We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Hope-boy
Hope, Arkansas

Amazing Place, View, Room, Food and People!

Review of Abaco Inn
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 10, 2021
So, I have waited 3 months to write this review so that I could reflect on our experience “out of the moment”. We have been blessed to go to many special places with our now teenage son. This is a very special experience in all regards.

The island is quaint and beautiful. It offers experiences ranging from a historical town to beautiful beaches all in a small package. The people all over the island are kind and welcoming. You just feel like you are visiting a great friend’s hometown. Yes, there is still significant hurricane damage on the island, but that makes the island and the people there even more remarkable. We enjoyed the same “island life/beach” vacation that you would hope for but were amazed at the beauty and the dedication of the rebuilding that is on the island and in the people. We were a little concerned we would get in their way or be a distraction, but that was not the case at all. They have completely turned the corner and they want and need you there.

The Abaco Inn is the symbol of all that beauty, rebirth and spirit all in one place. The location is ridiculous pretty! The property expands from ocean to sea, but is cozy and simply elegant at the same time. The Sullivans, Tom and every single staff person seriously make you feel like you are a guest in their home. The rooms, food and atmosphere are amazing, but the people are spectacular. I have to say that Tom, the GM, sets the service tone. I have never experienced this level of customer service that, at the same time, felt so honest and natural. I am just amazed that such a beautiful resort on the perfect island location is overshadowed by the people who own and run it.

Go for the beauty of the island. Stay here because of the people!
Date of stay: March 2021
Room Tip: Stay in the new villas for “extra” space and beautiful view!!!
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$629
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$630
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$633
  • StayForLong
8.5 km from Abaco Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$364
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$365
  • Tripadvisor
    C$364
44.2 km from Abaco Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Wonderful beaches for exploring, snorkeling or evening walks with wine
C$366
  • Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
  • Agoda.com
44.4 km from Abaco Inn
C$204
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    C$193
  • Official Site
    C$254
  • eDreams
48.5 km from Abaco Inn
Docks and Marina
8.8 km from Abaco Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Green Turtle Club Swimming Pool
Contact accommodation for availability.
47.0 km from Abaco Inn
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Bar
Contact accommodation for availability.
0.0 km from Abaco Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
6 rooms overlooking the pool
Contact accommodation for availability.
2.9 km from Abaco Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Elbow Cay
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
104
34
8
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
104
34
8
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf cart watch the sunset beautiful setting overlooking the ocean sandwich rack of lamb harbour lodge bar and restaurant loved every minute watching the waves crash delicious lunch gift shop tom hopetown villa daphne island
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 155 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2021

We were on a charter boat moored in Hopetown and a woman suggested we call the Abaco Inn for dinner as they would pick up up at no charge in a taxi. Our driver Max as funny and charming. Our table was outside in the breeze overlooking White Sound. Elise our server was attentive and friendly. The place was in excellent shape after rebuilding from Hurricane Dorian. The food was delicious and the drinks were too.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Service
Thank azsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 14, 2021

Where to start, we've been coming here for better than 40 years. After Dorian, we feared the place just would not back it back! The Island of Elbow Cay was decimated in the storm of Sept 1, 2019. My husband return that Oct to start repairs to our cottage and Tom, manager of the Abaco Inn quickly offered him ice to help along. What a blessing . We arrived this year, 2021 and found the beautiful Abaco Inn and Restaurant up and running , beautiful as ever. The Staff , the friendliest , the food , outstanding and Ofcourse there's Tom, who always in the best of moods and welcomed as old friends . If you get the opportunity you should not miss this Bahama Island favorite .

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cinyseaglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 4, 2021

I visited in late March / Early April 2021 with my wife. We stayed in an oceanfront bungalow room and really enjoyed the whole stay. On our day of arrival we had trouble because our boat ran a ground and we contacted Tom, the manager, via VHF for help. He was very helpful and we ended up having a friendly local save us and give us a boat ride to the inn. Next we needed to get to the main town for our 5-day covid test and Tom lent us his personal golf cart so we could drive there. He also sent one of the staff, Jack (a super helpful guy), to show us how to get there.

Upon return we checked into our room and were very pleased. these bungalow rooms are very cool and have amazing views of the Atlantic ocean and sea of abaco. They have been fixed-up since the hurricane and are not luxurious but are very comfortable and have nice furniture that is in good shape. The A/C is very good if you need it, or you can leave your doorwall open for sea air. The bathroom again was nice but not luxurious - no marble here, but everything worked right and was clean. There are not TVs or WIFI in the rooms. There are room safes which we used for our wallets, cash, and passports, but otherwise we didn't worry about locking our room. There just aren't many people around.

The main facility of the Inn is a small building with only a few rooms. There is one TV in the main lounge and wifi that has a radius of about 50 feet. I was ok with this, as I didn't come to abaco to watch tv and be on my phone all day, but I was able to go check email, etc when I wanted to. All of the staff was very friendly. If you want to eat in the restaurants you just sit down and they will generally greet you within a couple minutes. So... not super fast but not slow either - just laid-back. The bartender Daphne was nice and very talented. We enjoyed all the food here, and had most of our meals on site. They are still rebuilding but the main grounds are largely done, with some of the bay villas still getting completed. I would guess that by fall 2021 the entire property should be back to 100%.

I recommend renting either bikes or a golf cart. Nothing on the island is very far. Tom will help out with whatever you need.

There is a trip advisor question below about scuba diving - there are only two diver operators still in business, on Green Turtle Cay and Great Guana, so you need to get there if you want to dive. You can snorkel almost anywhere but I would probably pay to be tajen to a nice spot if you want to see a lot of turtles, rays, fish, etc.

Room tip: the oceanfront bungalow rooms have amazing views.
Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ianp0
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 1, 2019 via mobile

I was fortunate to have eaten at the Abaco Inn within a day or two of them reopening after hurricane Dorian. The staff was clearly eager to be back at work and the food was excellent! Crews were crawling all over the property getting everything back in order and I have no doubt things will be back to normal soon. If you’re considering a visit in the near future don’t hesitate! The Bahamas need the tourism to return and sense of normalcy. If you find yourself there for breakfast don’t miss the eggs Benedict with lobster and top it off with the best Bloody Mary you’ve ever tasted!

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Snyderwmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 6, 2019 via mobile

This Inn is a wonderful stay. Everyone was so pleasant. We had a wonderful meal at the restaurant.
Days at the beach. Everything you need is right there.
The walk up kept me in shape:)
Will definitely be back

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Rosemary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews