for cakes and coffee, which are a welcome pudding after a meal at the Maliwan.

Thank MPeterson67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BNJR, Owner at The Treacle Tap, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2016

Thanks very much for the 5 star review, it is much appreciated... we love Maliwan too by the way!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2016

Macclesfield is great for pie lovers and this eaterie specialises in pie and mash using local pies with mash, gravy and minted mushy peas. Good choice of vegetarian and meat pies.

Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BNJR, Owner at The Treacle Tap, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2016

Thanks very much for the review! Have you checked out our new season's menu yet?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 7, 2016

Great food (we had excellent pie and mushy peas), great local beer, really welcoming staff and atmosphere. We had never been to Macclesfield. This was a gem of a find!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alan69Cathy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BNJR, Owner at The Treacle Tap, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2016

What a lovely review - thank you so much for giving us 5 stars. Do come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 7, 2016

me and my dad popped in here for a quick cool off as the weather when we visited was glorious. We just got some drinks. The service was really impeccable and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The place has a very unique atmosphere and is very small, but this adds to the charming and comfort of the restaurant. We hadn't tried any food so i could not speak on behalf of that, but the vegetarian options sounded very very nice and were not just simple usual options like lasagne which was refreshing. the restaurant also has a painting on the wall that is repainted every so often by different local artists which i thought was very innovative. It is also nearby local shops and other amenities so is easy to access. If i return to macclesfield, i will very much want to try a meal here.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Meganell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BNJR, Owner at The Treacle Tap, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2016

Thank you very much for leaving a full review! Really glad you like the place, and that you received impeccable service. We look forward to welcoming you back for some food next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Treacle Tap also viewed

Macclesfield, Cheshire
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 

Been to The Treacle Tap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing