We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Glorious Mountain Retreat”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cortijo Opazo

Cortijo Opazo - former Alpujarran farmhouse.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cortijo Opazo - former Alpujarran farmhouse.
Well equipped kitchen - apartment la Corona Comfortable sitting room - apartment la Corona
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
Cortijo Opazo - former Alpujarran farmhouse.
Well equipped kitchen - apartment la Corona
Comfortable sitting room - apartment la Corona
Double bedroom - apartment la Corona
Out door dining for the apartment La Corona
Open plan living area of apartment El Lujar
Apartment El Lujar sitting area with french windows leading to patio
Bedroom of apartment El Lujar, facing the morning sun.
Log burning stove to supplement underfloor heating.
Outdoor dining for the apartment El Lujar
Great views in every direction
Situated in the countryside, but close to the village.
Exceptional garden for you to enjoy
Great vistas in all directions
Plenty of outdoor space
Garden full of charm, a veritable oasis in the Alpujarras
Our walking guides will take you to enchanting places
Garden full of delightful surprises
Home cooked food available on request
Delicious menus to suit all tastes
Extraordinary scenery and views from the house
Lively village fiestas
Our home grown fruit and veg usually available for you to buy
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Portugos, Province of Granada, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
ChrisM51
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Glorious Mountain Retreat”
Reviewed 17 December 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a week and were not up to the more serious walks - but toured the local villages by car, ate like kings for very little (especially when Robert and William cooked) and loved sitting on the hillside gazing at the views, reading and sketching. The apartment was beautifully decorated with local rugs and pottery and very, very comfortable. The information provided by the owners was excellent and significantly improved our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The charm and serenity of the apartment and surroundings
Liked least: Driving on mountain roads in the mist
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
transpare...
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cortijo in an incredible setting”
Reviewed 29 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Cortijo Opazo is without doubt one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever stayed in. Situated in the High Alpujarra it has commanding views of the mountains and valleys to the South, with the snow-capped peaks of the Sierra Nevada as a backdrop. The Cortijo itself is set in beautifully maintained gardens and has every convenience you could ever want. Its location makes it the ideal place for exploring the white villages of the Alpujarra and despite its remote location it is easily accessible via very good roads. We split our time between sightseeing and just relaxing and enjoying the views. The owners were very helpful, knowledgeable and friendly – yet let us have our privacy. They were available if needed for advice, otherwise you wouldn’t have known they were there. Although we didn’t take advantage of it, they do offer guided walks which must be a wonderful way to experience the amazing scenery of the region. You can pay for them to cook you a meal on the patio – which I thoroughly recommend as the food was of excellent quality and the portions generous. All in all it was a memorable stay and I plan on returning again as soon as possible.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything! The location, the beauty of the surroundings, the welcome of the hosts - all perect.
Liked least: Nothing springs to mind.
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sugarush6...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Total relaxation”
Reviewed 23 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

A fabulous week in Cortijo Opazo, the most relaxing holiday we've ever had. Stunning views of the Sierra Nevada, breakfast on the terrace to the sound of a goatherd and the hospitality of the owners Robert and William only added to our experience. The accommodation was well appointed and the surrounding countryside glorious for walking or relaxing. Thanks too to Ella and Oska who made this holiday most enjoyable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and calm of surrounding area.
Liked least: Having to go home.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happytrav...
Pacifica, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rural Paradise”
Reviewed 17 June 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Cortijo Opazo is the perfect location for those wanting to enjoy the countryside, with easy access to walks. The owners provide a wealth of information about the area, with detailed descriptions of a large variety of walks. Our apartment was comfortable, and well-equipped for self-catering. We had 2 patios to use, and we spent many hours outside enjoying the sounds and sights of the Alpujarras. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Cortijo Opazo, and hope to return soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The rural location
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janie G
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Simply Excellent!”
Reviewed 9 June 2012 for a stay in March 2012

We have stayed with Robert & William twice now and both times we have had a truly wonderful holiday. They are excellent hosts, there if needed and always on hand to answer any questions or to give useful local information. I have not sampled their cooking yet as cooking is a passion of mine and it is so good to have a very well equipped kitchen and lots of fresh produce from the local markets. The walking is superb and the walking guide is very useful. The gardens are amazing and so much work had been done since our first visit in 2005. The eggs from the girls are good value and are delicious.

If you want the most relaxing holiday ever then come here - you wont be disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: I loved everything!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bchallino...
Stafford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A HAVEN IN LAS ALPUJARRAS”
Reviewed 2 June 2012 for a stay in September 2011

In September 2012 it will be our seventh time at Cortijo Opazo within four years. That should say it all!! If the thought of experiencing Spanish life in a more rural setting appeals to you; listening to the sound of the goats' bells close by; if you appreciate beautiful mountain scenery, deep valleys, visiting local villages, flora and fauna; if you enjoy walking, or simply relaxing in a beautiful garden, enjoying a glass of wine and watching the sun set, this is the place for you.

The owners, Robert and William, are wonderful hosts; the accommodation is excellent; their cuisine superb, often using freshly grown ingredients from the garden to help create delicious meals (on request), and their five course specialities are sumptuous!

Can't wait for September once again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2012
Thanks, Barbara, you are so kind. We'll be up to our ears in tomatoes when we see you in September so how about cherry tomatoes and red onions baked with feta cheese?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Outstanding in all respects!”
Reviewed 24 May 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Recommended to us, we headed out for a week of walking and general relaxation. Warmly welcomed on arrival, we took the opportunity to sample Robert and William's home cooking on our first evening. What an introduction to a fabulous week.
Breakfast outside overlooking the valley was a great way to start the day. Using the guides provided, we found the walking to be superb, from simple strolls through small villages, to the the longer, more remote hill walks.
Robert and William were superb hosts and ensured that our week exceeded our relaxation expectations.
Thoroughly recommended, even though it may now mean that more people visit and we find it harder to book our return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2012
Thanks for your kind comments, look forward to seeing you again some day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing