We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cortijo Opazo

Cortijo Opazo - former Alpujarran farmhouse.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cortijo Opazo - former Alpujarran farmhouse.
Well equipped kitchen - apartment la Corona Comfortable sitting room - apartment la Corona
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
Cortijo Opazo - former Alpujarran farmhouse.
Well equipped kitchen - apartment la Corona
Comfortable sitting room - apartment la Corona
Double bedroom - apartment la Corona
Out door dining for the apartment La Corona
Open plan living area of apartment El Lujar
Apartment El Lujar sitting area with french windows leading to patio
Bedroom of apartment El Lujar, facing the morning sun.
Log burning stove to supplement underfloor heating.
Outdoor dining for the apartment El Lujar
Great views in every direction
Situated in the countryside, but close to the village.
Exceptional garden for you to enjoy
Great vistas in all directions
Plenty of outdoor space
Garden full of charm, a veritable oasis in the Alpujarras
Our walking guides will take you to enchanting places
Garden full of delightful surprises
Home cooked food available on request
Delicious menus to suit all tastes
Extraordinary scenery and views from the house
Lively village fiestas
Our home grown fruit and veg usually available for you to buy
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Portugos, Province of Granada, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Ian S
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed February 12, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We stayed for four nights with William and Robert. We loved it. The room has under floor heating and a long burner is spotless and we would recommend it to all of our friends . The local knowledge routes provided and interaction were all appreciated. The Alpujarras are special and I would go back. I loved Fondales and the mediaeval paths connecting the villages . William is a great cook and we enjoyed the whole experience. They have two wee dogs who seem to resemble the owners unobtrusive , quirky and very good natured .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2016
Thank you for your comments, we are proud to resemble our dogs. We are pleased you enjoyed everything, especially the underfloor heating, an essential for winter lets up in the mountains we think.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grahamsL4...
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Fabulous! A perfectly relaxing experience.”
Reviewed February 7, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We started our holiday at La Heradura (beach view), eating lunch outdoors in the bars/restaurants at the West end of the beach, coming back for a sunbathe and siesta on the terrrace (in January), and watching the sunsets; then back to the bars for Tapas in the evening. Utter bliss! We loved La Heradura.
For the second part of our holiday we drove up the spectacular mountains to Cortijo Opazo, staying in La Corona. A beautiful contrast to the beach vibe; a mountain hideaway with extraordinary views, with an easy and exhilarating walk Pitres for local amenities. A fabulous place to wander and soak up the sun and the timeless atmosphere of these mountain villages. Robert & William have thought of everything, the apartments are fully equipped and comfortable, and the garden they have created is truly marvelous. We explored some of the many shepherds trails, hearing out for the drifting sound of bongling goat bells was a delight. The villages of Pampaniera and Trevelez are well worth closer inspection, for Tapas and local produce such as wine, olive oil,and of course jamon.
All in all a perfect combination of away from it all relaxation and places of interest.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, really it is impossible to breakdown the overall experience
Liked least: coming home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Feb 2016
Thank you for trying our two centre holiday, we are pleased you enjoyed the contrast it offers. It was good to see you both back at Cortijo Opazo after a long gap.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ActonianL...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“stunning location, great views”
Reviewed January 30, 2016 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed in El lujar. Ideal for 2 - small but nicely set out. What they have done with the garden is just fabulous - a true oasis. In late September it was getting a bit chilly at this altitude for eating out at night but only just (we did occasionally) but perfect temperature in the daytime - sun very strong still. You get a private bit of garden with vine shaded terrace and stunning views but you can sit around the garden elsewhere too. The homemade Dundee marmelade is the best I have tasted. You can get into Pitres on foot in about 20 mins on the road, a bit longer on the "inland" route - excellent supermarket! The inhouse walk guides are very well described and will keep you busy for your whole holiday but a must is the walk round the local "Taha" villages following old paths and aquifers. The water management of this whole area is fascinating - water runnning everywhere despite this being the end of a dry, dry summer - amazing! Hosts William and Robert have exactly the right balance between friendliness and giving you privacy. When we visited the "white towns" we were glad we were staying somewhere that felt less touristy. Because the apartment is behind the larger ones there are not views from the apartment but it doesn't matter as you'll be outside when it is light!
Last night dinner cooked by our hosts was one of the best meals we had in our 2 weeks travelling around Spain and watching sunset to moonlit night while eating it in the paradise like garden a very wonderful way to end the holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: hard to say - all great
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2016
Thank you for your kind comments, we are very pleased to hear that the whole experience struck the right balance for you. Glad you enjoyed the house, the garden, the food and the location. The Alpujarras really is a unique area. Hope to see you here again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Terrific place with wonderful views”
Reviewed January 15, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

A brilliant secluded spot with views across the mountains. Impressive garden that you can wander in, and two very friendly dogs. Clean, and stylish. Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2016
Thank you for you positive review, the comments you have made about the garden above all mean a great deal to us, it is where most of our hard work goes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne M
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Getaway in the Gorgeous Alpujarras”
Reviewed January 2, 2016 for a stay in November 2015

Our hosts, Robert and William, provided a professional as well as warm, friendly service throughout our stay. The Cortijo Opazo website is excellent and gave us a really good idea of what to expect. It looked wonderful and it lived up to expectations. The property is a renovated farmhouse set in a top location with views of mountains and surrounded by rustic charms - we loved to watch the shepherd and his dogs bringing home the sheep and goats every evening and to hear their bells. Two villages are close by, handy for supermarkets and bakery. Several areas we wanted to explore were well within driving distances and there were many walking trails accessible.The accommodation was really comfortable and although it was autumn and temperatures at night were low, we didn't need to light the woodstove because the underfloor heating was so effective. The kitchen was very well equipped for self catering, the bed was very comfortable. While Spanish TV was of limited interest to us as we don't speak the language, DVDs and bookcases full of books kept us entertained. The rooms are decorated in Alpujarran style which is very appealing. We had the benefit of meeting Cortijo Opazo's resident animals: two dogs, chickens, two horses and a donkey. Our front patio was equipped with two sun lounges and a small table and chairs, perfect for enjoying the glorious sunshine while dining or relaxing. Robert and William have worked hard to create a lovely garden which we were free to enjoy. We loved everything about Cortijo Opazo and vowed it was the best place we'd stayed in Europe to date (and we have stayed in many places). Robert and William were delightful hosts and provided a great deal of written information and verbal recommendations. Their walking guides were particularly helpful. The only negatives were some flies and the need to dispose of toilet paper in bins because as is common in rural Spain, the house was not serviced by mains sewers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, comfortable accommodation, animals
Liked least: Flies and need to dispose of toilet paper in bins.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2016
Thanks you for this thoughtful and positive review, it is kind of you to describe Cortijo Opazo and the area in such glowing terms. The Alpujarras is a very special area and we hope we have done our part to enable visitors to enjoy it in comfort.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne M
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Autumn Break”
Reviewed November 19, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

A really nice place to stay, slightly larger than some 2 person accommodation we have stayed in. The terrace is covered and faces south so we caught some sun even in November. However the underfloor heating was most welcome and we didn't need to light the wood burner. Good walk info and lots to do within short drive times. We didn't investigate the buses but that might have been another option. Very steep tarmac road down to the house. We also had a lovely veggie meal cooked by William.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Underfloor heating, the terrace and the gardens
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2016
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Cortijo Opazo, thanks for leaving these positive comments. Being in southern Spain many people don't think about heating but being up in the mountains, although rare to find in rental accommodation, we have always thought it essential. But then we live here and like to enjoy the comfort too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catspyjam...
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place to honeymoon”
Reviewed September 16, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We have visited Cortijo Opazo before so knew what to expect, that's why we booked it ! This holiday happened to be our honeymoon so the peace and relaxation was just what we needed. Robert and William looked after us in their usual friendly but unintrusive manor and spoiled us with their excellent ciusine. We hope to be back soon !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2015
Thank you for choosing us for your special holiday and we look forward to seeing you here again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing