We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Anniversary vacation at Koh Samui” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viva Vacation Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Viva Vacation Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Lipa Noi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
1 review
“Anniversary vacation at Koh Samui”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

My wife and I stayed at Viva Vacation resort for seven nights. The villas werespacious with huge bathrooms and nice views - especially the sea facing villas. The sea facing villas adjacent to the pool have the best views of the lot.

The pool is great - its right next to the sea, so from one end of the pool you get a nice view of the beach and from the other end, you get a lovely view of the hills in Samui. The lawn is very well maintained and the restaurant serves decent fare at a reasonable price.

There is hardly anyone ever on the beach, but during this time of the year, the ocean currents tend to wash up stuff onto the beach. The waters are however quite shallow and perfect for folks who are not confident swimmers. I have also heard that the sunset views are lovely, but could not experience any of them personally it was very cloudy all the days we were there.

The only minor issues we faced were that the Wifi signal was intermittent inside the villa and the restaurant had a fixed set of specials and served only wine and beer - so eating in the restaurants got a tad bit boring after a few days. This is not much of a problem, because there are some very nice restaurants in the adjacent resorts.

The resort is on the other end of the island from the airport, so taxis to charge a lot for airport transfers compared to say a resort in Bophut. However, this resort is close to the Nan Thon harbor, which is how you would be getting in to Koh Smaui, if you are coming from the main land by ferry. Nan Thon is also a good place for shopping and eating on the road side, the prices are much cheaper than Bophut or Lamai.

Most of the clubbing, snorkeling centers and water sports are on the opposite end of the island, so if you are a clubbing enthusiast, then this might not be the best place for you.

On the other hand, if you are looking at getting away from the crowds and spending a vacation lazing on the beach in a hammock or by the swimming pool reading a book, look no further than Viva Vacation Resort on the Lipa Noi beach.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZIgmatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    24
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
42
85
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

I stayed at Viva Vacaton whilst attending a guided fast which was being run from more basic facilities further down the beach. Therefore I was spending no money in the restaurant but did require quite a lot of help on logistics. The Manager Kris could not have been more helpful, nothing was too much trouble for me.
The beds were comfortable, rooms spacious, pool serene and the villas were not densely packed onto the available land.
I spend 8 nights there and would return.

Room Tip: Ask for the one that over looks the garden to the left of 107
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linntw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

We visited Viva Vacation for a 7 day stay. We are a family of 2 Adults, 2 Kids(11yrs, 6 yrs). From the start everything went really well - gorgeous well equipped villa, huge bathroom, superb Wi-fi connection. The lawns are really well manicured and maintained and the pool is fab. The beach adjoining the hotel is quiet and clean and safe. Perfect for swimming in the sea and/or going for long walks in the moonlight. We stayed in the First Row Sea View Villa - this felt like we had our own private pool and beach!! Service was prompt and good. The hotel is owned and run by Chris and his family - they do an excellent job, making you feel welcome and trying to see that everything is perfect.
The location is very isolated, so you end up having most meals at the hotel's own restaurant - luckily the food is very good and all meals were delightful.
The only downside (also a plus to start with) is that it's very isolated. So if you want to step out to any nearby town/ habitation, then you need to hire a motorbike/car or rent a taxi. Since we were not too keen on driving ourselves, we rented the local taxi. Now this is very comfy and safe but they do charge exorbitantly.
Another downside was the very poor quality foot massage I got once - it was more pain than pleasure, and though being a complete massage fanatic who gets a foot massage almost everyday whenever in Thailand, I didnot go back for any more treatments :(
But these two points aside, it was overall an excellent relaxing stay which we all will look back and remember with a smile. Many Thanks to Chris, his family and the lovely staff for making sure we had a great trip.

Room Tip: Go for the first row Sea View Villa - makes you feel like you have your own private pool and beach!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AAH21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

Excellent service, large and fully equipped villas, great location and lovely pool and grounds. Worth every penny. On the opposite side of the island as the airport.....A secluded retreat that offers everything resorts in the $250/night range would offer. Very impressed and pleased with my week stay. I even extended for 1 day.

Room Tip: All of the villas (11 of them) are the same i think. You'll be happy with any of them from my e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3frequenttrvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

me and my-bf stayed there for 5 nights.Although we were going to stay there for 4 nights,we really liked that place so extend out stay! the stuu are really nice, and beautiful garden,private beach....me and mybf really liked that place! the hotel is running by family and i think they really taking care of their guests. thank you Chris!!! we really wanna go back again! :) Aiko from Japan

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aikoaikoaiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Good evening to everyone,

i left Koh Samui today but still under impression about this hotel. Usually i stay in 5* hotels or Spas, but this time my yoga program in Tamarind Springs was canceled at last moment. So,i split my week for 2 parts-one in forest spa and for 3 days i chose the Viva Vacation.Mostly because it was voted the best B/B in Samui and i like the photos and reviews.
The reality was unbelievable better!!!
In booking.com its rated as 3* hotel. Don't believe in this -all 4* for the price of 2*!!!!
What made the hotel famous? Not only the very good location,facilities and so on. The service-is the most important!!!
Viva Vacation have a Soul! When you arrived there you feel yourself as a member of this Thai family that owned hotel and take care about your relaxation day and night.You always feel their care. But this care is very very polite and absolutely unobtrusively. And what is most surprised that they are very Professional!! Iam in tourism and hotel business for around 15years. And its difficult to believe that this family run hotel only 3years with such great understanding of hotel management.
Villas are very big with all necessary facilities inside and very beautiful decoration. Perfect view to sea (i was in sea view villa on second road ,but its not spoiled the view at all). Hotel area full of flowers and trees,so there is a feeling that you r in your private garden and can't create anything better than it is.
I was little bit afraid to step on beach after one of previous review.So,i dress sandals and was watching every step. But.....
i don't know where that writer was looking! The beach was clean as a virgin!!!! And not only clean, but was combed :-))))
And every morning whatever time i was waking up,the beach was perfectly clean(even without any steps on it)
Later i was walking along the beach about 2 km to right and 2km left from hotel and did find some sea garbage on my way, but no one broken bottle or anything else! So,all days i was happy not to wear any shoes.
The area is not developed,there are almost no other hotels around.Mostly simple villas for rent and houses for local people.
If someone like to party,he need to drive.But i was looking for absolutely opposite. So,those who prefer relaxation and peace welcome to this Paradise.
The ocean is very warm.Not deep at all.Perfectly for children. But adults must to walk a bit inside.
Following recommendation of previous adviser i had food only in hotel.And i didn't want to move somewhere else.
When i ordered fish i was ready for searching some bones inside,but didn't find even one (although in Michelin restaurants i always was unlucky to find some ). And the taste was fantastic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

All in all -my advise for you to don't go there, i will keep this place only for myself to get the perfect relaxation in family atmosphere!!!! :-))))))))

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lana X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

It was the end of the trip so we decided to escape the busiest part of town (chaweng) we needed a quiet and relaxing place before we flew out of Samui. Viva Vacation is in a secluded part of the island. Offering generous garden space between each villa. An almost private beach. This family own resort serves excellent cuisine and the restraurant must be one of the best kept secrets of the west part of the island. In the bedroom exquisitely folded towels representing cute elephants frolicking a midst a field of orchids welcomed us on arrival. They offered very professional Thai massage on the beach. We will definitely visit again...Viva Vacation

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHNFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lipa Noi
10.4 km away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
5.0 km away
Nikki Beach Resort Koh Samui
5.0 km away
Sea Valley Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
The Lipa Lovely Beach Resort
12.8 km away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#4 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
10.7 km away
Palm Coco Mantra
Palm Coco Mantra
#2 of 42 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Vacation Resort

Property: Viva Vacation Resort
Address: 19/4 Moo 3 Lipa Noi | Koh Samui, Lipa Noi, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Lipa Noi
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lipa Noi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Viva Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viva Vacation Resort is "far enough away" from the airport and city to remain a peaceful paradise, yet close enough to everything to be convenient for off-site exploration.An elegant contemporary Thai resort situated in the middle of coconut gardens and surrounded by lush green trees and ornamental plants. Here you'll find true relaxation for your vacation as there is a private white sandy beach, unpolluted wind, gorgeous sunsets, and spectacular sea views which could be the answer to your vacation needs.Also, we offer the great friendly service with 11 air-conditioned villas, a big swimming pool, a restaurant, and all facilities for your comfort and convenience. It is the perfect place to spend your holiday with family or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Agoda so you can book your Viva Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Vacation Resort Thailand/Ko Samui - Lipa Noi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing