We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great location”
Review of Loch Leven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Loch Leven Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2017

We stopped three nights and it was unfortunate that due the timing and conflicts with other bookings - we had to move rooms after the first night - all handled very smoothly.
Both rooms were clean, tidy and comfortable.
The owners and staff were all most helpful.
The dinner menu provided a good selection without being too extensive.
All the meals we had were excellent - with one exception my panna cotta was a bit small and didn't wobble.
Breakfasts were a little disappointing - the ingredients were good but were a little tired as in kept warm not freshly cooked. Though my kipper was very good.

Room Tip: Best rooms face the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (739)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 739 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

We had a dinner here as we were staying in a B&B nearby and came on the owners recommendation.

We shared a starter of rabbit terrine. It was tasty and served rather attractively. We both then had pork belly stuffed with black pudding served with lentils. Very tasty and beautifully cooked. Finally we had the Cranachan which I guess is not so complicated but was still very pleasant.

All in all the food was very good and the staff were warm and friendly. It's not a cheap place, but not unreasonable.

We really enjoyed ourselves and hopefully will come again!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 57alexk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

The hotel,rooms,staff and owners are a delight, special mention for young Aly and Craig (owner) also the young waitress (don’t know her name) all of them and others were polite friendly efficient and a pleasure to deal with.
The rooms are comfortable and clean and the view from our room of the Loch was lovely. Hotel was perfectly situated for us as we were visiting Neptunes staircase and the Glenfinnan viaduct amongst other things. Good choice of beers etc at the bar particularly St Mungos. Residents also friendly as were the locals too.
The highs and lows were mainly to do with the meals/restaurant. Starters were delicious potato and asparagus soup and gin and beetroot cured salmon. The 2 mains of steaks ribeye and Aberdeen Angus fillet were possibly the best we’ve ever eaten. The beer battered fish was a disappointment, beautiful fish but some of the batter soggy and the hand cut chips we’re greasy (although the jenga chips with the steaks were delicious). The sticky toffee pudding was over cooked and rather tough.
The breakfasts were also disappointing hard fried eggs, over cooked and dry bacon and sausage, haggis though was superb as was the tattie scones.
Again this is where the hotel staff shine as when I mentioned the disappointing food a healthy discount was applied to my bill.
I’d definitely return but would perhaps be a little more choosy about my meals.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Derek A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

This hotel very close to the water has some good points: helpful staff, very good restaurant and bar, and our room -- #12 on the entry level -- had an all-glass wall with excellent views of the water and mountains a wee deck that would have been charming had it not been raining. The rest of this review should be read with the understanding that we stayed in only the one room, and for all we know the other rooms could be first-class. Room 12, however, has serious issues. It's tiny, the mattress is soft and tends to dump the would-be sleeper on the floor, the carpet is in need of cleaning (no, replacing), the bathroom fixtures are both cheap and ancient, and the broken door never got fixed.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ColoTraveler2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

Booking in helpful staff, showed me to my room and carried my suitcase. The single room was comfortable. Ensuite was compact but adequate. Great view of the Loch and mountains. Didn’t have dinner at the hotel.
Breakfast the range and quality of the food was great.
Only one small fault. The was only one member of staff taking orders, serving and clearing tables. This poor person was run off their feet when several guests arrived at the same time.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on a Sunday night for one night. I've never had such a terrible nights sleep .... all thanks to the central heating fan/vent going continuously and very loud beneath our room. We did hear it when we arrived, thinking it was the kitchen vents which usually turn off when the kitchen closes (and which was confirmed by the member of staff who checked us out the following morning), but the same member of staff suggested it was likely the central heating vent instead.
As the room was very warm, we had to have our window open also which only added to the loud noise of the vent. We were not advised of this continuous noise going on when we checked into this room. And because reception is not manned during the evening, I didn't feel it appropriate to call the emergency number because of this issue. A great inconvenience yes, an emergency it was not.

Although the bed was very comfortable, the room a great size for us and our dog, the food at the restaurant also very nice and the staff were super friendly, is was all overshadowed by the incessant noise from the vent and a very sleepless night.

I won't be staying here again, and have stayed here previously, hence we returned, but not again.

I would suggest a room not facing the small courtyard or beneath the kitchen where this central heating vent is if you want a good nights sleep.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank SchnooksScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig I, Owner at Loch Leven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear SchnooksScotland,

Thank you for your review. We are of course disappointed that you did not sleep well during your stay. Though it is imperative that the hotel has such facilities as kitchen vents, hot water, cold beer etc, which are all facilitated by external heating and chilling equipment, it is of course disappointing that these necessities led to a disturbance for you. I personally have been in the room and our double glazed windows do stop any external noises. It is is rare in October or in any other month in Scotland that a room without radiators on would be so hot as to require the window to be open, all of our radiators are self-controlled allowing our guests to set their own desired temperatures. This being said, every individual is accustomed to different levels of noise, light and temperature when they sleep and so if we know in advance that a guest prefers a very quiet room, or a cooler room or any number of other personal preferences we can try our best to accommodate. We have members of our team on site from 7am until midnight every day at your disposal to assist with issues, outside of these hours there are dedicated staff on-site and can be there to help you at a phone calls notice.

Kind Regards,

Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Overall we had a wonderful stay in Scotland and stayed here for 3 days for good access to the surrounding area for hiking/ walking. I would say that the hotel is located in a good place just off the main road and is easy to find. It is easy access to some wonderful sights in the loch lomond area and also up toward fort William.

The staff were lovely and welcoming and chatty. The restaurant and bar were the same.

In terms of the room, it feels a little outdated. The room itself is a little dimly lit for my liking (but I like bright rooms). They were mostly clean except some cobwebs I noticed in the lampshade. There was good coffee/tea/hot chocolate in the rooms. We luckily got a room with a bath too. However we noticed that the temperature in the bath was lukewarm out of the hot tap?

The breakfast was excellent especially the cooked options were very tasty and you can pick and choose. Slight downside is that if you come late (as we were) you end up having to wait quite a while which is a little stressful if you're wanting a quick breakfast.

The dinner we had here was also very good. The food was cooked well and also very tasty. There was a great selection of drinks and the cocktails were lovely! The bar has a good atmosphere and they make their own gin too.

Overall we had a very satisfying stay here. There are a few finer points which could be improved but not too much to complain about.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lingers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Ballachulish
0.4 km away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,280 reviews
0.7 km away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
184 reviews
4.9 km away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
4.3 km away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
921 reviews
18.8 km away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Leven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Leven Hotel

Address: Old Ferry Road, North Ballachulish PH33 6SA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > North Ballachulish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in North Ballachulish
Price Range: C$159 - C$294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Loch Leven Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its relaxed atmosphere, beautiful loch-side setting, dramatic views of the mountains, near to Glencoe, Ballachulish, Fort William and Ben Nevis, this privately owned, family-run hotel in the heart of Lochaber has everything you could want for activity based Highlands holidays, or stress-free breaks in Scotland away from it all, enjoying the Scottish scenery and breathing the fresh, clean air. After opening our own Gin Distillery in the hotel's grounds late 2017 you can now taste our small batch craft distilled gins in our award winning bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loch Leven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Loch Leven
Loch Leven Onich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing