We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Watersedge Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This B&B is truly lovely, Alan and Sylvie are very frendly hosts and could not do enough for us, excellent room with lovely views of the sea & the isle of white, very yummy breakfast with plenty to choose from, will definatly be returning. Thank you so much for such a lovely stay

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen20Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
There are newer reviews for Watersedge Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

Allan and silvie are very friendly hosts as was sandra and they couldnt have gone out of their way more to help us and our 5 month old baby boys stay more comfortable and enjoyable,
The family room (no 5 the solent) was large and well equipped with comfy bed (double) 2 bunk beds which we used for luggage! and travel cot. bathroom large only downside was the shower in the bath, it had a sloping ceiling and was very cramped for head room, my husband at 6ft 1 struggled but ok for a quick shower. room very clean and tea tray wlll equipped, lots of tea and coffee and hot choc was good. silvie gave us fresh milk jug every day too which was good, little fridge in room, handy for milk and baby food etc. the breakfast is one of the best in a b&b I've have had, fresh fruit, yogurts, cereal and toast all buffet style and fry up was great! Fresh products cooked well, especially the scrambled eggs! (thanks silvie!!!)
Good to have a bar with reasonable prices, and good conversation from hosts.
overall good stay, will use again and recommend.to others.
only real dislike was the fact that the smoking area was outside room on balcony and could often smell smoke in our room, but nothing too bad that id complain.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gingalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

You can keep your 4 & 5 star hotels. This is the real deal!! Alan & Sylvie - with the lovely Sandra - run the most excellent establishment from the beautiful room to the wonderful hot tub and really do make you feel that you are their most important guest. We will certainly be returning at every opportunity. Many thanks to you all, Brian, Teresa, Poppy and Gimley.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We had never been to Barton on sea before. Alan & Sylvie welcomed us and we immediatly felt the warmness of the welcome. The room was immaculate and very tastfully done. The room was well stocked with provisions, tea and coffe making facilities. Fresh milk was provided also had a little fridge in the room, which was excellent as husband is a diabetic and we were able to keep his insulin in there along with the milk! We could top up the milk from the fridge in thier kitchen too. There were 2 water coolers in the Guesthouse. We were presented with a bottle of wine of our choice. Our room had patio doors opening out into the lovely garden, which had a well stocked fish pond with plenty of seating and tables around for us to relax. We made use of the hot tub, sipping our wine! They were very helpful in giving us directions to where we wanted to go during our stay and suggested an excellent resturant.The Guesthouse had a well stocked bar too. You couldn't have asked for more as far as the breakfast was concerned, there was a very good choice of fresh fruit, fruit juices, yogurts and cerials. We had the full english breakfast which was excellent, cooked fresh from the order! There was no fuss or bother and was very relaxed. The free wifi came in handy too! The Guesthouse overlooks the sea there is a balcony with table and chairs and powerful binoculars for the guests to use. All in all I could not find a single fault with our weekend stay and we will cetainly be returning !!!!

Room Tip: We chose the garden room which does not face the sea because I wanted to use the garden but if you w...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kepinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

we returned to stay with Syvie and Alan for a 2nd time and took some friends .We were a bit apprehensive as we had raved about our last stay and didnt want our friends to be dissappointed they weren't !!! We will ALL be going back again. We had a lovely drink in the bar with 'our hosts' on the Saturday evening and it was just like having a drink with old friends.On Sunday morning Alan gave my husband a lift to the pub to pick our car up ,which we left in the car park the night before after having a couple of tipples.Alan and Sylvie are a real genuinely nice couple for who nothing is too much trouble

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice, the sea views are lovely but I enjoyed watching the fish in the garden pond...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb045-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I have now been staying with Alan & Sylvie for approximately 18 months, and can wholeheartedly this is my home from home. Alan and Sylvie make me feel like I am part of the family. So much so that we now have the joke "It's only Phil", when I walk in etc. I stay with them 3 or 4 nights every week, having a busy job in the New Forest. Through being classed as being part of the Alan and Sylvie's family andthe pair of them being such wonderful people relaxation in the evenings is far easier. We have for some time regularly cooked for each other (Yes they do trust me in their kitchen!), which is great, as anyone will know if they stay away a lot, sitting on your own in a restaurant is not always good. I cannot think of any occasion when I have been dissapointed with anything at Watersedge. This couple have certainly got it right. Having all the best facilities is on thing, but it is not everyhting. Everything is perfect at Watersedge, but the one thing that stands out above everything else is the people that own, and run it. This is a job which requires a special couple, and Alan and Sylvie are that couple.


Phil Brown

Room Tip: All the rooms are individual, as are guests. There are 3 Sea View all with en-suite, except one, wh...
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Sylvie and Alan were tremendous hosts. Nothing was too much trouble for them, including Alan giving up a bottle of wine from his own personal collection when there was none available in the bar. The rooms were clean, the breakfasts were delicious and the location was perfect.

If I had one suggestion for Sylvie and Alan, I would encourage them to ensure all maintenance work is carried out at suitable hours. We experienced some banging related to a window being repaired mid-afternoon on the Saturday.

However, this did not detract from our wonderful weekend. Thank you to you both!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barton-on-Sea
1.0 km away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,872 reviews
6.0 km away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
483 reviews
8.3 km away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 km away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,069 reviews
7.6 km away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
733 reviews
2.5 km away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watersedge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watersedge Guest House

Address: 10 Marine Drive West | New Milton, Barton-on-Sea, New Forest, New Milton BH25 7QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > New Milton > Barton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Barton-on-Sea
Price Range: $160 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Watersedge Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Watersedge Guest House is situated directly on cliff top at Barton on Sea, overlooking Isle of Wight (The Needles), Swanage & Bournemouth. We have 8 bedrooms(family room, sleeps 5). 1 external garden accommodation (Koi Lodge)Sleeps max 6 persons. Pet Friendly accommodation! Fully stocked licensed Bar/Lounge and beer garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Watersedge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing