We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Michael D

‘Lily Pad”

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 7, 2018via mobile
My family just returned from a fabulous vacation in Elbow Cay. While there, we stayed at a newly completed beach front home , the “ Lily Pad” . According to rental agency , Hope Town Hideaways, we were the first renters. The “Lily Pad “had lots of positive features ; a beautiful family room with panoramic views, a new and well equipped kitchen , and a spacious deck with multiple seating areas. To make our visit more enjoyable , the home owners were gracious and generous to share some personal possessions such as bikes and beach accessories. The staff at Hope Town Hideaway were friendly and responsive to our needs during our stay . That said, although we had a wonderful time in Elbow Cay and the “ Lily Pad served our needs, there were some serious flaws in the home, that unless corrected , would discourage me from every renting or referring this home . First, both sliding glass doors to the decks were extremely difficult to open and close. Efforts by a technician sent to correct the problem were to no avail . Secondly , although the house was disclosed to have 2 1/2 baths, both full baths were on the second floor. Having recently had a hip replacement surgery, it was a burden to have to climb stairs to simply take a shower. This bath arrangement will continue to be burden to future renters who have difficulty with climbing stairs; the elderly, mothers with infants, or anyone recovering from surgery. An added inconvenience was that three families had to share one full bath. “Lily Pad’s “ greatest downfall was not having easy and safe access to the beach. Without stairs to the beach, we had to climb down a steep and nearly hazardous slope to the beach. There is no excuse for this given the premium rent paid for the property. Lily Pad” has lots to offer, but modifications and repairs should be made by the home owner to just the weekly rental and to compete with comparable properties on Elbow Cay .

Michael Davis
New Orleans

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$691
  • StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
9.2 km from Hope Town Hideaways
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$361
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    C$361
  • Tripadvisor
    C$361
47.2 km from Hope Town Hideaways
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$252
C$191
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$202
  • Official Site
    C$252
  • eDreams
48.4 km from Hope Town Hideaways
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
35.2 km from Hope Town Hideaways
Free parking
Pool
Bar
Contact accommodation for availability.
3.0 km from Hope Town Hideaways
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
42.9 km from Hope Town Hideaways
Free parking
Beachfront
                  @ Dive Guana
Contact accommodation for availability.
22.5 km from Hope Town Hideaways
Free Wifi
Free parking
6 rooms overlooking the pool
Contact accommodation for availability.
0.6 km from Hope Town Hideaways
Free Wifi
Free parking
Bluff House Beach
Contact accommodation for availability.
46.4 km from Hope Town Hideaways
Free Wifi
Beachfront
View more hotels in Elbow Cay
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
7
3
2
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
7
3
2
0
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 16 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2018

This was an absolutely perfect house for four couples. It was clean, comfortable, well appointed, located right across from the Abaco Inn. When we first got there on a rented boat from Marsh Harbor to our private dock in the front yard on White Sound, we thought the pool was a little small... boy were we wrong... it was perfect for afternoon cool down sitting on the ledge all around the pool.

Room tip: Captains Quarters is not a hotel, but a four bedroom three bath home
Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PapaTomHemingway08
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 13, 2018

Our experience in booking with Hope Town Hideaways was rather unpleasant. We got a confirmation with specific details when to arrive which deviated from our original plan. We booked our flights accordingly and then ... received a cancelation.

This lead to an email chain for over two months. Hope Town Hideaways did not take responsibility for this and left us stuck with the money we lost due to this.

We are talking about a few hundred dollars compared to the thousands they charge for staying at the house/their services.

As we are entering the third month and both parties still do not take responsibility, I would like to make everybody aware of these problems who considers booking with Hope Town Hideways. Even a confirmed booking does not mean that you will get your accommodation.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank twitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 11, 2015 via mobile

Rented Pieces of Eight estate for a week. Large family vacation. It was awesome! Great view, lots of space. Beach, infinity pool and seclusion are the big highlights.
Negatives were the deck is very weathered and bare feet will get you splinters in no time. Bring tweezers! Kitchen was perfect for family cooking. One of the guest houses had no working air conditioning and one of the two ice makers was full of mold and in need of maintenance. All in all this was worth the price. Rental agency was great. I'd definitely come here again.

Date of stay: June 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Oncotron1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 21, 2015 via mobile

Large house on south end of island near Tahiti beach. Easy access to private boat slip and care takers were wonderful. Rented a golf cart for cruising around and 2 boats from Island Marine......Jeff and Jenny are great! We do not normally rent on EC, but we needed the space and amenities. Ocean front, pool, boat slip and access to Hopetown allowed everyone to do their own thing.

Date of stay: June 2015
Thank bob911
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Outstanding island. Houses are wonderful and cozy. Hope to return soon! Laid back and relaxing. Could snorkel right off the beach without much effort. Houses and beaches are clean and well taken care of. The locals are welcoming and extremely hospitable.

Date of stay: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dweezilcrunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews