We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This house is exceptional”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Beach House

House, with off road parking and south facing veranda perfect for morning tea and news papers.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
House, with off road parking and south facing veranda perfect for morning tea and news papers.
South facing veranda Dining on the south facing terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
House, with off road parking and south facing veranda perfect for morning tea and news papers.
South facing veranda
Dining on the south facing terrace
Entrance Hall
Sitting room, light and sunny with triple aspect windows looking over the Solent.
Dining room
Modern kitchen with Aga (on during winter months).
Kitchen with views of the garden and the Solent beyond
Downstairs shower and wc
Round the Island Race view from the garden
Master bedroom with triple aspect windows and fabulous views across the Solent.
Master bedroom with view of the Solent
Bathroom with bath and shower over and wc
Separate wc and basin
Twin or superking room with a hand basin
Twin or superking room with views of country side and the Solent, with a and basin
Double room with a hand basin
Gurnard Bay
Perfect sun trap
Sunset
Just one of 1000s of sailing boats always on the Solent to watch
Alfresco dining
Lower terrace
Lower garden leading onto the bottom terrace
Access to the beach high and low tide
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Gurnard, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
familyaff...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“This house is exceptional”
Reviewed January 20, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We have just returned from celebrating my Father's 70th at The Beach House & it was a truly magical weekend. The house is absolutely gorgeous, beautifully presented & feels like home the moment you walk in. Carol, the owner, was lovely to deal with & her lemon drizzle cake was delicious & a lovely touch on arrival.
We all loved the beach at the end of the garden, especially the children who had an absolute ball.
This house is exceptional & we cannot recommend it enough. We hope to visit again in the not too distant future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2015
Thank you Georgina, I am so glad you all had such a great time, especially your Mum and Dad as it was a trip down memory lane for them. Hope to see you all again soon. Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
organizin...
Midlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Couldn't get any better”
Reviewed November 3, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

From outside to in, nothing is lacking. Couldn't be more like a Beach House with it's clean, sea-side look outside to it's beach theme inside, with lovely 'beachy' decor, furnishings and pictures. The whole house and garden feels an adventure - wonderful secret path at bottom of garden leading onto beach. Views to die for across the solent. Grandchildren were enthralled by it all and loved the crabbing nets, buckets and spades and gifts left for them. Spotlessly clean, lovely bedrooms and a real 'home made' cake plus lovely sausages from Carol's pigs. What more could we want - nothing …..
Would definitely recommend this holiday home to everyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2014
I'm so glad you had a great time, I look forward to seeing you all again one day. Thank you for all the lovely comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian R
Walney Island
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely Lovely”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful house,wonderful situation with the beach at the bottom of the garden.Extremely well equipped,cannot rate this place highly enough.
Thanks Carol we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality and location of the house
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2014
You left the house so clean and tidy you will be welcome back anytime, I hope you had a safe journey back. Look forward to seeing you again.
C
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maisymoo1
Worcestershire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous beach house by the sea!”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

If you like the seaside this is the house for you! We had a perfect week at the beach house! The beach is at the end if the garden! We had bbq's most evenings with magnificent sunsets! It was pure bliss! The house is beautifully decorated throughout and carol the owner is lovely and welcomed us with cream teas and chocolate cakes when we arrived! Ideal for families, would definitely go back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2014
I am glad you had a great holiday especially as you were here to celebrate the 'special'birthday. I hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JV-UK
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing location, beautifully managed.”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We have just returned from a fabulously enjoyable week at The Beach House with our extended family, including our two young children and the dog.
We could not have asked for more from a holiday home. With the beach literally at the end of the garden, it was fabulous to run down there first thing in the morning with the dog and children and to later relax on the lower terrace with a drink watching the dazzling sunsets. and the boats drift by. The children loved just opening the gate and jumping into the sea for a swim, or looking for crabs with the buckets, spades and nets Carol had thoughtfully left for us.
The house has spectacular views from every room and the decor is very tasteful and nautical. Carol's considerate touches (including vases of fresh flowers!) made the experience all the more special. She had baked a delicious lemon drizzle cake for us, cup cakes for the children and even brought round divine homemade sausages which we barbecued and heartily devoured.
The location is great, being not only so close to the sea but also a stones throw from a great beach bar/restaurant, The Little Gloster , and a pleasant walk along the seafront into Cowes.
Thank you Carol for a fantastic holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2014
Thank you for s lovely review it makes it all worthwhile when guests have such a great time. I hope to see you all again as you brought the most amazing weather with you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lormeg
leicester england
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just book it!”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Stayed here for a week to celebrate my 50th birthday. I'm from Cowes, and my family still live there but decided to have a 'tourist' week staying with friends in Carol's lovely house. Major attraction was the proximity to the beach, although its not the most attractive beach in the world, (or the IOW) it was just so relaxing to sit at the bottom of the garden watching the Solent and all the activities taking place. Even managed a swim on the 31st May! The view is amazing and the sunsets superb. Had a barbecue (we got disposable barbies but there is one on site) for about 30 people on the Sunday, which is an unusual thing to do on holiday, and whilst I bought paper plates etc, the house was so well equipped that there was plenty of cutlery, plates, bowls, glasses to go round , so more than enough for 8. The house is light, comfortable and beautifully decorated, with a seaside theme running throughout. The outside furniture is lovely, particularly the round lounger on the front deck, bliss! Really high quality rental property in my view, with lovely touches like fabulous cake on arrival, and milk etc. Very clean, couldn't fault cleanliness at all.
Cant wait to go back, thanks Carol, it was a brilliant way to spend my big birthday week!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything, but the view and access to the sea from the bottom of the garden was execeptional
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2014
See you for your 51st and next year there will be 32 at the party! I'm really glad you had such a good time. Can't believe you swam on 31st May I'm under pressure now.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebMcQ
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great house and lovely garden - with a beach at the bottom!”
Reviewed November 22, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We had a wonderful welcome from Carol to her lovely Beach House. The property was well equipped and very comfy. The garden is huge and fully enclosed - our dog thought it was terrific - even in November! The beach is at the bottom of the garden accessed through a gate - how often do you find the beach that close?!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views over the Solent
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2013
And you were the perfect guests, look forward to seeing all 3 of you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing