We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location if you have your own transport”
Review of Kanok Buri Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kanok Buri Resort
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Lipa Noi
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great location if you have your own transport”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I have to admit that I am not a big fan of Koh Samui, mainly because I really dislike Chaweng and some of the incredibly tacky tourist activities dotted around the island. However, I think Lipa Noi is a welcome respite, and the Kanok Buri resort itself has some fabulous accomodation, in a peaceful area with little of the rowdiness of other larger places.

We love riding scooters (we have licenses and take our own european helmets) and that really made life easy for us. Lipa Noi is quite secluded. If you are there purely to relax on the beach, its a great place for you. If you love the wind in your hair or helmet, its also a great place to use as a base for rides around the less touristy parts of the island.

We were upgraded to one of the pool villas that was absolutely fabulous. The last few nights were moved to a jacuzzi room in the main building. Those rooms were a lot more tired than the brand new villa we stayed in. Hard to judge them really after you've been so spoilt in the gorgeous villa!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fairouzeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    77
    27
    12
    9
See reviews for
28
115
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We got married there! Great place! Awesome staff!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frenchydressing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
turkey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Very quiet and peaceful Hotel, we had a villa with private pool, near to the beach room 303 very large room with Lcd tv Four Poster Bed large bathroom with shower and Marbel Bathtub. The beach is marvellous very long sandy beach excellent for having a jog in the morning or just a stroll in the evenings, Hotel grounds very well kept, Restaurant for all meals is on the Beach, good menu, but they need to train their staff, very inexperienced waiters very little knowledge of english. (but that said) The receptionist and the rest of the staff at this hotel speak marvellous english and are very attentive to all their guests.Tried the Spa its a must for everyone, will really miss my oıl massages. Yes this Hotel is in a quiet location, but that is why we picked it, very traditional Thai Hotel with the best sunsets on the island.

Room Tip: Rooms nearer the beach are nearer the restaurant and swimming pool. We stayed in villa 303 Beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strettTurkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Our stay at Kanok Buri was amazing. We arrived late at night and we were greeted by a very lovely smiling receptionist who made us feel welcomed immediately. We were told that we had been upgraded from a balcony jacuzzi room to a bungalow suite...and what an amazing room we had! The receptionist showed us around and made sure to remind us that there was a hidden step down into the bathroom (although I still tripped on it and smashed my kobo). We had a cold pool outside our bungalow with lounging chairs, a big comfortable bed and a nice big bathroom with a stand alone shower and seperate bath tub.

The service we recieved was excellent. They were very helpful with any questions we had, booking a ferry, and when we thought our shower drain was clogged they were on it before we even left the front desk. The grounds are clean and beautiful. The beach is very nice, although it rained for most of our stay. Breakfast was a typical Thailand buffet breakfast with some western and Thai food as well as an omlette station. Restaurant is beautiful right on the beach. We had lunch in the restaurant one day which was very good as well.

The only reason I'm ging it a four is because of location. There is very little around this hotel to do. So if you want a quiet relaxing stay, this place is definately for you. Because it is so secluded, the hotel and the ladies across the street charge more for laundry. It is however easy to rent a scooter (around $8 CAD/day) and go see the rest of the island. Our taxi from the airport cost us 1000 baht because it was on the opposite side of the island. It is close the pier at Nathon if you are taking a ferry though.

Overall a very good experience, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We were only given one key and then when we were out 4000 baht was taken out of our room. So the staff knew when we were out

Room Tip: Dont keep money in your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patty1881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Very quiet and peaceful surroundings, do not go here if you want to party or meet new people! The hotel is beautifully laid out in tropical gardens. All staff are super friendly and helpful but not in an "in your face" type of way. Breakfast was fine but not spectacular. Dinner menu at the hotel restaurant was delicious, we tried something new every night and were blown away every time. The stalls on the opposite side of the road also made fantastic food (at a much lower cost). Don't hand in laundry at the hotel, just get in done on the opposite side of the road, cheap and fast! Free wifi with good speed. Free shuttle bus to Nathon and Chaweng. We loved this place, much recommended!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank therese_211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Hotel nicely laid out and location is great if you want to stay somewhere quiet. The beach is lovely and the only one we found in Koh Samui without the pantheon (? I think thats what they're called - the little stingers that feel like itching powder when your in the sea). Room itself was lovely but bathroom was a little shabby and could do with a refresh. Spa and pool really nice. Staff at reception and spa were great. But hotel really let down by restaurant, food was poor and the waiters didn't seem to know what to do in total contrast to practically every other place we went in Thailand! Be aware also that there aren't too many other choices in this area and the hotel know that and take advantage of it by overcharging for things such as food, laundry etc.

Room Tip: Make sure your on the beach side of the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolann_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lipa Noi
0.4 km away
Nikki Beach Resort Koh Samui
0.5 km away
Sea Valley Hotel and Spa
13.9 km away
MANATHAI Koh Samui
MANATHAI Koh Samui
#10 of 50 in Lamai Beach
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 km away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#11 of 62 in Maret
1,589 reviews
7.9 km away
The Passage Samui Villas & Resort
11.7 km away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#6 of 30 in Mae Nam
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanok Buri Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanok Buri Resort

Property: Kanok Buri Resort
Address: 84 Moo2 Lipa Noi Beach, Lipa Noi, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Lipa Noi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Lipa Noi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kanok Buri Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kanok Buri Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kanok Buri Hotel Lipa Noi
Kanok Buri Resort Thailand/Ko Samui - Lipa Noi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing