We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inviting, and we didn't want to leave!”

The Greyhound Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Greyhound Hotel, Bar & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 10 Restaurants in Cromford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Greyhound Hotel, Bar & Restaurant at Cromford is a unique historical building, built by the 18th century industrialist Sir Richard Arkwright, the pleasing ambiance with informal seating, high quality and great value service are the cornerstones of our customer offer to guests. The perfect place from which to explore the many attractions of the Peak District. Relax and enjoy a diverse range of food and drinks for every occasion. Serving everything, from our mouth watering confit pork belly, to the heavenly steak and BBQ brisket burger. Please note we have a changing menu so there is always something different.From our Lunch menu with sandwiches to our Light lunch and early bird menu and a la carte. Sunday lunch highly reviewed. Our handcrafted wine bar stocks over 70 artisan wines from across the world, along with local and international beers, real ales and barista made coffees, our gin range offers over 20 styles.
Reviewed March 19, 2017 via mobile

My family and I met at The Greyhound one Saturday as we wanted to try it out since being taken over and we were not disappointed.

It was so inviting as we walked through the door, a fire burning, smiling staff and relaxed diners. We had a mixture of dishes from sandwiches to the baked Camembert to the burger (really REALLY delicious), and the children wolfed down their meals from the children's menu (bangers and mash with peas).

We were reluctant to leave but wanted to let the children burn off some energy so headed off to Dovedale and its Stepping Stones.

My husband's friend went the following day and said that he had the best roast he has ever had!

We will absolutely return.

1  Thank MissGlobetrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, Owner at The Greyhound Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2017

Thank you so much for the positive feedback it is greatly appreciated, this will be communicated to the team. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 187 of 207 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2017 via mobile

Fab meal with my family wow terrific place to eat out can fully recommend, definitely worth a visit! We will be returning
Fab refurb with excellent service - not extensive menu choice, not over priced, but menu and food flavours superb, with generous portions and plentiful veg - Red cabbage, cauliflower, green beans and carrots.
Hubby's both also enjoyed locally made ice cream

Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, Owner at The Greyhound Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2017

Thank you so much for the positive feedback it is greatly appreciated, this will be communicated to the team. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2017 via mobile

Just been here to the newly opened Greyhound for Sunday lunch, what a fabulous place and food. My daughter (7 yrs) and I had an amazing Sunday lunch here and will be back for sure. Everything so well cooked and delightfully served with side vegetables and gravy, Beef and Pork both excellent. Will be back with the rest of the troops soon; can't recommend this place enough; so welcoming, amazing food and well priced. A big win for the area!

Thank dward1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, Owner at The Greyhound Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2017

Thank you for your kind comments. We launch our Spring menu on the 25th March so look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2017 via mobile

My husband and I went to the Greyhound for dinner this week during a short break to Derbyshire. We weren't sure what to expect as we hadn't checked it out online first, but what a nice surprise! The interior is lovely - smart without being posh or off-putting. The menu has a great selection of dishes and the friendly waitress recommended the smoked haddock scotch egg with a red pepper sauce, which I had and it was absolutely delicious. My husband had faggots to start (also delicious), and then for main I had roasted hake with warm tartare sauce, mussels and crispy potatoes. My husband had artichoke risotto with mushroom, goats cheese and salsify. The chef here is obviously very talented, as all the dishes we're absolutely fantastic. It is a little bit pricier than some of the other eateries in the area, but we felt it was good value considering the quality of the food and surroundings - worth every penny and I'd certainly recommend The Greyhound for a lovely evening meal!

Thank jesscalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, Owner at The Greyhound Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2017

Thank you for your kind comments, it is encouraging for our team as we pass on all the comments. We are launching our spring menu on the 25th March and look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2017

The interior has been re-furbished with style and taste. We went for dinner. We had a pre-dinner drink in a cosy bar with an open fire. An excellent choice of local ales. The menu was interesting. We enjoyed our meal. The starters were especially good, as was the Lemon Posset Dessert. The welcome and service was friendly and efficient. We had two reservations. The wine list is difficult to read and the wine itself is expensive. A good house wine would be an asset. The selection of cheese lacked a local one. But on the whole, it was an enjoyable evening and we wish the Greyhound the very best for the future.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rambler015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, Owner at The Greyhound Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2017

Thank you for your kind words and we are pleased to receive your positive and constructive comments which we have taken on board. We are launching our new spring menu on the 25th March, which features a new selection of cheeses. Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Greyhound Hotel, Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Matlock, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Greyhound Hotel, Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing