We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not live up to expectations”
Review of Le Moulin de Mitou

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Moulin de Mitou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2015

You know how it is. You decide to take three days to drive South, stopping off in out of the way hotels in pretty villages with good restaurants. And so after a bit of research and reading a few reviews we thought that we would give Moulin de Mitou a go. Now it is not the proprietor's fault that the weather was ghastly but she should not post pictures on the internet that give the impression of a delightful country house set in lovely grounds down a long private drive. This hotel is just set back from a main road which hosts a constant stream of traffic, the noise exacerbated by the rainy swishing tyres. Neither is it set in beautiful grounds. We asked to be moved to the back but were advised to close our (heavily glazed|) windows, shut the shutters and make use of the aircon - a fix I might employ at Gatwick but not rural France! Madame is polite and courteous and runs a very good restaurant where I had one of the best fish soups for over 30 years. Breakfast too was simple but good and fresh. There is an undercover outside area which I am sure is delightful in good weather. There is good parking and the pool area is clean and well equipped. A good place for an overnight stay if you don't mind dogs, traffic and a random collection of teddy bears.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new barn like outbuildings face away from the road
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Infrequentluncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitoulatata, Propriétaire at Le Moulin de Mitou, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2015
Google Translation

Nous vous remercions de nous avoir fait part de vos impressions suite à votre séjour dans notre hôtel . Vous n'avez pas de chance , il n'a pas plu de tout l'été.....c'est la faute à "pas de chance" et nous espérons vous revoir avec le soleil.
Bien cordialement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
There are newer reviews for Le Moulin de Mitou
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2015

The Moulin De Mitou is very pretty. Lovely rooms and dining room, dining/drinks terrace, pool terrace. Gorgeous roman end swimming pool and we enjoyed our two night stay very much. I would say it was excellent - except for the food. Some of it was good, none was excellent. Some meals were cold when served. The foie gras was tasteless. The creme brulee was ruined and the steak was underdone and grisly. Breakfast was good. People staying longer said the food was very samey after two nights. Sadly, the couple who own/run this lovely establishment are too odd. Two dogs roam everywhere, including the kitchen, the dining room and reception. These dogs are very temperamental. A guest was bitten on the foot by one of the dogs. They got in the way of guests and were easily trodden on. The grounds are nice with peacocks, ducks and hens. Lots of effort has been made with the charm of the hotel. Don't expect a warm welcome or cheer full service though.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank heather_suds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2015

Unfortunately when I booked this hotel only standard double rooms were available and I ommitted to check these carefully so we were very disappointed to find ourselves with a really small bedroom. The minimum I expect is a seating area apart from the bed but there was no room to swing a cat never mind sit down! There was also no fridge in the room and no ice machines available.

We were also disappointed with the reception rooms since there was no actual bar or lounge area only a very small walkthrough room with a few chairs so it was not a place to relax late in the evening.

We did enjoy one dinner but found the service rather stiff and were not actually made to feel very welcome overall. This is not a cheap hotel and I would have expected a much better standard.

Room Tip: Do not book the standrad room if you want space!
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2015

We've spent an excellent longer weekend in Le Moulin de Mitou. An excellent calm place with the exceptional cuisine. Close to all beautiful place of the Dordogne region. We felt simply like home! Bravo!



  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank janjW3037AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitoulatata, Propriétaire at Le Moulin de Mitou, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2015
Google Translation

Nous vous remercions de nous avoir fait part de vos impressions suite à votre séjour dans notre hôtel.
Nous sommes heureux que votre séjour vous ait donné entière satisfaction.
Nous espérons avoir le plaisir de vous accueillir de nouveau au sein de notre moulin et nous vous prions de croire Madame, Monsieur en nos respectueuses salutations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2015

Lovely hotel, owners are very conscientious. Restaurant on site was worthwhile and great to know there was good food after a long day of sightseeing. Area was quiet and the beds were comfortable. The rooms we had in the main hotel were spacious. The pool is delightful and take time to get a massage if you can!

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Relais du Silence Hotels
Thank VHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2014

We have stayed at the Moulin before and it was just as good on this visit.
Quite pricey but the place is luxurious. I have read a few reviews making derisory comments about the décor and the teddy bears everywhere. It is beautifully decorate and OK the patron likes teddy bears - so do I.
Extensive menu - wasted on us but we enjoyed what we had.
We went out of our way to go back here which says a lot!

Room Tip: The annex has verandas and we have always stayed in these as we like to sit out in private. They g...
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kath95978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2014

We have eaten here on many occasions in the past and the food has always been of a high standard. This year we had decided on a three week break. The Moulin was a place we have said we should stay, so we decided to give it a try for two nights. We were not disappointed with the room we booked - an upstairs room with balcony in the hotel annexe. Beautifully decorated and really comfortable bed. The first night was a real surprise in so much the evening meal was not quite what we had expected. Faulty towers , French style but it was not the owners fault. A first night Manuel who got all the orders mixed up made for the most hilarious evening we've had for years. There were pots and pans flying in the kitchen, raised voices and total despair on the part of Madame and Monsieur. Apart from that it really was wonderful food and lovely surroundings. Give it a try you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in the annexe and it was really quiet and provided a dedicated parking area.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BlueMarlinstravellog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auriac-du-Perigord
5.8 km away
Chateau de la Fleunie
Chateau de la Fleunie
#1 of 1 in Condat-sur-Vezere
219 reviews
4.1 km away
Hostellerie La Roseraie
Hostellerie La Roseraie
#2 of 5 in Montignac
202 reviews
9.1 km away
Manoir d'Hautegente
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 km away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
560 reviews
4.4 km away
Hotel Le Lascaux
Hotel Le Lascaux
#1 of 5 in Montignac
192 reviews
24.2 km away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Moulin de Mitou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Moulin de Mitou

Address: Lieu Dit Borie, 24290 Auriac-du-Perigord, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Auriac-du-Perigord
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Auriac-du-Perigord
Price Range: $153 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Moulin de Mitou 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Le Moulin de Mitou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing