We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
84
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
84
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunderfloor heatingthe cottageswelcome packlovely weekgreat cottagequiet retreatgreat location for exploringcomfortable bedshigh standardfriendly hoststhe wood burning stoveself cateringglen tanara great staypippaaccommodationmacbeth
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 88 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2016 via mobile

We are just back home after a 3 night stay in Lady Macbeth's Retreat, and are already wishing we were still there! Perfect for a family getaway and get together, the accommodation is spacious and immaculately kept, with everything you could need on hand. Pippa helpfully provided a travel cot and high chair for our baby, who loved the dogs! Thanks Pippa, and we hope to be back at some point in the future!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank rebecca_hazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pippa D, Owner at Perkhill Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2016

Wasn't the weather perfect for the wedding! It was lovely to meet you all (especially your wee boy) and I hope you can visit again soon. Best wishes Pippa x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2016

I stayed here with my kids and family and it was a perfect bolthole; set on a working farm. Pippa (owner) was a great host and her husband showed me and the kids around the farm and into the cow sheds where he told us all about the cows/bulls and introduced us to a 4day old calf which my kids loved.

We stayed in King Duncans view and it was a great size with plenty of space.

We would all happily go back and hope to do so sometime in the future.

Stayed: April 2016
Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pippa D, Owner at Perkhill Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2016

Thank you so much for your review Darren. It was great to meet you all. The calf is doing very well! Hope to see you again. Best wishes Pippa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2016

I've just read the other reviews and now stuck for what to write as they've all pinched "my" accolades. We stayed at King Duncan's retreat over the bank holiday weekend to attend the Lonach Highland Gathering. The house is traditional granite outside but modern and fully (yes, fully) equipped inside in a thoughtful and romantic manner - albeit we had 5 children! Clever touches like a welcome pack, plenty logs for the wood burner and a BBQ all provided. Bedrooms are very large and some nice outside space too. Landlady very hospitable and welcoming. It's only 15 minutes from Aboyne (local decent sized town) and perfectly situated to explore Royal Deeside.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pippa D, Owner at Perkhill Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2016

I hope you have recovered from your long day marching as a Lonarch Highlander! The Lonarch Games is a fantastic day out - especially when the sun shines! It was lovely to meet you all and hope we will see again next year. Thank you very much for the review. Pippa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2016

Stayed for a week at King Duncan's View and was really impressed with everything about the place. It is immaculately clean and the kitchen appliances work exceptionally well. The views out across forests to the mountains are amazing. The jam provided was lovely. Pippa and Alex are friendly hosts and it was nice to meet the newest member of their family (Lulu the puppy). Would certainly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Luke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pippa D, Owner at Perkhill Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2016

Thank you so much for your review. Lulu is doing very well and running us all ragged! So pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you all again. Pippa x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2016

the pictures on the website are great, but the reality is much better. We stayed in Lady Macbeth's Rest in June 2016. The cottage is very tastefully furnished and there is everything you can wish for to make your stay easy and comfortable. Pipa and Alex have thought of the smallest details to make their guests happy. We had very bad weather, but there are many things to do and to see around Lumphanan. And who cares about the weather, when you can curl up on the sofa, read a book, make a puzzle or watch a video (all in the house!!). To summon it up: WOW

Room Tip: My tip is: go there
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajroest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pippa D, Owner at Perkhill Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2016

Thank you both very much for your kind review. We enjoyed meeting you both and love having guests from abroad. I wish the weather had been better for your visit but that is something we cannot control! With very best wishes Pippa and Alex.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews