We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best things come in small packages!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Culross, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
James K
Manama, Bahrain
1 review
“The best things come in small packages!”
Reviewed December 20, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Our stay at the Tanhouse Studio Apartment was destined to be a pleasurable one from the moment we arrived and received a very warm welcome from owner Gail. The accommodation is small, but sitting proudly up the Tanhouse Brae (hill) in Culross, with unobstructed views over centuries-old tiled rooftops to the Forth below it lords it over much larger buildings. The fast wifi was not merely a bonus, with a teenage son complete with iPad, iPhone and X-Box, it was an absolute necessity! The cold outside was soon forgotten as the studio heated up within minutes with the very new and effective radiator.. Culross is a beautiful, historic village and the Tanhouse Studio Apartment was the perfect base to explore it, and the surrounding area from. I will certainly be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The compactness of the apartment and the views from the 3 windows in the lounge.
Liked least: Everything was great.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liam20294...
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely apartment, great views, warm welcome”
Reviewed November 3, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Such a nice place in a lovely village. Exceeded our expectations. The owners are really friendly and we plan to return, hopefully for a longer stay next time.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darter180
Stranraer, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Awsome,couldn't ask for better”
Reviewed August 26, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Cannot say enough ,flat is modern bright and airy ,clean as a new pin ,hosts were excellent just left you to it,( but were there any probs) of which we had absolutely none.would highly recommend ,and culross is i such a quiet and beautifiul place.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan_1285
Glasgow
1 review
“Peaceful, beautiful and a great place to stay.”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed in Culross for four nights and every single one of them was great. We arrived and were warmly welcomed by the two owners, Gail and Dave. We were shown the apartment and everything was explained, from the private parking entrance gate to spare blankets in the cupboard. It is a beautiful studio apartment that was very clean and has a modern and stylish look with the essentials needed for your holiday break. Our views from the windows were amazing, including Grangemouth, Bo'ness, the River Forth and the construction of the new Forth bridge as well as the other two bridges. Culross has lovely walks, including the scenic coastal walk along the River Forth. We will definitely be back again. Thanks to Gail and Dave for a very lovely few days break.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes199
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fab studio, great views, warm & friendly owners”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Myself and a colleague stayed here whilst working on a contract in Glenrothes. Thank you for such a lovely stay, the studio apartment is beautiful. We would definitely recommend this to anyone. Gail & Douglas have put a lot of hard work into the apartment and made us feel very welcome, everything was high spec from the accommodation to the service received and the attention to detail including the bath robes & welcome basket made our stay here a very pleasant one. We hope you had a great time at the wedding. Thanks again!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing