We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Accommodation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Viewforth Cottage

Viewforth Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Viewforth Cottage
Viewforth
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Viewforth Cottage
Viewforth
Twin bedroom
Sitting room
Kitchen with fridge, freezer, dishwasher, washing machine, microwave and lots of cupboard space.
Dining room
Shower room with large shower cubicle, toilet and handbasin
Enclosed garden, perfect for children and pets.
Garden to the side of the cottage
The duck pond behind Viewforth.
Crawick Multiverse, a land art in Sanquhar. Just a short walk from Viewforth.
Viewforth has it's own private field ideal for children and pets to play.
Peaceful countryside walks just minutes from Viewforth
Countryside walks with stunning views just minutes from Viewforth
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sanquhar, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sheila G
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Accommodation”
Reviewed September 11, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second short visit to Viewforth Cottage which is a lovely bungalow, well maintained both inside and out and situated close to all local amenities. It was spotlessly clean when we arrived. We took our dogs with us and the extra 'field' area was excellent as an exercise area although there are also many lovely short walks near to the house. It is well equipped and comfortable, and with an extremely efficient heating system very quickly becomes cosy. We much appreciated being able to have a short break in September, rather than a week, and certainly hope to return again at some point.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the heating
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2015
Thank you for your review. Lovely to see you again and glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billy G
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding accommodation”
Reviewed July 30, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have been coming to Scotland for the last 13 years. We count grouse for the Buccleuch estate and are based in Leadhills. ViewFort cottage is by far our best accommodation to date; comfortable,clean excellent facilities, within walking distance of shops pubs and restaurants.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review. We hope to see you again next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappyWand...
Fife
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed June 22, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Booked this as we were going to the nearby thornhill music festival. We could not have asked for a better accomodation. The rooms were all a good size and the facilities where all clean and fresh. There was off street parking for the cars as well. The bed rooms were nice and comfy. We can definitely recommend this cottage

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness.
Liked least: Can't think of any faults.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymond P
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Quality accommodation in a beautiful setting.”
Reviewed May 24, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a great stay at Viewforth, no complaints at all, was met by owner at cottage and was made very welcome, felt very much at ease and Caroline explained the workings of our holiday home. Calling it a cottage does not start to describe it, everything you need and more, Central heating, WiFi, washing machine, dishwasher etc etc etc . Gardens to die for, parking aplenty, great views over loch and even three Shetland ponies grazing at bottom of garden. Ideally situated for town 5 mins walk, surrounding area wonderful for visiting in car or lovely walks. Cannot say again how much we enjoyed our stay, would highly recommend, FIVE stars all the way .

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie E
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Value for Money, lovely clean cottage.”
Reviewed April 14, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Viewforth for 3 nights, we loved it. This is a genuinely dog friendly cottage, huge enclosed garden plus additional field if you need it. Also there is a garage where you can leave your dog(s) if you are going out for a bit. The cottage was clean and spacious and well equipped. Such a handy location: we travelled to Glasgow to see Justin Fletcher AKA Mr Tumble one day at the Hydro, and we went to the Cocoa Bean (chocolate) Factory an hour south the next day. The cottage is mid-way between the two, with a direct train to Glasgow every few hours. Also, we went to the Gretna shopping village as it's not far from the chocolate factory, the Nike store is a must!! I would also give the chocolate factory 5/5, they do chocolate making workshops for the kids, great fun! We will be back to Viewforth in the future, all though we will stay for longer next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The dog friendly facilities.
Liked least: The weather!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cartwrigh...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Total Relaxation”
Reviewed April 8, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We booked a last minute break to Veiwforth for the Easter Weekend and recieved a warm welcome from the owner Caroline. The cottage was delightfull and immacculately clean, a warm cosy base to explore the beautiful countryside on the door step. The well equipped kitchen and spacious accomodation made it a regular home from home. The secure gardens and the attached field were perfect for our 4 dogs and would be brilliant for families with children too. The cottage has plenty of of road parking and a useful garage to dry wet dogs. We feel we have for a real gem in this cottage and will definitely be making a return visit. There were plenty of walks around Sanquhar itself, but loads more with in a short drive all in all we had a fantastic relaxing weekend A+++

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weekcl
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing peaceful”
Reviewed January 31, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Really enjoyed our break at veiwforth. Very clean, everything we needed , brilliant for the dogs, will def recommend

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing