We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“perfect!!”

Review of Batchcott Hall

Garden view of Hall
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden view of Hall
Twin Room Lawned Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Garden view of Hall
Twin Room
Lawned Garden
Summer at Batchcote
Master En Suite
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Terrace
Kitchen
Childrens Tennis
Childrens Room
Tree House
4th Double
Kite flying Long Mynd
Lounge
Dining Room
En Suite 3rd Double
Garden Views
Spring Views
Panoramic Views
Spring at Batchcott
Entrance with parking
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Picklescott, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Emma T
1 review
“perfect!!”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We recently stayed at batchcott hall attending a wedding party and have to say our weekend was perfect! The place itself is absolutely beautiful, and immaculately kept, the gardens and tennis courts were a fantastic suprise and the treehouse/trampoline were amazing for the children! We hardly saw them all weekend! Have to add, the host Eileen was amazing! Anything we wished for she provided

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2015
Thank you for your kind words. So pleased you enjoyed the weekend, and that. you enjoyed a lovely family wedding celebration. We hope to see you all again sometime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarHturne...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful wedding celebrations”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had the most amazing time here, can't think of a better place for our wedding celebrations, the garden was perfect for a garden party, beautiful views and an amazing place for the children, so much to do, tennis, trampoline, lovely walks etc, our weekend was exactly what we wanted it to be! And we couldn't have done it without Eileen! She was such a good host, so many contacts for tables, balloons etc, all of our guests commented on what an amazing place it was and want to return soon! I can't wait to go back! Thanks!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2015
Thank you, it was a pleasure to be part of your special day, and such fun planning and working with your family, Batchcott wishes you both every happiness for your future together and you will always be welcome to return in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ange K
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An Amazing House and a Brilliant Holiday”
Reviewed 3 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed at Batchcott for a long weekend in February half-term. We were a group of 12 with 6 adults and 6 kids aged from 10-17.

The house is just amazing. We were met on arrival and given a tour of the house and we couldn't believe how enormous it was. The living room, dining room and kitchen are huge and really comfortable. The photos really don't do the rooms justice. We easily sat 12 around the dining table so were all able to eat together. There was a log burner and a real fire, perfect for toasting marshmallows.

The kitchen was stocked with all the essentials - we had taken everything, not expecting this, so was a real surprise. The welcome treats from Eileen, the house manager, were really thoughtful and a lovely surprise too. The aga made the kitchen really cosy, but we used the extra cooker just as much. We took it turns to cook on each of our 3 nights and this worked brilliantly. The kitchen is so well equipped with good quality cookware.

Upstairs is enormous too. Every bedroom was spotless and spacious and the beds were so comfortable. The bathrooms were beautiful and fully stocked with soaps, shower gels and fluffy towels.

Outside was great too. The garden was massive and there was a lovely big terrace with garden furniture. It was too wet for us to sit out, but this didn't stop anyone playing in the tennis court and garden. The tree house was brilliant and we all loved the trampoline too. In the warmer weather, with the doors opening from the kitchen and dining room onto the terrace, we know it would be just perfect.

This was the biggest, most comfortable, warm and welcoming house we have ever stayed in and would very highly recommend to everyone thinking of a group holiday. Eileen was so helpful before we arrived and was there if anything had occurred during our stay, though nothing did at all. Thanks for making us so welcome. We would love to return one day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2015
Thank you very much for your very kind review. We thoroughly enjoyed your group staying and you would be very welcome if ever you want a return visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma S
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful house in lovely location with very personal service”
Reviewed 23 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed here for an annual get together for 3 families and had a fabulous time. The house is beautiful and very spacious, lovely and warm with great facilities and surrounded by beautiful countryside. Eileen the house manager was so welcoming and flexible in meeting our needs - nothing was too much trouble. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay - we hope to return next year!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2015
Thank you very much for your kind words, Batchcott lends itself to these lovely family groups, and we will look forward to catching up again next year.
Eileen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley D
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A memorable family birthday celebration in an outstanding house set in an idyllic part of the UK.”
Reviewed 4 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

The house is a little off the beaten track (approx. four miles of single track road) but persevere as it is well worth it! Eileen is an exceptional House Manager providing thoughtful welcoming gifts, who was on hand if needed but not imposing. She even put away our online shopping order, which arrived before we did!
The 18th century house is very homely with open fires, creaking stairs and uneven floor boards but the many ensuite bathrooms are modern and spacious.
The weather for our weekend was very kind which meant we could take advantage of the tennis courts, tree house and trampoline - the children loved it! I would love to make a return visit in the summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pretending to be 'Lady of the Manor' in an imposing home
Liked least: A little difficult to find on first visit.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2014
Thank you for your kind words, and for your booking, it was a pleasure having you and your family to stay and you are always welcome to return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nickbev
Salzburg
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A wonderful country retreat”
Reviewed 8 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

8 September, Just arrived home after staying at the wonderful Batchcott Hall for 3 days with friends. We couldn't have picked a better place to get together, the Hall is amazing, welcoming, spacious, relaxing, homely, private - just perfect. Eileen makes sure that every need is catered for and nothing is too much trouble. All the rooms are lovely, as are the bedrooms, it's a brilliant place to chill out and relax. The views from the garden are stunning. Local pub is a 10 minute pleasant walk into Picklescott, a nice village with friendly locals. For anyone contemplating booking this wonderful place, just do it, you won't regret it! I'm sure I will do my best to return there in the not so distant future. Thank you Eileen!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2014
Thank you for your kindness too and so pleased you enjoyed the local area which boasts some of the best countryside.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann W
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing!!!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

There aren't enough superlatives for Batchcott Hall. It has intriguing history, stunning views, luxurious comfort, SO MUCH space, and the most considerate manager in Eileen. She was attentive to our needs, providing a generous and surprising welcome hamper, but was never intrusive. Her help and advice before we arrived ensured we were well catered for. The house was particularly suitable for our party of 11 adults ranging in age from 17-- 75, offering flat screen for the World Cup, and ensuites for everyone (although one couple chose the downstairs room which meant they had to climb to the top of the house, but they could have slept up there). As well as the tennis court, there is table tennis and the Bottle and Glass, in easy walking distance, serves excellent beer. (A word of caution, it is a popular pub but small, so needs to be booked in advance). There are good walks around the hall as well as further afield and we all loved the quiet remoteness of the place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness and the interesting architecture
Liked least: The time it took to walk round the kitchen and from one part of the house to another!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2014
So pleased you enjoyed your visit to Batchcott and thank you for your kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;