We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful week”
other travellers have booked this property
L'Orangerie
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
L'Orangerie
view looking down garden from mid way down Living room (80+sq metres & ample seating and space)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
L'Orangerie
view looking down garden from mid way down
Living room (80+sq metres & ample seating and space)
Living room - fireplace view - cosy in winter around log burner
kitchen between dining room and main sitting room
Dining Room next to kitchen - partial picture only - seats 18
Second sitting room - has bookcase, games, & 2nd DVD player
Upstairs triple single bedroom (about 50% of very cute room)
upstairs end en suite bedroom from window
upstairs end en suite bedroom towards window
Upstairs example of beamed double bedroom (about 50% of room wardrobes etc. in other 50%)
Example of spacious upstairs en-suite shower rooms
Downstairs Double En suite Bedroom - Walnut Art Deco furniture
Complimentary bikes for use by guests
Plenty of room to relax and enjoy the gardens
Inside our 300 year old 'Wendy House'
Andrew at the helm with large BBQ steaks
Colourful blooms in the gardens - all year round
Kayaking in river Orne nearby at Pont d'Ouilly
Up close to the 'Mulberry Harbour' at sandy Arromanches beach
Garden view - 'gin & tonic' snicket
Another quiet corner - nice and private
Sunset view looking down the valley from the house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
La Foret-Auvray, Orne, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
richardBa...
basingstoke
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful week”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This holiday exceeded our expectations and fulfilled all trip advisor recommendations and more. We were a family group of 8 adults and 8 children aged 12 years to 4 months. The accommodation is huge both inside the house and in the garden with lots of things to occupy children. Everywhere was well resourced especially the kitchen. The hosts, Jeanette and Andrew were attentive without being intrusive and made us so welcome that we would not hesitate to book again. A wonderful week with happy memories for us all.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2014
What a lovely review from this guest and her family. It was a great pleasure to welcome them to L'Orangerie, and it was good to know how relaxed the parents could be, secure in the knowledge that the garden is totally private and enclosed, so the children were safe.
Andrew ran one of his famous complimentary treasure hunts, and the children absolutely loved it - where do they get all that energy? A trip to the castle at nearby Falaise (birthplace of William The Conquerer), had the children equipped with rubber swords and foam maces, so they had many a re-enactment of the battle of hastings in the garden.
We are happy to read and hear that the holiday was such a success, this lovely family are considering returning - we would be delighted to see them here again.
We thank them for taking the time to post this kind review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillippa...
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hosts, fantastic holiday”
Reviewed August 14, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stay here for a week in July with a group of 15 from ages 6 months to over 60. The give is fabulous large enough for us all to feel at homie and not on top of each other. Andrew and Jeanette are a wealth of knowledge and we used this to our advantage going out for meals and trips to local areas!!! Andrew even arranged a treasure hunt for the children who loved it!!! On the last night they even cooked a meal, which was a great end to a fabulous holiday. All in all it was a great week in France. I would definitely return.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2014
The nice thing about reading this review, is that it shows how flexible the accommodation is at L'Orangerie. Robust enough for very young children, spacious enough for teenagers to play badminton or boule, and relaxing enough for parents to just sit back and enjoy the views, maybe with a glass or two of local Calvados! Equally, it is good for walking groups, or just friends getting together.
We thoroughly enjoyed meeting this lovely family, and it is great for us to know that all the generations were able to get together and enjoy their precious time together. We very much hope to see them again one day in the future, and thank them for taking the time to share their experience with our potential future guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rettendon
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed June 25, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful holiday with friends and family.. The house was huge, with en suites to all the bedrooms. The grounds were lovely, with lots of space for the children to run around, whilst we relaxed. The owners were very helpful and we arranged for them to cook a meal for us when we arrived, which was really good.. Will certainly rent it again.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2014
It was a great pleasure to have these lovely people staying at L'Orangerie, and celebrating a special birthday. The children requested one of Andrew's treasure hunts (with a Harry Potter theme), and we were able to recommend excellent local restaurants and things to do during their stay. A visit to the castle in Falaise with its wonderful interactive individual Ipad presentations was thoroughly enjoyed, as was the day they spent at the landing beaches - starting with a trip to Pegasus Bridge and a coffee in Cafe Gondret, followed by lunch at Sword Beach (Ouistream) and a drive down the coast to see the Mulberry floating harbour at Arromanches les Bains.

We will be very happy to welcome them all back to L'Orangerie - hopefully in the very near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury
Reviewed June 3, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The whole experience!
Liked least: There was nothing - it was perfect.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Jun 2014
It is a great pleasure to receive such a glowing review from a discerning and well travelled family. To hear and read that L'Orangerie was (in their view), the best place they had rented over many years, is a delight. We were able to tell them about local places of interest to visit, and as some of their party had brought their archery equipment, we were even able to lend them a proper target, and Andrew (also an archer) was invited to join them in our football field, to shoot a few arrows once the children had safely gone to bed.

A complimentary treasure hunt at the end of their stay, left the children with good memories, and we appreciated the lovely thank you cards they drew for us.

We hope to see them all again in the future, and based on what they have told us, we are confident that they will return to see more of the Suisse Normande and spend more time at L'Orangerie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 4, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 1, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The meals provided were amazing
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
England, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 2, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size and cleanliness of the gite and grounds
Liked least: The size of the wine glasses!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing