We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a treat!”
other travellers have booked this property
Unsurpassed views of the coastal forest and Indian Ocean  stretch from south to north
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Unsurpassed views of the coastal forest and Indian Ocean  stretch from south to north
The entire length of the house has folding glass doors onto a vast deck where guests entertain The deck is two floors above the forest.  Bedrooms are above and below - also with decks and seaview
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Unsurpassed views of the coastal forest and Indian Ocean  stretch from south to north
The entire length of the house has folding glass doors onto a vast deck where guests entertain
The deck is two floors above the forest.  Bedrooms are above and below - also with decks and seaview
'Iti Bay'  So called as a group of Italian prisoner's of war were shipwrecked and washed up here
Aerial view of Lagoon and main beach taken about 1970
A view south towards Ballito and Durban from the main deck
This photo is taken from the uppermost deck off the main bedrooms
A shady garden and wooden door in the wall mark the entrance to no 21Magai drive Zinkwazi
Once through the front door on the street you reach the house on a wooden parapet above the trees
A breath taking view of the glass house as you enter the property and walk above the forest to enter
Stack doors open on both sides of the living area giving access to the sheltered forest & ocean
Stairs separate the open plan of the living area.  View is from lounge to dining room and kitchen
A view to the back of the property off the lounge.  A sheltered aspect spot to relax
A golden glow of evening after a hectic day in the sun
From the lounge towards the front deck and view of ocean
Glass doors open onto the shady and sheltered garden.  A spot to recover when the sun is too hot
Caretaker Axon from Malawi will take care of all your needs as he lives on the property
Our well- equipped kitchen has a scullery to the rear and is open to the dining room
The dining room glass doors fold back giving access to both front and back decks for entertaining
Dining out on the deck where most visitors spend their time
The ample front deck has loungers and table with chairs.  Guests spend most of their day here
Axon sets the table on the front deck overlooking the sea
Top floor lounge is flanked by two double bedrooms with own bathrooms and decks with sea views
Bedroom no1 on top floor has own bathroom en-suite comprises both bath and shower, basin and toilet
Bathroom no 1comprises tub, shower and loo and has view of forest.
Bedroom no 2 also has a front deck overlooking the sea with an en-suite bathroom over the forest
Caretaker Axon on the staircase.  Stairs with hand rails lead up to bedrooms and down to bedrooms.
Two bedrooms flank this playroom which gives access to stairs leading to the beach.
Bedroom 3 has a balcony over the sea and a bathroom of its own. Security is excellent due to height
Bathroom 3 has a shower, toilet and basin
Bedroom 4 has a deck with seaview, bathroom and is on the north side of the house
View from bathroom shows bedroom 4 and deck over the ocean
Another bathroom with shower and toilet
One of the two downstairs bathrooms with shower, basin and toilet
Walkway from the property onto the beach is well maintained.  Security is excellent here
This is the walk from the lower playroom stairs through the front forest to the beach
Typical coastal plants hold the dune face
Beneath the house is the service area with clothes line
Walkway from the west side of the house to the  door on the street.  We have excellent security!
Forest plants below the house
Fascinating shells, sea urchins, star fish, octopus, and cowrie waiting to be discovered.
Late afternoon on the lagoon is a good time to canoe up the river.
Rock pools are home to a variety of shell fish.  Permits are necessary to harvest these
The lagoon backs the main swimming beach which is protected  by shark nets.  Life guards are on duty
The Zinkwazi river is closed most of the year.  With good rain it opens close to the main beach
All along our long coastline there are black outcrops of rock which afford sheltered bathing
This pool is about a meter deep and children snorkel in safety here at low tide
The river is navigable for 7km upstream but small water craft have fun close to the swimming beach
Fishing off rocks at the main beach
The lagoon is save for swimmimg.  Motorized water craft stick to the higher areas further upstream
Braving the surf at the main beach
A stretch of river on the inland side of the main beach.  The surf is just out of the photo on right
Cuppacino awaits your return from the beach
The view from the house straight out to see through the milk wood forest
The bay at the main swimming beach
Fold back glass doors front and back of the open plan living area give a feeling of space
This is the canopy walk to the beach.  Then a few paces through forest floor onto the sand
Aerial view looking up the Zinkwazi River from the main swimming beach
Proud has his Pizza hut at the main beach parking
Inside the Pizza hut on the beach
Proud's pizza is made to order and delivered to you on the beach.
Order and have delivered to your cottage or spot on the beach
The Ski Boat Club or Mahogany Reef is our local watering hole with budget meals and drinks in season
Seating on the deck is limited so get here early on a Friday night for their special evenings !
A walkway will lead you from the main beach parking to Mahogany Reef on the sand.
Fishing from the shore is also very popular, especially at night
Fishermen launch at the main beach.  Frikkie on his tractor sees them in and out
From the car park, wooden stairs lead to the beach and to Mahogany Reef or the Ski boat club
Sunset from Panorama drive
View from Panorama drive towards the East in the evening
Coffee on the deck at the Cafe on Cnr of Glen/Nkwazi where one can purchase essentials you forgot
Packed shelves inside the Cafe -  kid's joy and Shirley's nightmare as the pennies are counted !
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Zinkwazi Beach, KwaZulu-Natal

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
abbey672
Midrand, South Africa
1 review
“What a treat!”
Reviewed May 22, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We absolutely loved this accommodation! From the first interaction with Wendy, the owner, until we left, we experienced excellent attention and service. The accommodation is beautiful and we will definitely be back

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2018
Abbey and her group were a pleasure to host. They arrived with a happy positive attitude and throughout their stay they were neat, considerate and courteous. We could not have wished for better visitors and would be delighted to have them come again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimblesco...
Durban, South Africa
1 review
“Paradise”
Reviewed April 3, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

My family and I recently stayed at this magnificent house for 4 days and could have stayed forever. It is luxurious, spacious, and the views from every part of the house are breathtaking. Axon the gentleman that works in the house is so polite and just goes about his work quietly and so efficiently. We cannot wait to go back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2018
Thank you Kim for your lovely review. You were a pleasure and loved the Beach house from the time you arrived and so appreciated everything about the property. Thank you for your kind words and for treating the Caretaker Axon with such respect
We look forward to your return
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey M
Ladysmith, South Africa
1 review
“Stunning beach house”
Reviewed January 2, 2017 for a stay in October 2016

Very well-equipped beach house on the beach - perfect design for our family with teen kids. Loved the separate spaces & games room - just wish there was a pool for the windy days ... Wendy was a pleasure to deal with.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2017
Thank you for the review Tracey. I am pleased you had a good family holiday. It was a pleasure to host you and yes, maybe a pool just off the deck would be a great idea but difficult to construct !!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“4 nights here”
Reviewed November 28, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
6
people found this review helpful

I would first like to start off by saying the the view of the ocean from the house is breathtaking. Although we never got to see the dolphins it was amazing to wake up and have a cup of coffee looking off the deck. There were a few reasons for the 3 star review. First off, make sure to read every part of the extra website Wendy sends to you. My boyfriend and I took his parents to this house for 4 days on a mini vacation. We had a dinner on the first night and invited a few other family members that ended up going a bit longer than planned so for safety reasons we had them stay the night. The next day we were greeted by Wendy, the property manager. She walked right into the house and demanded to speak to me about the other guest we had stay the night. She made my boyfriend and his mom very upset by the way she was speaking to them. She assumed we were trying to cut corners as apparently they charge by the person.. which we had absolutely no idea. We have rented several houses and never had a property manager come to the house accusing us of doing something we didn't know was wrong. She then emailed me several times about it. She also came back a different day and walked right in as we were having breakfast. Although she waved the fee for the misunderstanding, she was very intrusive. Secondly, Axon was fine once we told him exactly what we needed him to do and when to do it. Make sure to watch out for the monkeys as they come by every day. We weren't aware of them and one made it inside upstairs and we had to chase it out. Also, be sure to take left over containers or you'll be forced to use the baking dishes which fill up the refrigerator real quick. The wind was crazy most days.. the last night we were there we lost power for hours because of the wind and were only given three lights. Also, one major concern was the deck. My boyfriends moms foot went through the back deck. Lots of rotting wood. I have made Wendy aware of this problem so hopefully it gets fixed. Lastly, we had to bring our own beach towels, which it says if you are from out of the country they would be provided which they were not. While packing up to leave one of the house towels got packed with our beach ones, very easy to do, and I am not joking when not 30 minutes after we left I had received 4 calls a voice mail and 2 emails about this missing towel. We hadn't even gotten home yet. Wendy really wanted to make sure she got her towel back so we will be mailing it to her via pick and pay for 99R, which I'm sure cost more than the towel it's self.

Over all, pretty view. The beds were horrible, unless you like your bed extra firm. Wendy, the property manager, although waving the fee was very much over the line and upset my guests. She will come and check to make sure you aren't doing something wrong, rather you meant to or not. Will probably never stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2017
Tripadvisor
In response to Jodan Kirby’s complaints below
4 nights here
Left on Nov 28, 2016 for a stay in Nov 2016

I would first like to start off by saying the the view of the ocean from the house is breathtaking. Although we never got to see the dolphins it was amazing to wake up and have a cup of coffee looking off the deck. There were a few reasons for the 3 star review.

1 First off, make sure to read every part of the extra website Wendy sends to you. My boyfriend and I took his parents to this house for 4 days on a mini vacation. We had a dinner on the first night and invited a few other family members that ended up going a bit longer than planned so for safety reasons we had them stay the night. The next day we were greeted by Wendy, the property manager. She walked right into the house and demanded to speak to me about the other guest we had stay the night. She made my boyfriend and his mom very upset by the way she was speaking to them. She assumed we were trying to cut corners as apparently they charge by the person.. which we had absolutely no idea. We have rented several houses and never had a property manager come to the house accusing us of doing something we didn't know was wrong. She then emailed me several times about it.

Response:- The rate charged through Tripadvisor is based on a Basic price for 2 persons, plus an additional fee p person p night, The guest booked for 4. 8 spent the first night, and 6 the following 2 nights. When Jordan explained that she was unaware of this I waived the fee
I emailed her once only to clarify this


2 She also came back a different day and walked right in as we were having breakfast. Although she waved the fee for the misunderstanding, she was very intrusive.
Secondly, Axon was fine once we told him exactly what we needed him to do and when to do it.

Response:- It’s difficult at a beach resort to find guests in during the day. I did email to ask when would be a good time to call and had no response so called at approximately 8am to drop off cleaning agents with Axon and greeted the guests at the same time as Axon was in the kitchen. Axon does not need instructions. He services the house daily

3 Make sure to watch out for the monkeys as they come by every day. We weren't aware of them and one made it inside upstairs and we had to chase it out.

Response:- We have no control over monkeys moving through the property. Axon’s presence normally keeps them away

4 Also, be sure to take left over containers or you'll be forced to use the baking dishes which fill up the refrigerator real quick.
Response:- Good idea ! I certainly will get these

5 The wind was crazy most days.. the last night we were there we lost power for hours because of the wind and were only given three lights.

Response:- The wind strong wind caused an electrical outage throughout the village for approximately 3.5 hours. We have 4 lanterns and plenty of candles. Good idea to get another two lanterns

6 Also, one major concern was the deck. My boyfriends moms foot went through the back deck. Lots of rotting wood. I have made Wendy aware of this problem so hopefully it gets fixed.

Response:- The extensive decks back and front of the house are inspected regularly. We had the one plank replaced immediately

7 Lastly, we had to bring our own beach towels, which it says if you are from out of the country they would be provided which they were not. While packing up to leave one of the house towels got packed with our beach ones, very easy to do, and I am not joking when not 30 minutes after we left I had received 4 calls a voice mail and 2 emails about this missing towel. We hadn't even gotten home yet. Wendy really wanted to make sure she got her towel back so we will be mailing it to her via pick and pay for 99R, which I'm sure cost more than the towel it's self.

Response:- I had hoped to find the guest still in the area. Guess frequently leave items and are phoned immediately. The towel is one of a matching pair

8 The beds were horrible, unless you like your bed extra firm.

Response:- We have been complimented on the comfortable beds by numerous guests.

9 Wendy, the property manager, although waving the fee was very much over the line and upset my guests. She will come and check to make sure you aren't doing something wrong, rather you meant to or not.
Will probably never stay here again.

Response:- Guests normally expect the property manager to call. Suffice to say that inclement weather coupled with a power outage makes for unhappy guests.


This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlseW130
1 review
“Fantastic and authentic beach house experience”
Reviewed June 23, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Wow!
What a wonderful experience all around.
From the quick response time from Wendy to the helpfulness of Axon the caretaker. Not to mention the house itself: wonderfully designed and maintained with privacy even in a large family group. There's a real holiday feeling with the ocean on your doorstep and dolphin viewing from the deck!
I would highly recommend this beach house for the perfect beach breakaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The design of the place, the affordability
Liked least: The dryer needs looking at.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2016
Thank you Ilse for a great review. I look forward to your return in the near future. We are getting very booked up so do secure a slot by contacting me in good time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nix7513
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular Views”
Reviewed May 27, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This home is an architectural marvel! Absolutely beautiful uninterrupted, untouched sea views. You get a sense that this peace of paradise is yours alone for your stay. We were greeted at the home by Axon who was super helpful. Wendy - thank you for all your assistance, always just a phone call away. We had such a wonderful stay. We traveled with friends - our family of 4 and their family of 4. The children had hours of fun on the pristine beach. All 4 rooms are beautiful and I have to mention the mattresses - they were amazing.
We will definitely be back to sit on the deck and drink cocktails with the crashing waves and panoramic sea view.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The House
Liked least: Plstic wine glasses
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2016
Thank you Nix. We look forward to your return. Weather is prefect this time of year and the sea like glass.
Till next time
Regards
Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice M
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful house, restful holiday, dramatic views”
Reviewed February 24, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

lovely holiday house
amazing views
clean and well kept
beaches are great
beds are comfy
lots of spaces to rest and wave watch - saw dolphins every day
the design of the house allows you to open the whole living area up so the inside almost feels outside

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2016
Thank you Alice. I'm so pleased you had a wonderful holiday. What a pleasure to have you
Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing