We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“King Duncan View ~ September 2016”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banchory
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Perkhill Holiday Cottages
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Just home from yet another fantastic week away. This is now our 3rd stay with Perkhill (and our second at King Duncan View), yet again it was perfect. The weather was so good to us with sun nearly every day. All the premises at Perkhill have everything you need, clean and so peaceful.
I say this on every visit, but I really didn't want to come home, and the icing on the cake for us was the late night drive up to Glenshee and photograph the Milkyway on a perfect night.
If you are looking for that perfect, relaxing holiday/break. Somewhere so you can escape the day to day life, maybe use as a base to visit a beautiful part of Scotland and know help is on hand if needed but at the same time left alone to enjoy your holiday then this is the place for you.

Thank you Pippa and Alex for opening your home for us. You know we will be back (as long as you'll have us again) Eamonn, Mandy and the dogs xx

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank eamonnodoherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

We are just back home after a 3 night stay in Lady Macbeth's Retreat, and are already wishing we were still there! Perfect for a family getaway and get together, the accommodation is spacious and immaculately kept, with everything you could need on hand. Pippa helpfully provided a travel cot and high chair for our baby, who loved the dogs! Thanks Pippa, and we hope to be back at some point in the future!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank rebecca_hazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pippa D, Owner at Perkhill Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Wasn't the weather perfect for the wedding! It was lovely to meet you all (especially your wee boy) and I hope you can visit again soon. Best wishes Pippa x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

I stayed here with my kids and family and it was a perfect bolthole; set on a working farm. Pippa (owner) was a great host and her husband showed me and the kids around the farm and into the cow sheds where he told us all about the cows/bulls and introduced us to a 4day old calf which my kids loved.

We stayed in King Duncans view and it was a great size with plenty of space.

We would all happily go back and hope to do so sometime in the future.

Stayed: April 2016
Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pippa D, Owner at Perkhill Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Thank you so much for your review Darren. It was great to meet you all. The calf is doing very well! Hope to see you again. Best wishes Pippa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016

I've just read the other reviews and now stuck for what to write as they've all pinched "my" accolades. We stayed at King Duncan's retreat over the bank holiday weekend to attend the Lonach Highland Gathering. The house is traditional granite outside but modern and fully (yes, fully) equipped inside in a thoughtful and romantic manner - albeit we had 5 children! Clever touches like a welcome pack, plenty logs for the wood burner and a BBQ all provided. Bedrooms are very large and some nice outside space too. Landlady very hospitable and welcoming. It's only 15 minutes from Aboyne (local decent sized town) and perfectly situated to explore Royal Deeside.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pippa D, Owner at Perkhill Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

I hope you have recovered from your long day marching as a Lonarch Highlander! The Lonarch Games is a fantastic day out - especially when the sun shines! It was lovely to meet you all and hope we will see again next year. Thank you very much for the review. Pippa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016

Stayed for a week at King Duncan's View and was really impressed with everything about the place. It is immaculately clean and the kitchen appliances work exceptionally well. The views out across forests to the mountains are amazing. The jam provided was lovely. Pippa and Alex are friendly hosts and it was nice to meet the newest member of their family (Lulu the puppy). Would certainly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Luke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pippa D, Owner at Perkhill Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2016

Thank you so much for your review. Lulu is doing very well and running us all ragged! So pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you all again. Pippa x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2016

the pictures on the website are great, but the reality is much better. We stayed in Lady Macbeth's Rest in June 2016. The cottage is very tastefully furnished and there is everything you can wish for to make your stay easy and comfortable. Pipa and Alex have thought of the smallest details to make their guests happy. We had very bad weather, but there are many things to do and to see around Lumphanan. And who cares about the weather, when you can curl up on the sofa, read a book, make a puzzle or watch a video (all in the house!!). To summon it up: WOW

Room Tip: My tip is: go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajroest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pippa D, Owner at Perkhill Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2016

Thank you both very much for your kind review. We enjoyed meeting you both and love having guests from abroad. I wish the weather had been better for your visit but that is something we cannot control! With very best wishes Pippa and Alex.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2016

We stayed at Macbeths Retreat in 2015 and Lady Macbeths in June 2016. Both cottages were an absolute delight to spend time in. They were warm light and beautifully appointed, even had a welcome pack of shortbread and local jam. Beautiful views, peaceful. The owners are nearby and very helpful.. Looking forward to another visit.

Room Tip: Not a hotel but a fabulous 2 bed cottage
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Francesandclive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pippa D, Owner at Perkhill Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2016

You may possibly be our furthest travelled visitors! It was lovey to see you both again and thank you for taking the time to write a review. So pleased that you enjoyed the biscuits and jam. Locally made food does taste better! Best wishes Pippa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banchory hotels
17 km away
Banchory Lodge
Banchory Lodge
#1 of 3 in Banchory
668 reviews
15.6 km away
Feughside Inn
Feughside Inn
#1 of 2 in Strachan
114 reviews
14.1 km away
Raemoir House
Raemoir House
#1 of 1 in Raemoir
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 km away
Tor-na-Coille
Tor-na-Coille
#2 of 3 in Banchory
410 reviews
16.2 km away
Burnett Arms Hotel
Burnett Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Banchory
202 reviews
14.1 km away
Inchmarlo Resort
Inchmarlo Resort
#4 of 5 in Banchory
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perkhill Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perkhill Holiday Cottages

Address: Perkhill, Lumphanan | Lumphanan, Banchory AB31 4RB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Banchory
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Banchory
Price Range: $70 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perkhill Holiday Cottages are located on a working farm 2 miles outside the historic village of Lumphanan in Royal Deeside. All 3 properties were recently renovated and furnished to a high standard (Grade 4 awarded) and have all the comforts of home.Macbeths Retreat and Lady Macbeths Rest both have 2 rooms and King Duncans View has 3 with disabled access. A perfect location to explore our beautiful countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Perkhill Holiday Cottages Banchory, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing