We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$97
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kirsebaerkroen(Praestoe)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep & Coffee(Praestoe)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Jungshoved Kro(Praestoe)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Praestogaard(Praestoe)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
93
42
6
7
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
42
6
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreadone nightlittle bitmichelin starnice viewlast weekendhigh levelwine menujuicecoursescopenhagenstylecheesetownfeelingseawinter
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 148 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2018 via mobile

Frederiksminde is a “memorable” hotel. It was renovated a few years ago but everything inside is kept in the original style so when you step inside you at the same time take a bit step back in time. The hotel functions at a very high level so this is in no way a local inn but more of a quaint hidden gem that at the same time houses a gastronomic restaurant with one Michelin star serving some of the more sophisticated and tasty Nordic Cusine that we have had. The wine menu is however terrible and the wine service not very good either.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank RoteFuchs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 1, 2017 via mobile

Very much enjoyed the quaint hotel - inn. Will remind most people of a classic Bed and Breakfast. Includes homemade breakfast in the morning. Walk to the water or into town. Dinner requires advanced reservations.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank johnnyfrank66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 29, 2017 via mobile

This is a very unique hotel. The design is fantastic. Little bit strange feeling to be here. Depressing.. But totally clean, thez even cleaned the whole room after the 1st night. Have hairdryer, shampoo and other stuffs. Bed is comfortable. It is warm (winter time) even have an additional electric heater in case it is needed. Breakfast is good it is served on the table (coffee, juice, sweets, fruits, joghurt, jam, breads..)
No minibar or water heater in the room. Have very nice view to the see. Everybody is kind. I would say worst to see but not the best comfort feeling to be here.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Veronika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here last weekend.The 6 course taster menu was outstanding in every respect, highly recommend it.The service was also fantastic , the staff were not stuffy in the least but carried out their duties impeccably.The breakfast was also great , it wasn't too much or too little , just perfect with stunning home baked goods.

The surrounding area was also wonderful and quiet , with the sea just a few steps away.

I really didn't want to be negative, because the experience was fantastic, but personally the hotel itself is too dated , chintzy and living in an era that screams revamp.The bathroom was dated (tho excellent water pressure) very few bathroom amenities and quite tight with them ... this hotel is not cheap ! The smells as well in the corridors were really not nice , one minute it smelt of cheese the next it smelt of old curtains and very stale.

But the food and the service is something to savor here , just maybe not stay overnight.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Delsey76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 26, 2017

We spent a few days at hotel Frederiksminde. We like to stay in smaller hotels with a lot of atmosphere whenever possible, and Hotel Frederiksminde is certainly old, and decorated in a beautiful style. The staff was friendly, and all in all we had a very pleasant stay.

There are a few drawbacks, however. The room we stayed in was very small, with an even smaller bathroom. The bathroom felt a bit dated. The bed was comfortable, but it creaked. A lot. And so did the floor. There was no airconditioning, and since it was a very warm summer day when we arrived the room was hot too.

That being said, most of the stay was very enjoyable! Breakfast was served at the table and it was delicious. I must say that I prefer this to the usual buffet-style of breakfast. It was also very nice to sit there and enjoy the sight of the beautiful surroundings.

One of the nights we had booked a table for a 9 course tasting meal, and that was a very good decision. The food was absolutely scrumptious and it was a wonderful food experience! The wine menue was very good too. I was a bit worried about having 9 glasses of wine (10 if you include the glass of champagne what was the starter...), but since we spent 5,5 hours eating it really didn't feel too much.

The food would be the reason to go back, I've never had anything better. The hotel was nice and Praestoe is a charming little town but it is the wonderful dinner that I will remember most. It was fairly expensive but very much worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ibhLund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews