We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Westward Ho!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Dining kitchen
Dining area
Master bedroom with king sized hand made bed & blackout blinds
Twin bedroom with blackout blinds
Bunk room with full size single beds & blackout blinds
The terrace (trees have now been cut back to improve the view of the beach)
Looking up at the house from the garden (under deck storage)
Westward Ho! Beach
View from terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Westward Ho, Bideford, Torridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gillianli...
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Westward Ho!”
Reviewed August 12, 2018 for a stay in August 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived safely to this lovely cottage and we were very pleased with the gifts we received laid out for us on the table.

We really enjoyed exploring North Devon, particularly Lynmouth and the many beauty spots in the area. Plenty to do and see and it appeals to all age groups.

My only disappointment about the cottage was that my husband and I slept in the downstairs bedroom and it had a damp smell about it and also the lounge/kitchen floor could of been slightly cleaner , there was dog fur on it which wasn't particularly welcoming for our young grandchild to crawl about on!

The view was amazing from the garden and we enjoyed using the binoculars to watch the sun set. The cottage was also well equipped with utensils etc. Devon is a beautiful part of the country.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungry666
Lowestoft, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Love this cottage”
Reviewed May 12, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Fabulous weeks holiday in Old Salty's. Views are incredible and the property is perfect. Really well equipped with everything you could need for a perfect stay.
Will definitely book again and have already passed the details on to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2018
Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to welcoming you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline H
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What views!”
Reviewed April 28, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

This is a beautifully appointed cottage with views to die for over Barnstable Bay and out towards Lundy - even in the snow!!
It was very cosy thank goodness and had everything we could need including a very generous 'welcome' tray. Lovely touch.
Unfortunately, due to the snow, we couldn't make the most of the balcony and garden which overlooks the view. Maybe another time!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeniferpo...
Iver Heath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous”
Reviewed April 26, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We had an excellent week away, both humans and our canine companions. Especially enjoying the beach where our dogs can run free using the whole beach at this time of year....

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andreamoo...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Old Saltys Westwood Ho”
Reviewed July 23, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Great location with lots to do in the area, we visited Exmoor Zoo, Clovelly, Saunton Sands beach, North Devon Wakepark, Casscades waterpark, and the go karts at pebble ridge. Had an amazing meal at the pier house restaurant, which was really good value and we were lucky enough to get a window seat overlooking the sea, but booking is essential. We also had a meal at the pig on the hill, which was nice but not a patch on the pier house.
Old salty's was a little hard to find, not very easily signposted from the road, but it was a nice comfortable accommodation with everything we needed. Beds were really comfortable, and it had nice touches like toys which our 4 year old loved and the binoculars were well used by all of us. The welcome pack was also much appreciated. Could easily of stayed longer. Only a couple of points were that the washing line and pegs provided were a little rusty and the kettle leaked water but these are small minor things that are easily fixed. Lastly must mention the stunning view and the most amazing sunset i have ever seen.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJGlover
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Dramatic Sunset Views”
Reviewed May 9, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Just returned from a week a Old Saltys Cottage. Very well appointed, very clean, quiet and amazing views from decked area. A fantastic property in a great location. Very highly recommened and we'll certainly be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Korj
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed September 6, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This is a real 'home from home' place, spotlessly clean and the views from the balcony are breathtaking. The owner's attention to detail are second to none, we had everything we needed for a comfortable stay, in fact we liked it so much we didn't want to leave. The children loved their room too and enjoyed playing in the garden. We very much hope to go back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was homely, clean and the views were stunning
Liked least: Have to be careful of the balcany drop with small children but ours were fine
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing