We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunningly beautiful!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cortijo Opazo

Cortijo Opazo - former Alpujarran farmhouse.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cortijo Opazo - former Alpujarran farmhouse.
Well equipped kitchen - apartment la Corona Comfortable sitting room - apartment la Corona
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
Cortijo Opazo - former Alpujarran farmhouse.
Well equipped kitchen - apartment la Corona
Comfortable sitting room - apartment la Corona
Double bedroom - apartment la Corona
Out door dining for the apartment La Corona
Open plan living area of apartment El Lujar
Apartment El Lujar sitting area with french windows leading to patio
Bedroom of apartment El Lujar, facing the morning sun.
Log burning stove to supplement underfloor heating.
Outdoor dining for the apartment El Lujar
Great views in every direction
Situated in the countryside, but close to the village.
Exceptional garden for you to enjoy
Great vistas in all directions
Plenty of outdoor space
Garden full of charm, a veritable oasis in the Alpujarras
Our walking guides will take you to enchanting places
Garden full of delightful surprises
Home cooked food available on request
Delicious menus to suit all tastes
Extraordinary scenery and views from the house
Lively village fiestas
Our home grown fruit and veg usually available for you to buy
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Portugos, Province of Granada, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
LondonSar...
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stunningly beautiful!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We had an amazing holiday at Cortijo Opazo, staying in La Corona. The view is stunning and the verandah at the front is so peaceful - all you can hear is goat bells.

We had a relaxing but busy few days, walking up to the waterfalls, around all the villages and on the ridge you can see from the house. We loved taking a dip in the fresh pools, so refreshing after walking in August!

I can't recommend this place enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The breathtaking views
Liked least: Children next door!.... but they were actually very well behaved!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2013
We are pleased that you had such a good time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Racheycha...
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a place!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We arrived in the dead of night, having driven up the windy roads from Malaga. There was cold beer in the fridge as promised and the apartment was just as expected - fully equipped, tidy, cosy, and peaceful. The next morning we went outside to be greeted by bright sunshine and the most breath-taking view from our veranda - wow! It was a feast for the eyes all week, as was the panoramic night sky. Robert and Williams' garden is enchanting, with lots of nooks and crannies to explore. We became rather attached to their 2 dogs, who often "popped by" to say hello and hang out with us. We made great use of their excellent laminated walking maps, setting off early before the day became too hot by lunchtime to be walking. We enjoyed eating out in Pitres and Busquatar, where there is a very good tapas place (recommended in the apartment's comprehensive local info). One night Robert cooked us a delicious curry, I mean, really good! Robert kept a discreet distance from us, so we felt we had all the privacy we wanted, but was also very friendly and on-hand if needs be. I had a fantastic massage from his friend Caroline, who will come to your apartment with her massage bed at a very reasonable price. This holiday lived up to and beyond expectations and we would recommend it to anyone - and what a great price too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
damsqu
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Yurt-Fantastic!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

From the first moment the booking was made, the information sent was clear and precise.  You could tell William and Richard had been doing this for 10 years!

  The instructions to find the place could not have been clearer and the Yurt was about 30mins drive from Orgiva.  

On arrival we were greeted enthusiastically by Ella the dog and the walk to the Yurt was an easy few minutes, past the chickens and through the beautiful gardens.  The two cold beers on arrival were very well appreciated, thank you!

The Yurt is situated right at the end of their land and was utterly private.  Next to it was a wooden hut, with a super power shower ( heated by solar panels) and  housing the outdoor (covered) cooking facilities.  The kitchen was really well equipped and the two hob gas burner was more than adequate for the job.  Everything was stored in plastic boxes to keep them clean and the wildlife (I would have liked a couple of extra boxes). The gas fridge was small and did struggle during the hot summer days, although was again, very adequate.

The Yurt itself was lovely.  Once the 2 windows, door and top were opened (all covered with essential fly screens), it cooled down dramatically, even in the mid day sun.  The bed was so comfy and the Yurt came furnished with a two seater sofa, bedside tables, a coffee table and a wood burner (disappointedly we had no use for in the middle of July!).  The array of solar powered lamps that were provided, we're fantastic at keeping the whole camp well lit during the night.  Outside were 4 sun loungers to choose from, and a shade canopy all set up.

The views were amazing and the utter clam and peace pervaded the whole site. At night the stars were amazing and the moon shone bright.  We were guarded on our first night by Oska, who slept outside our Yurt until we were fast asleep.

William was a great host! The Maps and walking instructions, coupled with his local knowledge were invaluable. The fresh eggs we could buy from him kept us going through the day and the local wine (costa) he introduced us to put hairs on my chest! We spent our days walking in the mountains (you must try the waterfall walk if you go and take Williams advice to head further up, beyond the waterfall to the array of crystal clear, freezing cold pools!) and wondering around the local villages.  We were able to buy 5 or 6 drinks, each with big free tapas for under 7euros!  El Mirador in Pitres was an amazing find, with lovely home cooked food, all served on their terrace with an amazing view.

We will be back, this was a fantastic break and a super birthday present from my lovely lady!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2013
Thanks for such a positive review, the yurt is the latest addition to the accommodation we offer at Cortijo Opazo. Otherwise it is self catering cottages.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levelis68
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Lovely place, lovely hosts, lovely Ella and Oska, lovely view. One negative thing: the weather was not on our side, and neither was the temperature. The lovely walks were a little on the demanding side for people our age.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: Things beoynd our control : climate
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2013
Thank you for your comments: Yes, weather in March can be little hard to rely upon but we are pleased that you were cosy and warm in the accommodation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
65scratch
Sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nothing was too much trouble”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 for a stay in February 2012

I thought I'd posted a review some time ago, & I'm embarrassed to realise that it hasn't appeared. So, belatedly, can I strongly support all the good things others have said, and add that Robert and William were exceptionally helpful to us, from helping with a problem with our hire car on day 1, to resolving a credit card problem with a local restaurant after our return. I cannot imagine how we'd have sorted out the latter without Robert's help - as we were back in the UK, this was definitely above and beyond our expectations.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2013
Pleased to be of help, glad you had a good stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EBDUB
Dublin,Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“A haven high in the hills”
Reviewed June 1, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed here for a week in mid-April. We must have walked right past the Cortijo a few times during our previous perambulations in this lovely part of the Alpujarras, so when we spotted its website we were keen to try it out. And we were very pleased with the result. We stayed in the ground floor apartment (one of the two that make up the property). Opening its doors we walked into a spacious, well-appointed, book-lined living-room/kitchen, off which was a short corridor to bathroom and bedroom. What strikes you at first glance is that this does not feel like a holiday rent: it's like the kind of home you'd like to own if you lived here yourself.
Co-owner William (Robert was away) made us very welcome (as did the two dogs, Ella and Oska). We arrived about 8pm off the bus from Granada, and sat down almost at once to a dinner of cordon bleu quality cooked and served by William. (We had been able to pre-order this from the menu he'd e-mailed to us). It was a memorable meal (and nicely priced), which we enjoyed as we watched the huge stars come out over the valley and the dimming hills, as drowsy tinklings lulled the not-so-distant folds.
The week passed all too quickly, but we got in a few good walks, aided by our hosts' informative guides and maps. The only downside was the fog that came in on the last two days, but we still got out and about, having come equipped (as they advise) for mountain weather

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location, the welcome, the comfortable accommodation
Liked least: The spoilsport fog.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
transpare...
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Incredible views from a magical place”
Reviewed May 16, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second visit to Cortijo Opazo and it was just as wonderful as the first. The views as you arrive at the property are just amazing. Being there in Spring, all the wild flowers were out making the views especially enchanting. The drive from Malaga airport is about 2 hours and it was great to arrive to find cold beer in the fridge and everything set up for our stay. Its position in the high Alpujarra make it ideal for exploring and although remote, you can walk to either of the nearby villages easily. As we were there for a friend's birthday we opted to have a meal cooked for us one evening, and it was totally fantastic. The food was superb and beautifully presented. The wine was wonderful and just sitting out on the patio enjoying a meal with friends was priceless. For a special break in a truly unique setting I sincerely recommend Cortijo Opazo.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Although in a very rural location, it provided all creature comforts.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2013
Thanks for your comments, it was good to see you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing