We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, but terrible entertainment!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Theo Sunset Bay Holiday Village
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kissonerga
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Arrived at hotel late. Offered a dried up sandwich and drink. Thankfully the sight of our room lifted our mood. Spacious, clean, air con, balcony with a great view. (Block A, room 111).
Next two weeks we throughly enjoyed our stay. Lovely pool, views and comfy sun beds. Hotel has bus stops right outside to take you to Harbour at Paphos and to Coral Bay.
Entertainment needs ALOT of attention ASAP. Terrible. You need to get the bus to the local strip for any kind of atmosphere. However, if you are Russian and there was plenty of them, it tends to cater for your needs.
Food- oriental night was the best. The other themed nights seemed to be the same. As long as you like chicken and pork you will be fine. Always something to keep you going. Snacks were really good as was the ice cream.Wifi free!!
Drinks- slightly watered down. Flat tasting larger, but enjoyable cocktails.
Staff- from cleaners to bar staff, worked really hard non stop. Special mention to Erika who wouldn't allow your glass time to empty! Also head barman Tiao who worked non stop. Manager does keep a strict eye of his staff, but none of them complain. A couple who worked in reception were a little unhelpful, especially when trying to keep our room on later on departure day. Also note, all inclusive finishes at 15:00hrs on your last day. So if you have a late flight you have to pay. However the week before us, they complained about the dry sandwich on arrival so let them have tea.
If you get sent to the old block, down the road, (900+) ask for a transfer to top end. Rooms very outdated and pool looked as though it needed a good clean. Looked very unappealing.
Lovely bay and beach down a short track to enjoy.

Room Tip: block A, top floor, away from pool, quiet and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ALLI K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (797)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 797 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2016

We arrived at around 9.45pm on the 9th Aug as a party of 5 and 2 of our party were informed that their 1 bed sea view apartment wasn't available until the following day and were whisked off to a lower grade studio apartment. No recompense offered and could only move to a the 1 bed apartment the following day and which should have been next door to our apartment, as booked, however ended up being 4 apartments away.
My wife, son and I had stayed twice previously and enjoyed it, however this time round there was a complete change of staff, 75% Russian, 15% Greek and 10% other.
Some of the Russian staff made the effort, however the number 1 pain in the back side was the so called 'head bar man' a guy named Theo who is actually Bulgarian and was extremely rude and tried to treat all inclusive customers as second class tickets...and he was also selective on who he wanted to serve and who he wanted to wait (Catered happily for the Russian comrades though)
The food in the past was relatively good and this time round could only describe it as poor.
We will not be returning to this hotel ever again and would advise those of you who are polite and have manners, to avoid this place as it caters mainly for rude Russians. It also tends to employ Rude staff, with the exception of Helen, Pavlos & Erica who were marvellous and welcoming and were clearly put upon by others. Thanks to them for making an effort.
As for the manager, he is just a complete and utter waste of space who tends to reside at the end of the bar shouting orders to the staff and also tries to be grouchy with customers which doesn't work with me.
When paying good money and top dollar for a holiday that you have looked forward to for almost a year, then it really is a kick in the teeth to have such a poor experience.
I have issued a complaint to On the Beach also.

Room Tip: Room 410 to 416 are 1 bed sea view apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BlueDog01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016

33 of us stayed here for my daughters wedding in Pahos on the 4th July,we had a problem on arrive with rooms not being availiable but this was sorted out by 14-00 the next day.My daughter and two other couples had to rough it in a 5 bedroom apartment with it,s own pool,fully fitted kitchen,pool table and god knows how many T.V,s but they managed.
We all really enjoyed or stay here the staff were really good helpful & freindly,thanks to all and a special thank you to Theo & Adam.
We had a room with a sea view on the ground floor,it was well worth paying the extra,the sunsets in the evening were amazing.
Thanks again to all at the Theo and to the many new freinds we made from Liverpool & Scotland.
P.S The wedding on the yacht Ocean Flyer was brilliant.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank countyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016

We arrived late evening, checked in, to find that we had been given another smaller room to stay in overnight and will move to our booked apartment the next day. True to the managers word we moved to our booked room, this was spacious, clean and had quieter air conditioning in the living room and bedroom, the smaller rooms air conditioning was noisy. We spoke to other English holidaymakers and the same thing happened to them, being put in another room overnight seemed quite the norm! The bed was made daily, bins emptied and towels changed every 3 days. We even hired beach towels, 10 euros each and money returned when towels returned, this was a good idea. There was a variety of food choices and drinks on offer at breakfast, lunch and dinner although served between certain times and each evening had a theme e.g. international night, Greek night. Snacks were available in between...you won't go hungry. A spa is available, with a gym and a pool...massage was lovely and professionally done, the spa manager will spot newcomers round the pool and try to convince you to have a treatment. We booked several treatments and got them at a discount. The pool was nice although we didn't see anyone cleaning it and our friends commented that they saw things floating in it, so be aware. Also if you want a sun bed you will need to put out your towels early, on one day all the sunbeds were taken. Many children in the pool so if you want it quiet this isn't the place to be. Another thing certain holidaymakers could be quite rude they will push passed you when you're getting food and their children will jump into the pool just by where your swimming, a near miss! The entertainment on the evening was ok, a couple of singers and some greek dancers we played cards and listened to the singing. The bar, waiters, waitresses and housekeeping are pleasant, some happier than others and they all worked their socks off, such hard workers. Would we go back to this hotel...no. I hope you find this review helpful.

Stayed: August 2016
1  Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016

On arrival we were told the hotel was double booked and they had no room for us (I booked last November), so they moved us to a tacky all inclusive down the road.

When they finally had availability (after three nights), the manager decided it was appropriate to lump the whole family into a villa, even though this isn't what we booked. Awful management made this trip disappointing, it's worth checking before you travel as he said the problem will get worse over the next few weeks.

When we did finally get to Theo Sunset bay the hotel was lovely, with great views and nice food. The location is a bit out of it, you can't really walk to taverna's but won't be staying again as I actually like to receive what I have booked!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

Just arrived back from this hotel, had a great time, it's about 75% Russian 25% British but no problems. Staff great,food good, room great location good. Twenty minutes by bus to Paphos Harbour and five minutes by bus to Coral Bay which has great bars and restaurants. Would definitely return to this hotel.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank davywall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

Lovely hotel with gorgeous views,sunset is amazing! Great staff and decent food.Snack menu was freshly cooked and plentiful.Entertainment could be improved massively....it was bad to the point of funny!
Would definitely return

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Margo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissonerga
7.9 km away
The King Jason Paphos
9 km away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
4.4 km away
Corallia Beach Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 km away
Coral Beach Hotel & Resort
8.7 km away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#13 of 84 in Paphos
2,386 reviews
9 km away
Paphos Gardens Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Theo Sunset Bay Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Theo Sunset Bay Holiday Village

Address: Coralbay Road, 61, Kissonerga, Paphos 8574, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos > Kissonerga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kissonerga
Price Range: $67 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Theo Sunset Bay Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Theo Sunset Bay Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Theo Sunset Bay Holiday Village Hotel Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing