We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An excellent apartment in a lovely village”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Blackadder Haven

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Culross, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

William M
1 review
“An excellent apartment in a lovely village”
Reviewed December 30, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

The apartment was really great with excellent amenities and a memorable view. It was very good for access to the central region of Scotland. We especially liked the Fife coastal villages/towns such as Limekilns, Aberdour and Burntisland. A really enjoyable week.

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views
Liked least: Possibly the lack of parking
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Dec 2014
I'm glad that you enjoyed the apartment and your holiday in general. Perhaps we will see you again at some stage.
Kind Regards
Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S3872DPch...
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Very spacious,clean and comfortable.”
Reviewed December 14, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

My daughter and I stayed here six nights while visiting family and attending a wedding. Didn't do much sightseeing but Culross is very central for trips to Edinburgh and exploring Fife and surrounding counties. The apartment had everything we needed, very well equipped kitchen and especially enjoyed the necessary items left by Linda - coffee,tea, wine, milk in the fridge and a lovely bowl of fruit! The apartment is spacious and has very comfortable beds and sofas. December was chilly but the apartment was very cosy and warm. We would certainly consider staying here again.

Date of stay: December 2014
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2014
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and found the apartment clean and comfortable. You can be assured of a warm welcome should you visit again.
Thank you and Kind Regards
Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynneeNor...
North yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A Beautifull apartment”
Reviewed October 21, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived absolutely shattered, but as soon as we were welcomed into the apartment, we knew we had made a great choice. Very spacious lounge, comfortable sofas, and tasteful décor. a very thoughtful array of items were found in the kitchen, from a bottler of wine chilling in the fridge and a much needed container of milk,. a good selection of teas and coffees, including fresh coffee and some delicious biscuits. The bedroom was lovely, a comfy bed, quality linen, and fresh towels, and again, thoughtfully decorated. A large bathroom with a good powerful shower. We didn't use the second bedroom, but it was a good size, with two single beds. The view from the large lounge windows was a bonus, looking out onto the water. We ate out at the Red Lion, an enjoyable meal, booking is essential. The whole of the apartment is scrupulously clean, bright and a delight to stay there.

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor and comfort
Liked least: No outside space to sit
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments it means a lot to us. I believe the basis of any holiday is a clean and comfortable apartment where guests can relax and enjoy so I'm pleased that you did enjoy the apartment and the welcome basket.
Kind Regards
Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 13, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Date of stay: October 2014
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Oct 2014
Thank you for choosing our apartment, I'm pleased that you enjoyed both the apartment and the village perhaps we will see you again at some time in the future.
Kind Regards
Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BrendaKma...
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“21st Century Amenities in a 17th Century Village”
Reviewed September 4, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I stayed with my husband and son at Blackadder for 4 nights in mid August while on a driving tour of Scotland. The greeting we received from Linda was warm and hospitable. The welcome basket was a wonderful touch esp the wine! Central heating, huge fluffy towels, large rooms, well equipped flat made our stay most enjoyable. While Culross is alittle off the beaten track, we had no problems touring the area from St. Andrews to Rosslyn. The trip into Edinburgh for the Tattoo which we attended was quick and without difficulty.
The views of the Forth from the lounge and kitchen were lovely even in the rain. Culross is a town steeped in history and wandering its' narrow streets was most enjoyable.
Definitely visit the Royal Palace and Abbey and don't forget to try The Red Lion just down the road (reservations highly recommended).

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, cleanliness, provisions
Liked least: Not enough towel rods for drying wet towels
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2014
I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our apartment and village.It means a lot to us that you have taken the time to send in your thoughts and comments.
Thank you and
Kind Regards
Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A comfortable, clean, peaceful and homely base for a visit to wonderful Scotland.”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We booked this apartment as a base for trips to Commonwealth Games events. It worked very well with easy access to the motorway network and made a wonderful peaceful retreat after the noise and excitement of The Games. My daughter and partner also used local public transport to visit Dunfermine, Edinburgh and Stirling. The buses are regular and stop very close by. Culross itself is a very interesting and historical village and we would love to back and explore it more. The nearby pub serves good food, but is popular and busy so booking is recommended . The apartment is very well kept and clean and bright, with views across the Firth. The owner greeted us warmly and was very friendly and helpful. Would definitely visit again.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Looking out over the Firth of Forth.
Liked least: Going home.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2014
Thank you for your comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed the apartment and your holiday overall and perhaps we will see you again at some stage in the future

Kind Regards
Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pam1616
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stay.”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Linda was very considerate. Especially liked the welcome basket with tea/coffee/milk/fruit ans wine. The flat lovely, we enjoyed the view. The village was interesting and the food at the red lion delicious.

Date of stay: July 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2014
Thank you for your feedback,we are glad that you enjoyed the welcome basket we hope to see you again at sometime in the future
Kind Regards
Linda & Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.