We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“excellent location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cortijo Opazo

Cortijo Opazo - former Alpujarran farmhouse.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cortijo Opazo - former Alpujarran farmhouse.
Well equipped kitchen - apartment la Corona Comfortable sitting room - apartment la Corona
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
Cortijo Opazo - former Alpujarran farmhouse.
Well equipped kitchen - apartment la Corona
Comfortable sitting room - apartment la Corona
Double bedroom - apartment la Corona
Out door dining for the apartment La Corona
Open plan living area of apartment El Lujar
Apartment El Lujar sitting area with french windows leading to patio
Bedroom of apartment El Lujar, facing the morning sun.
Log burning stove to supplement underfloor heating.
Outdoor dining for the apartment El Lujar
Great views in every direction
Situated in the countryside, but close to the village.
Exceptional garden for you to enjoy
Great vistas in all directions
Plenty of outdoor space
Garden full of charm, a veritable oasis in the Alpujarras
Our walking guides will take you to enchanting places
Garden full of delightful surprises
Home cooked food available on request
Delicious menus to suit all tastes
Extraordinary scenery and views from the house
Lively village fiestas
Our home grown fruit and veg usually available for you to buy
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Portugos, Province of Granada, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
martindeg...
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“excellent location”
Reviewed September 14, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Very pleasant appartment, with everything one could need. Very large verandah from which one has excellent views on the surrounding nature. Very good walking opportunities (with extremely useful info form the hosts).
The hosts are very pleasant: never bothering, but always helpful and available.
The food is highly recommened: one can choose from an very good menu and enjoy a very tasty (and affrdable!) meal, in the garden, on the verandah, or wherever.
Highly recommended place, also in comparison with othwer accomdation in the region!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views, the meals, the location
Liked least: goot/sheep shed downhill
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2015
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, the location, the space and above all the home cooked food. We hope to see you back here again one day - when there'll be a new selection of meals on the menu and maybe some new walking routes too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaderosli...
Florence, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome and Unique”
Reviewed August 19, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had the most amazing holiday in the Green Mountain Yurt! The Yurt is fabulous, and Robert and William were great hosts. Everything that we could possibly need was provided and the extra info that they gave us about the local area was spot on. We camp a lot but this is a special experience, giving you the simple lifestyle of camping but also complete comfort - Magic!

We will return for sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and being inside the yurt
Liked least: It was all amazing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2015
Thank you for your kind comments, we are pleased that you enjoyed staying in our luxury yurt, which is an alternative to the two apartments here at Cortijo Opazo. We look forward to seeing you here again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin H
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing, one of the best places we have ever stayed in”
Reviewed August 2, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed in the Yurt at Cotijo Opazo and what a great experience. The Yurt was very comfortable with all the comforts. The views are amazing, the owners are very welcoming and We had he most wonderfully relaxing holiday in the peace and quiet of the mountains. Lots to do but when you've been walking in the amazing countryside or have visited Granada ther is nothing better than returning to the tranquility of the Yurt and enjoying a glass of wine as the sun sets over the distant mountains. A truly memorable holiday and we will definitely be returning

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything one of the best places we have every stayed in
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2015
Thank you for your comments Kevin, we are very pleased you enjoyed staying in our Green Mountain Yurt - this is a relatively new venture to complement our self catering apartments here. Look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spill01
Derby
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“An amazing place to stay.”
Reviewed May 3, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The Alpujarras are stunningly beautiful and Cortijo Opazo provided a perfect place to stay. The apartment was well appointed and equipped and the hosts extremely helpful. The gardens are beautiful and the meal provided was delicious. The accurate walking guides took us to lots of beautiful corners we might otherwise have missed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location,
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2015
Thanks for taking the time to leave your review, we are pleased that the accommodation was comfortable and the information available at Cortijo Opazo helped you to get the most out of this special area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirlinsp...
Madrid, Spain
1 review
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed November 17, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

My sister and I stayed 4 nights at Cortijo Opazo. We loved the place and gardens. William and Robert were very helpful and provided excellent walking guides and information about the area plus very accurate instructions on how to get there. We both enjoyed the quality meals cooked by Robert and William. It was a real luxury being able to have our meals provided. Our accomodation was very nice and well appointed. Size wise it was possibly better suited to a couple than two friends, as we found it just a bit small. We would both love to go back one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and quality of the accommodation
Liked least: Not having a view of the mountains and valleys from our accommodation. We didn't realise there were two apartments and would have preferred the front apartment if it was available.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2015
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Cortijo Opazo and we were only too happy to cook for you. We advertise El Lujar as being suitable for a couple, but had we known in advance we could have organised two single beds rather than one double - this is a request that we often fulfil. Just let us know if you plan to return and we will arrange it for you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent accommodation in the heart of a great walking area!”
Reviewed October 16, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We have just spent two wonderful weeks staying at Cortijo Opazo where we enjoyed great walking, comfortable and quiet accomodation and some really good local restaurants. There is nothing about this holiday I would have changed. The apartment is very well equipped should you decide to cook for yourself. We breakfasted outside enjoying the wonderful views from the terrace.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2015
Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay at Cortijo Opazo. We are pleased to read how much you enjoyed the area and the accommodation itself.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mardler61...
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 23, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Lovely property, fantastic location, very quiet and peaceful.
Excellent hosts.
A beautiful area with fascinating little villages, great walks, wonderful scenery, although you would need to be fit
to do the climbs, nowhere any level walks.
For us, a car was a must have, especially if you want to eat out at night (good food at good prices - authentic Spanish food).
A fantastic holiday.
Thank you Robert and William.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Having to go home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2015
Thank you for leaving your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed our authentic little corner of Spain and that the charm of the Alpujarras worked its magic on you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing