We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Ale and good pub grub”
Review of The Treacle Tap

The Treacle Tap
Ranked #38 of 222 Restaurants in Macclesfield
Price range: US$5 - US$14
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Small cosy European-style bar a stones throw from Macclesfield railway station, serving coffee, teas, fine wine, world beers but main speciality is local real ale!
Reviewed December 23, 2016

This is a real ale gem near to the railway station. Its always got a good selection of hand pulled beers as well as some beers on keg. They also do some food platters that are good value for money and very tasty. Its a little small inside but this just adds to the cosy feel of the place. Note: It opens from 4pm in the mid-week.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mr_Spock56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 127 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2016 via mobile

After an evening of teaching or brains at Escape Quest we headed into Macclesfield's entertainment quarter. It was pie and mash all round with some exciting beers to wash it down. The staff were friendly and helpful. Though the soggy clientele were not particularly fragrant.
Beers drunk: Fruitesse, snazzy beer, dag and done, night train. :-)

Thank fellamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BNJR, Owner at The Treacle Tap, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2016

Thank you very much for the 5 star review, and for the great feedback on the staff, we are proud of them (and the exciting beers!).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2016

Who would think you'd get not only great service, friendly banter, and superb beer in such a small pub. You also get great art done every week. What other pub allows local artists to paint temporary murals on the walls.

It sums the place up. Vibrant, left field, and just totally wonderful!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BNJR, Owner at The Treacle Tap, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2016

Thank you so much for the lovely review, and for appreciating the quirks! We don't manage to get the art wall repainted every week - and we love some of the paintings too much to paint over them that quickly - but yes we love having local people (and our staff) contribute to our ambience. Enjoy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2016

We drink in here regularly, because it is just a couple of doors away from our favourite restaurant, the Maliwan.
The beer is always excellent, and there is always a choice of three real ales. It is also good for cakes and coffee, which are a welcome pudding after a meal at the Maliwan.

Thank MPeterson67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BNJR, Owner at The Treacle Tap, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2016

Thanks very much for the 5 star review, it is much appreciated... we love Maliwan too by the way!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2016

Macclesfield is great for pie lovers and this eaterie specialises in pie and mash using local pies with mash, gravy and minted mushy peas. Good choice of vegetarian and meat pies.

Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BNJR, Owner at The Treacle Tap, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2016

Thanks very much for the review! Have you checked out our new season's menu yet?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Treacle Tap also viewed

Macclesfield, Cheshire
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 

Been to The Treacle Tap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing