We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (903)
Filter reviews
903 results
Traveller rating
236
298
179
98
92
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
236
298
179
98
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviews waterside cabin hot tub swimming pool on site evening entertainment park villa cherry villa pitch and putt duck pond adventure playground tavern bar out of season entertainment team fishing lake lodge number great holiday bit dated
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 903 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2018

don't worry about the negative reviews... we had an amazing time. the check-in was so quick and painless, the staff are all very friendly and welcoming. after being very well informed and given all the information leaflets we could need we were handed the keys and left to our own devices :)

we booked a bungalow and were kindly upgraded to a holiday villa (125) which was fantastic. it was just me, my partner and 4 year old but could have easily slept 6 or 7 comfortably...there was a double room and 2 twin rooms. main bathroom upstairs and toilet/shower room downstairs. everything we needed was provided, only having to supply the washing up liquid etc. outside there was a table and chairs to sit and chill in the sun with grass out the front for the kids to play. PERFECT whether you're going with family or even on a fun friends holiday.

there's a little pond round the corner where the ducks live... they dander round outside the villas, the mother will stand back and let the wee ducklings come quacking round. its very cute!

only criticism which is insignificant is the kids park...it's more for older kids and needs revamped.

all in all we had a fantastic, very relaxing vacation and I look forward to returning again soon. :) x

Room Tip: holiday villa - number 125
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guestservices169, Guest Relations Manager at Hengar Manor Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2018

Dear Emma,

Thank you for taking the time to review our park. We're pleased to hear that you had an amazing time and enjoyed your holiday villa.
Thank you for passing on your comments about the kids park, the park is under new ownership and we are working hard to improve and lift the standards of the park. Plans we wish to implement can't happen overnight, but the current investment on the park is a positive move in taking the park forward, to create wonderful family memories.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
The Hengar Manor team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2018

Stayed at Hengar in an 'owner' owned lodge so can't comment on the accommodation provided by the Park.

We found Hengar to be really well situated for exploring Cornwall. The park itself was really nice, lodge was situated well near a nice duck pond and the surrounding area of the park was really nice. Facilities were ok - very good swimming pool, great for the kids. Bar was adequate, drinks good but food was pretty poor.

Note - the free Wifi in the complex is crap, wasn't willing to pay for the on site Wifi elsewhere due to this.

Would visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank doods1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guestservices169, Guest Relations Manager at Hengar Manor Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2018

Dear Doods1875,

Thank you for taking the time to review our park. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and the facilities. Thank you for passing on your comments regarding the food.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
The Hengar Manor team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2018 via mobile

Before visiting we looked at reviews and all were mixed so we weren’t really sure what to expect. After visiting I can say if I could rate this place 0* then I would. On arrival we were early so took the pleasure of walking around the grounds which are lovely, the beautiful fishing lakes and the acres of greenery are stunning. However once in the cabin it just went downhill. We booked a pet friendly cabin for 6 adults and 1 pet. As soon as we were told which cabin was ours it was a shambles. The pet friendly gate had been made out of a fence panel and a bracket and was less than 2 foot wide. There was a tiny plastic table with 4 chairs to match and an odd chair to go with it. Some of the decking was unsafe and broken. Once in the cabin it wasn’t much better. A small round table with only 5 chairs along with only 5 sets of cutlery. Sofas looked like one would seat 3 and one would seat 2 so again only seating for 5. Both bathrooms (the ensuite and family bathroom) are both downstairs which is inconvenient when 2 bedrooms are upstairs. Kitchen isn’t suitable for 6 people, the smallest fridge with a freezer compartment and a 2 slot toaster just isn’t very good. The bedrooms are quite small and covered in cob webs so not too sure why we had to wait 2 hours for it to be cleaned. Weeks before the visit I received an email saying to check whether towels were included in our accommodation. I messaged Hengar Manor and they said they were so we only took beach towels. Once in the cabin we couldn’t find any towels so went and asked at reception to be told they weren’t included and couldn’t find any copy of the message I had sent. After arguing about it the lady on reception gave us 2 sets of towels free of charge but it was still only enough for 4 people for a week. Once back in the cabin my boyfriend messaged the same website for them to come back with again that towels were included. We only used the restaurant for the first night, it was ok but not much choice. Didn’t use any of the pool facilities and only used the pitch and putt once. I’d think twice before booking this place for a family holiday as we will never return. Such a shame as all other Hoseasons we have visited have been home from home.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank amyeacock94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guestservices169, Guest Relations Manager at Hengar Manor Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2018

Dear Amyeacock94,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We're sorry to hear that you've had a negative experience with us, we will be contacting you directly to discuss the matters you have raised.

Kind regards,
The Hengar Manor team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2018 via mobile

What can I say.... this place is in absolute shambles! We stayed in the Manor Lodge and we was getting so excited for our holiday but this place just ruined it all. The whole lodge is covered in spider webs (Everywhere!) We opened our windows during the day and the time you got to bed, we had at least 3-5 spiders in each room. All it needs it a hose down now and again. The lodge wasn’t cleaned properly, one bed wasn’t made when we arrived. Considering you can’t get into the lodge until 4pm there was hardly any cleaning done. 6 of us had booked this lodge... only 5 chairs round the dining table inside, only 2 sofas big enough for 4 people and only 4 outside chairs. Main bathroom is downstairs with double room and ensuite, then 2 SMALL upstair attic rooms. Nothing provided! Not even towels for the hot tub, we asked before we come if the lodge provided towels and they said yes, we got there and you have to pay £7 for each towel set! Only 5 knifes and 7 forks for 6 people. The grounds are lovely, brilliant for pictures, the pitch and putt is great but I believe this should be free with the lodge. Extra money! NEVER COMING BACK AGAIN!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guestservices169, Guest Relations Manager at Hengar Manor Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2018

Dear Robert J,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We're sorry to hear that you've had a negative experience with us, we will be contacting you directly to discuss the matters you have raised.

Kind regards,
The Hengar Manor team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 7, 2018 via mobile

we had a lovely stay here however the outside made it look like it was derelict bird poo all over piles of leaves left
all lodges had outside sitting area ie table and chairs not at the downstairs apartment . the noise from the upstairs apartment was terrible keeping us awake until 2.30 every night. absolutely lovely surroundings.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Tracey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guestservices169, Guest Relations Manager at Hengar Manor Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2018

Dear Tracey,

Thank you for taking the time to review our park.

We're sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with the noise from the upstairs apartment, and we hope this didn't spoil the rest of your holiday.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
The Hengar Manor team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews