We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (494)
Filter reviews
495 results
Traveller rating
302
113
32
25
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
302
113
32
25
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsan outdoor swimming poolwedding receptionsunday lunchfamily mealafternoon teacheesecakelarge bedmallory parklovely mealbe visiting againfish and chipshot tubwedding breakfastplenty of parkinghome from homelovely hotelan evening meal
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 495 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2017 via mobile

Myself and my boyfriend booked a room here as we were visiting family in England. We were driving down from Scotland and after leaving at 7 am we expected to arrive around 12. It was stipulated that check in was at 2pm so I enquired if we would be able to check in early after our long drive, and were quite curtly advised no. This was fine, however we did, as expected arrive early at around 1pm, so we thought we would chance our luck and see if the room was ready, happily it was! When we enquired about this the lady at the desk did state her surprise that we arrived early consirering we already discussed this, and considering the room was in fact ready at that time anyway I found it quite un necessary and rude to bring up, however herself and the rest of the staff were lovely during the remainder of our visit.

Prior to our arrival, we upgraded from the classic room to the superior king room, however were not greeted with the same room that was advertised online. However the room was of high quality, the badgers were a cute touch and the bathroom was lovely also (although not very modern). I do feel though that the rooms should match what you think you are paying for. Also the king bed was two singles pushed together which did cause a bit of a dip in the middle, although it was very comfortable.

Breakfast was delicious and check out was easy. Didn't utilise the pool or the restaurant so can't comment on these, however based on this experience I would happily return to try it out. Our relatives live 5 minutes away and have never been, but will be visiting upon our recommendation. Very nice experience overall.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank AGGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2017

Great little hotel with fantastic staff, very nice restaurant & bar and very comfortable rooms. Stayed mid week in Field View which felt just like being at home, which when you are away so much it's a great feeling.
Food in Oscar's bar was particularly tasty, well presented and in portions that meant you could enjoy more than one course.
Loved it and will be using again when back in the vicinity

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonBunston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2017

Ideal place for that special event. Plenty of areas to suit every one, if you don't want to dance then there are plenty of areas to sit if you just want to chat away from the dancing and music. The staff really do work hard keeping everything running smooth and constantly keeping everything ship shape hats off to them all and as for the bar man, well he was fantastic and a little show on his own, well done to him he kept every one happy. Nothing to have a gripe about. Certainly the best venue I have been to in a long time for such an event.
The staff certainly know how to look after the guests especially at breakfast, first class service.
I think it would be well worth coming again to stay in the apartment with the hot tub and have some fine dining, must speak to the better half. WELL DONE to all.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2017

We attended a wedding & decided to stop overnight even though we live locally, as it seemed a nice place. The room where the reception was held was nicely decorated, the only downside was that I don’t think you could have squeezed one more person into the room for the meal. The meal itself was exceptional, all 3 courses were excellent. There is a nice patio area with a pool & surrounding garden. The weather was a bit hit & miss but I imagine it would be great on a red hot day.
The layout is good. As we went into the evening, there was a disco in the main room, the bar where you can still hear the music but also hold a conversation & a quiet room if you just wanted to chill.
Our room was clean & tidy & the complimentary bottles of water were a nice touch.
Breakfast was help yourself to toast, juice, fruit etc. plus a full breakfast of anything you wanted, freshly cooked to order.
All in all a very enjoyable weekend!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2017 via mobile

Our friends had their wedding breakfast here. Absolutely lovely, food delicious and the drinks at the bar reasonable. The gardens with swimming pool look amazing. We had the perfect evening. Will definitely return as a family. Thank you.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank loves_to_travel075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews