We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely for lunch!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whitsand Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Whitsand Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portwrinkle
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely for lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Enjoyed a beautifully cooked and presented Saturday lunch here, with family for my mother in laws 88th birthday treat. Beautiful setting, stunning scenery, gorgeous sunny day. Exceptional value with their £10 for two courses or £12.50 for three. No grumbles at all and can highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clairewithredhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    174
    46
    37
    23
See reviews for
131
233
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

We found Whitsand Bay whilst on holiday in Cornwall last year and thought that the beaches were fantastic (reminiscent of those in France), a truly beautiful part of Britain that it largely unspoiled and is worth shouting out about. However the same can’t be said for the Whitsand Bay Hotel, which is the polar opposite. The hotel is shabby and the staff have a supercilious attitude towards the customers and are down right rude. Having booked a room for the night we proceeded to having morning tea and then lunch, as we weren’t allowed to check into the room until 2pm in the afternoon. We found the staff discourteous, especially the one of the bar staff, who seemed to go out of her way to be rude to first my wife and then myself. I would agree with the other comments about the bar and the lavatories, which were more in keep with a working mans club than that of a hotel (the Premier Inn looks like the Savoy by comparison). It’s worth pointing out that we had a 1 ½ year old child to entertain and that we couldn’t use the full hotel facilities until we had formerly checked in. Despite this we soldiered on, as the weather and view were amazing and we had an afternoon on the beach planned. Then when we actually came to check in we were informed that we couldn’t impart due to the lack of a cot for our child and because ‘the room was too small’. So having taken our money and wasted our time (when we could have been looking for alternative accommodation) they where happy to send us prematurely on our way! This meant that the remainder of one of the hottest days last summer was spent in the car phoning for somewhere else to stay, with a very tired and angry child and upset wife. Still the Palace Hotel in Torquay made up for this and I would happily recommend it, especially the staff who actual took their jobs seriously. This year we will be returning to Whitsand Bay, but will be giving the Whitsand Bay Hotel a wide berth!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at Whitsand Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
We clearly recall your visit and feel it is necessary to add some balance. You called into the hotel to speculatively ask if we had accommodation. As it was August, we were very full with only a few rooms becoming available later that day. You made no reference to the fact that you had a baby child with you. As soon as we realised this, we politely explained to you that all baby children under 2 years needed a travel cot to sleep in. Only children over 2 years old could sleep in a bed. This is hotel policy. We also explained that we did not provide travel cots. You said that that was fine, that you were going to have a drink and take a look around whilst we prepared a room. When you came back to reception, unfortunately your room was not ready to check-in. We had had a very big checkout and housekeeping was working full out. Our normal check-in time is 2pm, however if rooms are ready earlier, we would never make any guest unnecessarily wait until 2pm. When you returned to check-in, we asked if you had a travel cot. You said that you didn’t but your baby child would sleep with you both. When we re-stated that you would require a travel cot, you left. When you asked about using the hotel facilities, prior to asking about rooms, you were told that they were for hotel residents. We didn't waste your time nor did we take money for a room reservation. You simply purchased refreshments and food that you wanted whilst you waited for a room to become available. We do understand that this was an unfortunate situation; however we also recognise that it was your own actions that contributed to the inconvenient outcome. Please be assured of our very best intentions at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed here on the groupon deal, paying £10 extra for a sea view room - and that was well worth it - fantastic to wake up to that, even (or perhaps especially!) on a February morning. Absolutely no complaints at all about this gem of a place - we were pleased with our room, the food and the service - and if any of these had been less than ideal (which they weren't!) the wonderful staff would have more than made up for it - they were fantastic - always friendly and helpful - there when you needed them, discreet when you didn't - what more could you ask for? Being new to groupon and failing to realise I needed to take the coupon with me, it could have been awkward on arrival at the busy reception - but not a bit of it - it was just smoothed over and suggested that, sometime during my stay, if I popped into the office, I could use their computer to access my email and print it out - problem solved! We'd have no hesitation in going back or recommending it to anyone who will listen! Thank you to everyone involved.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hunterofhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

I recently stayed at the hotel with a large group of friends. This was my third visit to the hotel, but the hotel with its stunning location and views still wow me! As with my previous visits the staff and owners alike were most friendly and accomodating. The food, both in the relaxing bar and restaurant, was superb. I particularly enjoyed the local fish and the breakfast menu which definetly is a great start to the day. We used all the excellent hotels amenities; gym, pool, sauna and spa treatments. My partner and I stayed in the amazing "Tower" room which has enviable views and is very unique. Although this room is only suitable for persons good with heights and stairs, due to our age we found the room most enjoyable. Once again a great stay and we are looking forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: Book the tower room for amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah_71186284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Thank you thank you thank you! to the Philips family and all of the staff for helping to make our wedding on 25th Feb 2012, so amazing.
All of our guests commented on the wonderful location, great food and extremely helpful & friendly staff at the hotel. Tracey and Paul went out of their way (I don't think they could have actually slept the whole weekend) ensuring our day was perfect in every way and making sure that absolutely everything ran smoothly. We honestly couldn't have found a better venue.
The wedding breakfast was fantastic; the food was delicious, portions were much larger than we'd expected and several of our guests told us it was the best wedding food they'd ever had.
Our wedding was amazing thanks to all of your hard work and efforts and we're so grateful.
We will certainly be returning (we'd move in if we could!) and are already recommending the hotel to everyone we know!

Huge thanks to the whole team
Brittany & Ben Masters

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrittanyMasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at Whitsand Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
What a fabulous wedding and celebrations you all had. We are thrilled for you both and look forward to seeing the wedding photo's. Upload some to our facebook page please. Can't wait to take a look. Our warmest regards from Tracey, Paul and all the Phillips family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed here under the impression that it was a luxury hotel, shortly after arriving it became clear it wasn't. Although the hotel is in a stunning location and the hotel and grounds are nice, the hotel is a little tired and dated.

Once we checked into our room which although had a new bathroom it was very, very small, more like a room in a small b and b, not a room in a 'luxury' hotel, as described in the groupon deal we were there on. We asked to move rooms and were shown some other rooms, none of which were like the rooms we had seen on the hotel website. I appreciate they can't show every room but would expect them to show a balanced view of the hotel. The room we ended up in, although spacious and nicer was still lacking the luxury feel which we expected. The shower had no pressure, the toilet moved away from the wall everytime you sat down and a smell of sewage came up the sink when you emptied the bath. There was also a coating of dust all down the walls.

The sauna, steam room and pool were very nice, as were the showers. However the changing rooms looked very tired and need upgrading. The treatment room was nice but it was directly next to the gym, so whilst having a massage I had to the listening to someone on a running machine the whole way through, beeping up and down when changing speed and talking loudly to someone. The massage was excellent but this did spoil it a little.

The food was good value and good meal sizes, as other people have said it was more pub grub than fine dining but we were happy with the choices.

To conclude we would not stay here again, and would advise people who are looking for a luxury break to stay elsewhere. The attitude of the staff (who seemed to be the owners) was also quite poor, I'm a great believer in going out of your way to ensure the customer is always happy.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank quintenxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at Whitsand Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
As a really friendly family run hotel, we offer some excellent value breaks during the quieter months of the year. At £89 for two nights on a Bed and Breakfast basis – and our breakfasts are really fantastic – we always go out of our way to ensure that every guest enjoys their stay – without any exceptions. Our hotel is a treasured family business and we all absolutely love what we do. We were not aware of any issues during your stay, which leaves us a little frustrated. We had not had any previous reports of a faulty toilet fixture or smells from the sink. Had you alerted us, we would have made every effort to rectify and resolve – like we have now done. We are always friendly, kind, helpful and responsive to all of our guests – it’s in our nature to be like this. It’s also what we’ve built our reputation upon over many years. We are upgrading our rooms, with majority completed and others underway. This all takes time to achieve. We do recognise that some rooms are bigger than others, and the price is reflected in this. To add some additional balance to your points, if you wanted a fine-dining experience, our full restaurant menu would have provided this and was available for a small £7.50 suppliment. Our Eddystone Bistro menu provides a tasty range of gastro pub classics and lighter options. We always strive to go the extra mile to ensure that all of our guests are happy and enjoy their stay with us. However, we also recognise that on rare occasion, not every guest wishes to be pleased.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We recently stayed at the Whitsand Bay. This is the first time we have visited the area or the hotel. It's set in a scenic location and within stone's throw of a sandy beach.

Parking: There is ample parking at the front of the hotel and the views from the car park are stunning.

Entrance: As you enter the hotel, the bar is to your right with a lovely fire place. It doesn't have a real fire, but then who would want to clean the ash every morning! The gas fire is more than adequate. The television in the bar tended to show quiet a few golf matches which is understandably as it does cater very well for golfers.

The bar staff are very welcoming and friendly. The drink prices very reasonable and nothing to worry about. We arrived at tea-time and were debating whether to order a Cream Tea or sandwiches. In the end we opted for sandwiches. I had Prawns in Rose Marie sauce and partner had Crab. Both came with chips and some salad. There is a very spacious double sitting room opposite the bar and this is where we sat on comfortable sofas and ate the food. The sandwiches were freshly made, very tasty and excellent quality.

Room: Check-in was quick and easy. There are no lifts so you have to carry your own cases to your room.

I had booked and had confirmation of a double en-suite room, but we actually got a family room, which faced the back garden and some fields. The room was all the way up into what must have been an attic. You can just picture the maid, in days gone by, after doing all the chores for the lord and lady of the house picking up her candle and wearily making her way to this room.

We were quite disappointed with the room and it was freezing cold. There is central heating in the room, but it wasn't on. We got the feeling that the hotel must have given our double to someone else, at the 11th hour, and moved us to the attic and no-one had thought to put the heating on. There is a free standing heater which we immediately plugged in and while waiting for the room to warm up we used the kettle and tea/coffee provided to make a warm drink. The room soon warmed up. A minor details, but if house keeping had done this prior to our arrival it would have been so much better.

Another thing to remember is that rooms to vary is size greatly.

Bathroom: Was tiny, but did the job and that's all that matters at the end of the day. The shower over the bath was quite powerful. They provide shower gel, shampoo and conditioner, but I have always taken my own no matter where I've stayed. They also provide fluffy white towels to be used in the room only. White towels with Grey strip are for use in the sauna, swimming pool and gym.

We didn't use the pool or the sauna, but listening to other guests they thoroughly enjoyed these facilities. The entrance to the pool is a doorway just past the Reception and down some stairs. The Games Room is also down there and has a snooker/pool table, giant Connect and I think table football.

Food: Breakfast - He had Kippers. I had Smoked Salmon and Scramble eggs one morning and the next morning he had a full Cornish B'fast. I had fried egg with hash browns. Toast with butter, marmalade, honey or jam. Cannot fault the breakfast. Absolutely delicious.

Dinner - My Salmon with new potatoes and salad was absolutely devine. Partner had Thai Chicken Curry, which he found quite bland. I guess he should have gone more traditional food like steak, scampi, sausages etc etc.

Conclusion: (1) For us a lower floor room would have been better as partner has a bad ankle injury and going up and down all the stairs aggrevate it quite a bit. This is in no way a reflection the hotel as it was up to me to make the hotel aware of this. I will request this next time. Oh yes, there is definitely going to be a next time!

(2) A Sea View room would have been nice, but it wasn't the end of the world that we didn't get one.

(3) Everyone in the hotel is very friendly, welcoming and will go the extra mile. All you need to do is ask.

(4) When we stayed, the hotel was fully booked. An excellent reflection on the good people who run it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Braids07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portwrinkle
9.3 km away
China Fleet Country Club
13.4 km away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
30.7 km away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 km away
St Mellion International Resort
8.4 km away
Friary Manor Hotel
Friary Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsand
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
11.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitsand Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitsand Bay Hotel

Property: Whitsand Bay Hotel
Address: Portwrinkle PL 11 3BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Portwrinkle
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portwrinkle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Whitsand Bay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the rugged Cornish coastline stands the magnificent Whitsand Bay Hotel. An easy 20-minute drive from the busy maritime city of Plymouth, this spectacular venue is steeped in history and tradition. A welcoming, family run 32 bedroom hotel, the Whitsand Bay offers you the perfect setting to enjoy golf, leisure, fine dinning and a retreat to which you can escape from the stresses and strains of everyday life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Whitsand Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Whitsand Bay
Whitsand Bay Torpoint

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing