We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, decent basic place for Richmond” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dukes Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dukes Head Inn
Ranked #2 of 12 Richmond B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good value, decent basic place for Richmond”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

I got a decent value deal on this place, and stayed for 4 nights this week. The room was large, decently furnished and good sized bathroom. Both bedroom and bathroom were clean and well tidied up each day when I returned. Little niggles, like a minor hum from a compressor in the attic (I've got good hearing!) but didn't stop me sleeping. Deal included breakfast, which was decent in both selection and quality. The pub/B&B is set in a nice area on Richmond Hill, and it's quiet and a short walk to various spots in Richmond, or the station (12 mins away). Overall, it scores 4 stars instead of 3.5 because of the relatively good value for expensive Richmond. You're saving £50 or so per night versus the reputable area hotels.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jameswinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    36
    13
    9
    7
See reviews for
16
22
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

The pub and the hospitality is great Monday to Thursday, but on the Friday you have a bunch of silly little individuals who have some form of sing of and make the hole experience for others unbearable. This is ran buy some form of organiser. The singing is not great but unbearable. So stay well clear on Friday nights.

Room Tip: Stay clear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zacoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Richmond hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Auckland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights with a female friend as it was close to a friend's house in Richmond. The hosts were very nice, friendly and helpful. The pub is in a suburban street, we got a cab for about 5 pounds the first time from Richmond Station and once we found out just where it was we were able to walk there from the station .The inside of the pub is typical, quite small, but welcoming, and the locals were chatty; that was nice for two people far from home.
Our room was charming, full of furniture, nice clean sheets. We had asked for twin beds, and there were two, but pushed together and made up with kingsize sheets. Never mind, I am sure our hosts would have changed it if we had asked. It was nice and quiet by 11 pm and we had great sleeps. The shower was ok, water hot, we were happy with our room.
The lovely breakfast waitress did a great job with our eggs, and was very smiley and tried hard with her English. We had the full English one morning and that was good too.
Only had one dinner and it was delicious and very good value.

Room Tip: No lifts, you need to carry your suitcase up a couple of flights of stairs. Our host carried ours f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank auckwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

I did not stay at this establishment, but simply went here for a roast dinner on Sunday. A friend had recommended but never been themselves - simply amazing. The inside of the pub does not promise much, it's pretty average looking, proper 'pubs pub'. But the roast dinner is awesome, well above the average of usual pub roasts, at restaurant level.

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Power_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

Stayed at the Dukes Head Inn for 2 nights in September. The room was very cosy and comfortable, especially the king sized bed! Very quiet area and great for sightseeing as the River Thames is only a short walk away as is Richmond town. Had a hearty breakfast on two mornings and a great meal one of the nights. It's a typical pub and great for a quiet drink. Staff are extremely friendly and aim to please which they did.

Room Tip: Second floor front of house, no noise apart from flight path of Heathrow airport in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyCarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

Highly recommended for location, food, value and great Irish hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRtoronto77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

My husband and I and a friend shared a triple with three single beds. The room and bathroom were clean and functional, though the bathroom was a bit small. The room is not a place you want to hang out in as it just holds the beds and a single chair, but it met our needs. The pub is in a neighborhood just 10 minutes walk from the Richmond train station. This location was a good option for us because we had a rental car and did not want to drive into the congestion zone. The trains run until almost midnight so we were easily able to get to the West End and back for a play. The ride in took about 25 minutes; the ride back was on an express and took only about 15 minutes. The car park behind the pub only holds about 4-5 cars and it was full, but we were able to get overnight street parking. Breakfast in the pub the next morning was a full English breakfast and quite good.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BethB55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
1.1 km away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
0.8 km away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
0.9 km away
Richmond Gate Hotel
Richmond Gate Hotel
#4 of 12 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Richmond Park Hotel
Richmond Park Hotel
#10 of 12 in Richmond
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.4 km away
Richmond Inn Hotel
Richmond Inn Hotel
#8 of 12 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
2.9 km away
The Coach and Horses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dukes Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dukes Head Inn

Property: The Dukes Head Inn
Address: 42 The Vineyard, Richmond TW10 6AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dukes Head Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Dukes Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dukes Head Hotel Richmond-Upon-Thames
The Dukes Head Inn Richmond, UK - Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing