We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Calm and large plage in countryside with lovely...”
other travellers have booked this property
15 minutes to Sun sea and sandy beaches or relax by the pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
15 minutes to Sun sea and sandy beaches or relax by the pool
Fully fitted kitchen with oven,ceramic hob,dishwasher & microwave - leads onto the terrace and p Traditional Charentaise farmhouse
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
15 minutes to Sun sea and sandy beaches or relax by the pool
Fully fitted kitchen with oven,ceramic hob,dishwasher & microwave - leads onto the terrace and p
Traditional Charentaise farmhouse
The sun sets at the end of your garden with a view towards the woods and sunflower fields
New for 2014 Outdoor Cornilleau table tennis table
There are also a number of family rooms
Each room has a a double bed and natural light
Bathroom with walk in shower, roll top and washing machine
Local 10 pin bowling,pool tables and childrens play close by with bar and restaurant on site
Velo rail at St Andre - has to be done
Pedal boats on the river at Pons - a citadel on the pilgrimage route to Compostello
Climbing in the trees at St George (min height limit) or Royan for all ages 4 upwards
Local attractions are seafood,wine and of course Charentaise melon
The well guarded beach at Meschers
The beautiful town of Talmont is within 15 minutes - one of the prettiest in the region
Traditional Carrelat (fishing huts) line the estuary - trout fishing suitable for children is 5km
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Cozes, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bodbee
Staffs
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great area”
Reviewed April 10, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Having never been to this area of France, this was a great introduction. Although things at Tournesol weren't quite as I expected them to be, it was a fabulous base for us all and a lovely holiday for everyone. We were 9 adults and 5 kids and were accommodated easily.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2018
Thank you for your review - we have taken your comments on board and are changing the set up slightly for the future based on your feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Ornskoldsvik, Sweden
1 review
“Calm and large plage in countryside with lovely pool”
Reviewed July 30, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Le Tournesol is a big house with plenty of space for the grand company. We were 7 adults and 6 children and had space enough. The kitchen is well equipped for many people and with two refrigirators, except only 4 seatings. We had all the meals outdoor where there were planty of chairs, and sunloungers. The children loved the pool (very clean) and would never get up. We had lovely evenings, the sun setting in the back of the garden and crickets playing. And the stars…The house is next to a small camping but we did not notice much of it. For excursions in the surroundings of Charentes this house is excellent. We went to the big and fascinating Aquarium of La Rochelle for example, and for tours to different winerys nearby. The closest is only 20 minutes of walk through the forest, where we got insight in the art of producing Cognac and Pineau. The bakery in the nearby village St. André de Lidon had lovely croissants and pain au chocolat which we bought almost every morning. In both Cozes and Germozac there are big shops for everything (Super U), so shopping for food was easy. We never met Neil and Heather in person but they were very quick in responding to questions about the house and they gave a lot of information for what to see and experience in the area. Around the house there is not much of mobile coverage but that turned out to be a benefit for us, as we had a good time without our phones and computers. We had a really lovely time at Le Tournesol, thank you!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2017
Thank you for your lovely review Lykke. We are so glad you enjoyed staying at Tournesol and visiting this wonderful part of France. We often come out in the evenings simply to watch the stars; there have been some amazing displays of shooting stars over the years! We do hope to welcome you back another time. Best wishes, Neil and Heather
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chas R
Farnham Common, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect for a big family gathering or a big group of friends”
Reviewed July 27, 2017 for a stay in August 2016

Great pool, plenty of space in the house. The location is ideal, the nearest town, Cozes has all we needed and is only a few minutes drive. A safe beach is only a few miles away at Mecher . We will go again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jokey1234
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Spacious, relaxing and family friendly”
Reviewed July 25, 2017 for a stay in July 2016

We had a fabulous time at Tournesol. The rooms are huge, with plenty of space to spread out. Room for several families. The kids loved splashing in the beautiful pool - as, of course, did the grown ups! The garden is big enough for football. Plenty of local countryside for cycling, running and walking, and a short hop to beautiful, sandy, family-friendly beaches.

We love the area - our kids enjoy visiting the caves, the best Go Ape-style tree top adventure we've ever been to (45 mins - an hour away), velo rail, nearby towns, Saintes and La Rochelle. St Georges, just up the coast, is also a must for ice-creams, French markets and yet more long, sandy beaches.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2017
Thank you very much for your review.We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed staying at Tournesol and we do hope to welcome you again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon J
1 review
“A beautiful and peaceful location - ideal for a family holiday in the Charente Maritime.”
Reviewed July 23, 2017 for a stay in August 2016

We have stayed in this lovely property on several occasions. Surrounded by fields and farmland, it is a fabulous get-away from the hustle and bustle of life. Cycle through the sunflower fields, relax in the pool, or take a short drive to one of the many beautiful beaches in the area. We are looking forward to our return visit this summer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2017
Thank you Sharon J. We are so pleased that you enjoy staying at Tournesol and we are delighted that you are returning again this year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin08r...
West End, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent holiday home for stress free family vacations”
Reviewed July 19, 2015 for a stay in July 2013

We have returned several times to this fabulous holiday home.

Nearby beaches, restaurants and tourist spots are surprisingly easy to acces and hassle free, not the case when we visited the over developed South of France. The guide book was very helpful in identifying local points of interest and even finding a decent takeaway one night.

The house, large garden and pool have evrything you need for a relaxing holiday. A restored farmhouse that retains lots of original character, whilst offering all of the modern conveniences you need for a super holiday.

The Charente departement is predominantly arable and therefore different from nearish neighbouring Loire that is better known in UK. We loved exploring, but you really come to this area for a different pace of life, great weather and a clean, natural environment. We loved the local wine, buying cases to bring home, the vineyard is just a few fields away...really worth finding early on.....

We found unusual b and b options for the journey to the ferries, which broke up the driving and made for more adventure.

Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: BBQ evenings by the pool
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate T
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“70th celebration”
Reviewed August 15, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed here for 2 weeks in July to celebrate my parents 70th. There were 11 of us in total ranging from 4 to 70. THe house was well equipped and very spacious. We all had plenty of room with enough room for another family!!!! Being an old farm house the rooms were very cool so meant we all slept well.
We were very lucky to have beautiful weather for the whole 2 weeks. It was very difficult to leave the house and pool area as the children (and adults) were having so much fun. Large pool, table tennis and rope swing.The house is situated next to a very quiet french campsite which for us was a bonus. There is a football pitch and small park there and the children spent most of the time wandering over there meeting French children and all playing together.
There is lots to do in the area. We had bikes with us and enjoyed cycling to the local villages and vineyards. A highlight was the local bar in St Andre de Lidon where the local owners and regulars kept us entertained. The closest vineyard 'Coupron' did amazing chardonnay (less than 3 euros) and great fizz. I enjoy running and morning runs through the lanes surrounded by vineyards, sunflowers and corn was perfect.
We did day trips to Cognac, Saintes and a few mornings on the beach. A lovely meal out in Mortagne and enjoyed strolling around Messers and Talmont.
Everyone had a great time and certainly adopted the chilled out French country lifestyle.
We would love to go back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool area
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing