We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little bit of paradise”

Review of Trewrach Cottage

Badgers Visit @ Trewrach Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Badgers Visit @ Trewrach Cottage
Featuring an inglenook fire place an ancient stone bread oven with Stunning Log Burner Games room with pool, table football and table tennis
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Badgers Visit @ Trewrach Cottage
Featuring an inglenook fire place an ancient stone bread oven with Stunning Log Burner
Games room with pool, table football and table tennis
Tawny Owl in the  Orchard
Aber Bach Beach with tide out!
Bedroom 1
Kitchen
Bedroom 2
Sitting room
Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Dinas Cross, Newport, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DawnyPTur...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little bit of paradise”
Reviewed September 28, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a relaxing & invigorating week at Trewrach Cottage. We cannot recommend this place highly enough - stunning location, high spec, spacious, very well maintained, peaceful, great service from the lovely owners & so much wildlife! If you are a fan of badgers, this is the place for you. They feed each night & literally come within inches, even with the door open!! The pictures only give a small indication of what to expect - the reality is far better. Cannot fault anything about our stay, we will be returning next year. Thank you Huw & Feroza xx

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen M
Hereford, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sooo happy!”
Reviewed September 20, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

So, we have just returned from a week at Trewrach Cottage and what an amazing week we had. Its been a tough year, my partner was taken seriously ill with pneumonia back in March and hes on a long road to recovery. So basically i needed to get him away from our own four walls and have a long overdue holiday, to get back to normality.

Criteria was, quiet/away from it all, clean, comfy, warm, dog friendly, wildlife and close to a beach. All boxes were ticked and more. We had an amazing time, the weather was fab. Badgers visited every night which was a joy, our dog settled in very well and loved her easy walk to the beach.

We really couldn't fault it. With underfloor heating it was very cosy. There is a lovely log burner but didnt need to use it with the weather being so nice. The Welsh cakes and milk were appreciated on arrival too.

Ive read many reviews of this place and agree with them all. Please do go and see for yourself, even on a rainy day you have your own games room.

Sadly we are home and missing it already, but already talking about going back :D

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic,well equipped cottage in idyllic setting.”
Reviewed May 21, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had a fantastic weeks holiday in Trewarch Cottage in early May. The cottage had everything we needed and had had been beautifully restored by the friendly owners Huw and Feroza. It is more spacious than the photos suggest, with a good sized dining kitchen and comfortable lounge. Despite a poor mobile signal in the cottage, Wi-Fi was available. If you like wildlife this cottage fits the bill with lots of birds visiting every day, and a resident badger who visits for supper! The location is great, being only a short 10 minute walk to the lovely local Aberbach Beach and the Pembrokeshire Coastal Path. There are lovely walks along the Coastal Path with stunning views. Newport, Fishguard, Goodwick and St. David's are all interesting places to visit and none too far, with the inland hills being a nice (and very quiet!) change from the coast. Friendly local pub - the Freemasons Arms, and lots of good fish and chips - especially The Shed at Porthgain - what more could you want from a holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sam0pc1
Stevenage
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Perfect for "getting away from it all"”
Reviewed May 6, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have just spent a week here and I loved it. You are surrounded by beautiful countryside. I specifically booked this cottage in the hope of seeing the badgers and birdlife (in particular woodpeckers) and it didn't disappoint. Badgers came to feed every evening in full view of the patio, what an honour! Aside from the great wildlife, the cottage itself is wonderful, the owners have worked very hard and it is all too a high standard, the roll top bath is a nice touch of luxury,..a good shower too! As was the lovely comfortable bed. This is one of those places that I only have good things to say, and would highly recommend.....but really I don't want to tell everyone that because I want to keep this little gem all to myself!! We will definitely be back one day....

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simono196...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fab Fab Fab”
Reviewed February 27, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We have just a lovely week here. The weather was hit and miss but it didn't really matter at all. The Cottage was better than expected and the surrounding area is stunning.

We would recommend this cottage to anyone!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPNeill
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“At one with nature!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Our stay at Trewrach Cottage was a wonderful experience... the wildlife and nature were a real treat.
The cottage is well equipped and beautifully restored. The layout has been well thought through and the outside space is a delight.
The area is very picturesque and we loved being able to take our dog on the local beaches. There are several good beaches nearby but the real bonus is the local cove which is a short walk from the cottage and very quiet... perfect for a picnic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Lack of local supermarket
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate E
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautifully cared for cottage set in glorious location”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I can only echo all the other reviewers. This is a truly special place to stay. The cottage was absolutely spotless on arrival and well equipped with everything we needed. Huw and Feroza were extremely helpful and genuinely nice people.

We were extremely lucky to have a week in the heatwave, so had glorious weather all week. We used the gas barbecue almost every night and were able to sit outside eating our dinner and watching the wildlife. Daily visits from the badgers was a real treat!!!

Newport Sands is a lovely sandy beach, not at all busy with very shallow waters, so very safe for the kids to swim in.

Recommend the Golden Lion for fish and chips and The Kitchen Garden Cafe for local seasonal produce, very kid friendly! Would also recommend the butchers and the local fish shop in Newport.

All in all, we had a fabulous and relaxing week in beautiful surroundings. We will definitely be back another time. I can't recommend Trewrach Cottage highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing