We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (815)
Filter reviews
815 results
Traveller rating
372
261
106
45
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
372
261
106
45
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river afternoon tea the penthouse river view room beautiful hotel small balcony richmond park fabulous views set menu scones car park service charge special occasion comfortable rooms poached eggs sunday lunch single room
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 815 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2018

We stayed here in 1987 at the beginning of our honeymoon...and have been back for lunch with relatives. The location overlooking the Thames is exceptionally beautiful and the building is in the style of London's mid 19th century "grand hotels". Good Christmas food and drink with a bizarre appearance last year of a window cleaning Santa cavorting accross the wide window panes in the dining room

Date of stay: November 2017
Thank Lawrence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

We just want to thank The Petersham Hotel for an AMAZING stay for our honeymoon.

We would particularly like to pass on our thanks to Uros, the Front Desk Manager, who made us feel special and valued from the minute we arrived to the minute we left two nights later. His customer service and friendliness is to be commended. My new wife and I have never experienced such a friendly welcome. He SETS THE STANDARD as to what hospitality is all about. From us, we extend a very big thank you.

We cannot recommend The Petersham enough. Warm, friendly, cosy with a great staff behind the scenes.

We are already planning our first wedding anniversary for a stay there and the time can't come quick enough for a return visit.

Best wishes and thanks again.

The Petersham Hotel : our home away from home.

Mr & Mrs Gard

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank indianag1438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

It was great time in this hotel . Everything was perfect , Bar restaurant room service food especially the view from terrace are beautiful . Such a lovely place we loved every moment of our stay .Thanks

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank londonaatechltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2018 via mobile

Got a lovely surprise of an upgrade and the room was spectacular. The team there are very nice and accommodating and helpful . It was a lovely treat and unexpected .
I will let the pictures tell the story of the rooms .

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank shoes1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2018

The car park was full to bursting when we arrived so I was a little worried that the hotel would be too, but it soon emptied out - must have been Sunday Lunchers! When we went to our rooms we were very pleased with the fantastic view over the meadows to the river and although the room was smaller than we like, it was well proportioned and the bed was extremely comfortable with lovely sheets - although the pillows were a bit too soft. Sadly even with the windows closed there was a fair degree of traffic noise from the busy main road, but I guess that's the price you pay for the view.
The two seats and side table made the room even tighter to walk around, especially to get to the windows and open the balcony door, but there was plenty of storage space and nice 'proper' hangers for our clothes. The robes were of a good size too and very nice as were the large towels in the bathroom.
The bathroom itself was massive, with a nice bath, with both grip rail and anti slip mat, a walk in shower - also with grip rail, a separate toilet and a double sink unit with mirror above. There was no discernible hum from a fan, but it did not steam up too much. There were tissues, cotton wool balls and buds as well as a plentiful supply of soap and toiletries. The only down side in here was the water pressure - which was not great, but manageable.
The biggest drawbacks of the whole experience were the facts that we could not get into the bar as we had not 'booked' a space! Plus some of the staff were surly, miserable and quite brusque - especially at breakfast and the pricing structure for the rooms is very confusing and inconsistent.
The breakfast food was quite good, although the presentation was lacking - a sprig of watercress or pea shoots would have livened up the boring looking plates where two poached eggs balanced precariously on one slice of sourdough bread - why not two slices and a half tomato slid across the plate threatening to fall off! The poached haddock looked quite plain and insipid, but it was tasty and nice not to be bright yellow. The poached eggs were themselves poached to perfection and the large field mushrooms and hash browns were delicious. I cannot comment on the full english as although one of my companions said it was lovely, I will not eat pork or bacon. The proportions of the full english were generous and the basket of mixed toast and pastries was very nice. The coffee was strong and a second pot drunken quickly between us.
For a high class hotel it was very very good in many aspects, but if I am prepared to pay for such quality I do not expect to have to 'book' to go in the bar, be accosted by drunken ladies (who were not guests) in the lounge, or to be charged extra for my breakfast.
The building, rooms, decor and surroundings are quintessentially english and lovely - maybe the staff could have some more customer service training or at least smile a bit more and not look down their noses quite so severely at their guests?

Room tip: The rooms overlooking the meadows do have a lovely outlook, but there is traffic noise
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GerbilQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews