We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Top class holiday rental.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Viewforth Cottage

Viewforth Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Viewforth Cottage
Viewforth
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Viewforth Cottage
Viewforth
Twin bedroom
Sitting room
Kitchen with fridge, freezer, dishwasher, washing machine, microwave and lots of cupboard space.
Dining room
Shower room with large shower cubicle, toilet and handbasin
Enclosed garden, perfect for children and pets.
Garden to the side of the cottage
The duck pond behind Viewforth.
Crawick Multiverse, a land art in Sanquhar. Just a short walk from Viewforth.
Viewforth has it's own private field ideal for children and pets to play.
Peaceful countryside walks just minutes from Viewforth
Countryside walks with stunning views just minutes from Viewforth
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sanquhar, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
37GypsY19
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Top class holiday rental.”
Reviewed May 21, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Viewforth is a clean , comfortable, spacious bungalow with everything supplied for an enjoyable stay. We were made very welcome by Caroline who also provided a vase of fresh flowers. Outside is a very well kept garden where we and the dogs sat and soaked up the sun. Found the local people friendly and helpful.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Litt1estH...
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
“Photos on facebook and website did not do the property justice”
Reviewed May 12, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Lovely place to stay. Much larger than it looked on photos and well decorated with lots of lovely paintings & ornaments. Kitchen was extremely well stocked with utensils, crockery etc. Would have preferred non feather duvets but that's a personal preference. Garden area is brilliant for dogs. Good parking too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Viewforth, glad you and your dogs enjoyed it! I will definitely take some new photos to try and show off our full potential!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara13201...
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Truly a home from home”
Reviewed April 23, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

This is one of the best equipped cottages we have stayed in. We stayed with our 2 year old daughter and we found everything we would need at home on hand, along with free wifi connection and freeview. The garden was enclosed, perfectly kept and most importantly (for us) safe, placed right next door to a field (also owned by the cottage) and a lovely public pond area filled with ducks and birds that our little one loved to feed. In the field beyond the back of the garden were two Shetland ponies, so the views were nothing to complain about! The street on which the cottage is situated is very quiet and the neighbours extremely friendly, although you don't feel as though you are on a street as the cottage is so private with the garden being at the back. The house was spotlessly clean and tidy, light and airy (even better than the pictures) with a lovely homely feel and the owner - Caroline - could not have been more helpful, communicating with us via text and being available to us with a smile and a lovely welcome even though our planed arrival time changed several times! The village had everything we needed and we recommend the Indian takeaway - the spicy hut - gorgeous food and HUGE portions! It was about 45 minutes to Ayr and the beaches and we found this was okay as it was worth staying a little more inland as the scenery and the cottage made it worth the effort. Overall a really good stay at an extremely reasonable price and I would not hesitate to recommend it to anybody.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2014
Thank you for for taking the time to write us a review. We're really glad you enjoyed your stay and found everything you needed. The take-away is very good, sorry I forgot to warn you about the portion sizes!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme B
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely well appointed cottage in great location”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Had a fantastic week in Sanquhar staying at Viewforth Cottage. The cottage was really clean and tidy, well-appointed (with wifi and wii) and everything worked just as it should. One of the best things we liked about the cottage was the location - only 5 mins from Sanquhar and shops but also really handy for just disappearing into the beautiful local countryside. The landlady (Caroline) was really friendly and picked us up from the station when we arrived (laden with bikes, rucksacks and small dog) and - as no-one was booked in immediately after us - she wasn't in any hurry to chase us out on our last day. The other good thing about Sanquhar and Viewforth is that the town has a railway station so its really accessible if you don't have a car and the cottage is only about 5-6 mins walk from the station. Very happy with our stay and happyto recommend it to others. Sanquhar has 3 pubs all just 3-4 mins away from Viewforth and the cottage also has a nice garden for sitting outdoors in the warm weather.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Really accessible & well-maintained plus friendly owner
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We're really glad you enjoyed your stay at Viewforth and that you would recommend us to others. We've had a few guests arrive by train, it's really handy and we're happy to meet them at the station. Thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hvaux
Runcorn, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home away from home.....”
Reviewed March 24, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

This little cottage had everything we needed in a holiday rental and more. Spacious, well decorated rooms with nice little touches throughout. The owner left a vase of fresh flowers in the dining room which was a lovely touch for an early spring rental.
For thoughtfulness, this has got to be one of the best rental I have ever stayed at. Nice, fresh towels and linens for the human occupants and a small bag in the kitchen cupboard with dog towels for our little collie.
We used the double bedroom which was well equipped and bright. Plenty of storage space and a hair dryer if needed. The living room was fabulous, again spacious, with comfortable large sofa and nesting tables to relax in front of the tv.
One of the reasons we booked this rental was the enclosed garden and access to the field for our pet. We were not dissapointed.
Will I be booking to stay at this pretty cottage again....most definitely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfortable and dog friendly
Liked least: does not apply
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2014
Thank you for your kind words about Viewforth. We really appreciate our guests taking the time to leave a review. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William C
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“highly recommend this cottage”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Everything you need is in the cottage. Its very clean and well decorated. The gardens are lovely as well. Very warm cottage. My wife and I both found the locals friendly when we were out walking the dogs. Would definitely recommend view fourth holiday cottage and hope to go back sometime this year.....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness and size
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peacoct
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage/bungalow in super setting.”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Could not have asked for a lovelier place to stay. Immaculate internally, lovely garden, short walk to Sanquhar High Street for any food and daily essentials. I already had fond memories of the area as I lived here until 31 years ago. I could not have asked for a better place to stay on my first visit since then...Will definately return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size and location of property, also internally beautiful.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing