We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Absolutely Incredible” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alla Posta dei Donini

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alla Posta dei Donini
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Absolutely Incredible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

My Wife have stayed here twice and found it to be one of the most beautiful places imaginable. The site, food, rooms and service were outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    221
    53
    18
    7
See reviews for
111
453
12
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

If you want the wow factor then this is the place for you. A holiday should be special and you should come back home with good memories and want to talk about your wonderful experience and this place does it for you. We stayed at another Inn/restaurant which I had been to before and thought would be nice for two nights but when we arrived here I saw what we were missing and was sorry we only booked in for one night. From the moment you arrive you can take a deep breath and leave everything behind you and just relax into this setting. We had a lovely modern clean room with a four poster bed and a view overlooking the front of the hotel into parkland with the most amazing trees. The bed was so comfortable with fresh clean linen that you just snuggle into it. The bathroom was a lovely big size with a bathtub seperate shower cubicle and a lovely sink set into a marble unit. We had big white fluffy robes and slippers to use. There was everthing in the bathroom that you might need including a good hairdryer. There is an indoor pool which I used set in a nice calming area with lounge chairs that were ergonomically designed to fit your body and help it relax. There is a good selection of spa treatments which I did not have time to take advantage of. We had other arrangements for dinner so did not use the wonderful looking restaurant. Breakfast was served in the conservatory which was so inviting and well laid out. There was everything on offer to think of and it all looked so fresh. I cannot say enough about how wonderful this place is, you always take a risk when you book something on line and show up and think its okay and could have been better but this lived up to our expectations and really gave our trip the wow factor. I would definitely want to come back here again. Our compliments go to the attentive staff who made our stay so special. Thank you

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tellitlikeitis01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

This is the second time my husband and I have stayed at this hotel-it was even better than the last time 2 years ago! The restaurant is excellent, the service fantastic( they go beyond the call of duty to meet your every need) and the spa is an ideal way to relax in the evening after a day of sightseeing. The location makes it a perfect base to discover Umbria. The surrounding gardens give a peaceful respite away from the hustle and bustle of the larger cities. It is a wonderful moment to awake in a beautiful room and have breakfast in their light bright room surrounded by glass so you actually feel like you are outside. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the front of the hotel and the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PTD43, Direttore vendite at Alla Posta dei Donini, responded to this review, 12 October 2011
Dear Linda M,
Your appreciation is very welcome.
We try every day to improve our standards to make your experience unforgettable at Alla Posta dei Donini.
See you ASAP.
Ciao.
Gianpiero Scivetti
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahr, Germany
Level Contributor
275 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

If you don't know this place, you won't find it. And this makes it already special. No mass tourism at all! A hotel with style, beautiful rooms and excellent breakfast. The best of it is the breathtaking garden. Wow! The place to be if you want to discover or make business in Umbria!
Restaurant is very good; service is excellent!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dils2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PTD43, Direttore vendite at Alla Posta dei Donini, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
Dear Dils2003,
Thank you for choosing our hotel to discover Umbria and for the nice review.
I hope that next time, for business or pleasure, you will enjoy all our services.
Best Regards
Gianpiero Scivetti
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

With a variety of places available in the surrounding area the choice of Alla Posta dei Donini was made on my very personal criteria. S.Martino in Campo is not the easiest place to find (even with the most sophisticated of GPS navigation) but Staff were very kind when we phoned for arrival instructions - we were in fact only a few hundred metres away from the main entrance! The welcome was warm and professional. The room in Villa Laura was very nice, overlooking the beautiufl garden and swimming pool. While we were there we took advantage of the Gingko Spa for a relaxing massage and dip in the indoor hydro-massage pool. The gardens were beautiful and the perfume from the hundreds of jasmine plants was intoxicating. Breakfast was good and plentiful. My only very small comment was that there was no in-room tea and coffee making facilities which, for a British tea-drinker, is quite a serious problem.....but I managed to survive the four-day stay without collapsing into a heap through the lack of a good cuppa! All in all a fabulous weekend in an excellent establishment. I would certainly recommend it and would have no hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PTD43, Direttore vendite at Alla Posta dei Donini, responded to this review, 10 July 2011
Dear Lume,
I'm pleased to read your review. We have a great selection of Damman Tea at Bar dei Lecci. I'm sorry you haven't taste it. I hope that next time you can book a Deluxe room ora a Junior Suite where you can find coffe and tea.
Best Regards
Gianpiero Scivetti
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

The hotel offers in general a high level service, very good food, quite and well equipped rooms and is set in a beautiful garden. The general location is on the other hand a bit underwhelming due to its vicinity to a rather boring village and offering no view to the otherwise spectacular Umbrian landscape. Further the eastern package we booked explicitly included the use of a Spa which in the turned out to be a minuscule in-door pool. Standard facilities of a Spa as sauna and steam bath were only accessible after reservation and additional costs.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visitor187791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

My colleague and I were traveling to this part of Italy for work and this hotel was recommended to us to stay. We couldn't ask for anything better since the hotel itself was converted from an old palazzo which I was being told and the outlook was quite impressive. The hotel staff were as helpful as they could be being we are in a sort of the remote part of Italy with directions and ordering car services for us to go to the main square for sightseeing. The hotel itself is well maintained and the room is quite charming and loves the little detail wherever I looked. We walked around the grounds a little bit and there were several ancient ruins which we thought added more value for our stay. We had our meals in the restaurants whenever we could since going outside for meals is a hike and it was more convenient for us to just stay in but the food is excellent so we had nothing to worry about. The amenitie were outdated but usable and don't expect modern conveniences since this is not what this hotel is about. You just have to relax and enjoyed the views.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arielarafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Martino in Campo
7.8 km away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 66 in Perugia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
9.7 km away
Relais Dell'Olmo
Relais Dell'Olmo
#3 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
7.9 km away
Sina Brufani
Sina Brufani
#6 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 km away
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
#1 of 1 in Boschetto Vecchio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
13.7 km away
Relais San Clemente
Relais San Clemente
#1 of 1 in Bosco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
5.6 km away
Borgobrufa SPA Resort
Borgobrufa SPA Resort
#1 of 3 in Torgiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alla Posta dei Donini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alla Posta dei Donini

Property: Alla Posta dei Donini
Address: Via Deruta 43, 06132 San Martino in Campo, Perugia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia > San Martino in Campo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Martino in Campo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alla Posta dei Donini 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Agoda so you can book your Alla Posta dei Donini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing