We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Does excatly what you would want”
other travellers have booked this property
Kitchen come dinning area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen come dinning area
Downstairs plan Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Kitchen come dinning area
Downstairs plan
Lounge
Plenty of space in the lounge
Wet room on ground floor
Bathroom with shower over the bath with plenty of room
3rd bedroom upstairs. Double bed with lots of room
4th bedroom upstairs Double bed plus single bed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Allonby, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MrLOSTY
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Does excatly what you would want”
Reviewed October 12, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

A group of 12 of us stayed here for a weekend in October. The house is perfect, the rooms are larger than the photographs suggest and the kitchen was a good size for so many of us. The bedrooms and bathrooms were all fair and fit for purpose. The only downside is the low door heights, if you are 6ft or over you will need to duck under every door. This is common in buildings of this type and there is not much the owner can do about it but it’s still worth mentioning.

The location is great. Very quiet and tranquil with farmland surrounding the property. It’s a 15min walk along the country road to Allonby or a couple of minutes in a car. There is no pavement so I would not recommend walking on the country road in the dark.

The owner, Brenda was very accommodating and great to deal with.

Would recommend it.

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
789kerryl
Upton upon Severn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Perfect in Every Way”
Reviewed September 3, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Once again, another fantastic holiday location, we had such a wonderful time last August holidays that it was worth the 5 hour drive back up again. This accomodation is homely and perfectly located to be able to walk into Allonby, swim in the sea, run around with the dog and our daughter on the endless sandy beaches and eat great value pub meals in town. Wtihin short driving distances, you are able to visit the beautiful Lakes of the district and many other tourist attractions. We love it so much, we have already booked Crookhurt Farmhouse again. The owner Brenda could not be lovelier, you just want to hug her. Brenda, thank you very much for showing us and our little girl around the milking farm & the adorable gingerbread cake. See you again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That it felt homely, not like a holiday destination
Liked least: That we had to leave
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
younggrah...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant long weekend.”
Reviewed August 25, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stayed in the farmhouse with 6 of my fishing companions for a long weekend,couldn't have asked for better accommodation,everything you require is in this property just bring your food,there is two or three places you can eat out if you wish,great fish and chip shop in Allonby( not to be missed out), i must thank Brenda for everything nothing was a problem if you required anything, i would recommend this property to anyone wishing to stay in this particular area.( fishing wasn't much good) thank god for the fish and chip shop, we would certainly come and stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property and location .
Liked least: The fishing.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sc0tsmanA...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Family get together”
Reviewed June 6, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We rented this house for a family get together and it was a perfect location. The house was well presented and the kitchen had all we needed to cook dinner for over 10 people and all seated at the table. Very comfortable house.

Easy to walk into Allonby or drive into the lakes.

Overall a great long weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
789kerryl
Upton upon Severn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An absolutely perfect place to relax - we fell in love with Crookhurse Farm House”
Reviewed September 3, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I cannot express our sincere gratitude enough to Brenda for ensuring we have a pefect stay. My husband, 10 year old girl, our little chihuahua Presley and I had the most relaxing well needed week away. The house was immaculate, warm and had such a lovely feeling about it, from the moment you walked in. We didn't need all the fabulous bedrooms, but even though we were only three in a large wonderful house, it felt very homely. The local area Allonby is quiet and a perfect get away coastal town. We have already re booked a return trip to Crookhurst & I'm sure this wont be the last. I can see our family having an everlasting relationship with this house, her owner and such a beautiful part of England. Thank you again HIGHLY HIGHLY recommend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It felt warm, friendly & like a home away from home, Brenda the landlord is wonderful
Liked least: That we had to return home
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbradym
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cricket on the beach in the rain”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Our family of 11 (8 adults & 3 children) stayed here for 2 nights as a get together for mum's 70th birthday. From the booking onwards everything was easy. On arrival we were taken over to the farmhouse by the owner Brenda wilson. She showed us around, was very friendly and gave us ideas for what to do whilst there. The house is amazing, the pictures do not do it justice. The bedrooms had plenty of room and the garden a lovely size for the children to play in. Have already recommended it to other family members for the future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S M
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Truly Lovely”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

A truly lovely place to stay. Would highly recommend it and would visit again. Very peaceful, a great escape for a large group of Townies, we had a great weekend, mixture of Adults and Children, the children didn't pick up an electronic gadget all weekend ! Success ... enjoyed some good old fashioned games, a very helpful host, and everything we could have needed, lovely clean and comfortable beds & house.

We usually go to a large forest environment holiday lodges which costs us all a fortune, going here has now made us question WHY? this was our first time doing something different and Adults and Children can't wait for the next adventure.. would truly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing