We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
LVE

Captains Quarters

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jun 2, 2019via mobile
We recently stayed a week at Captains Quarters . The house in general was fine but the beds were terrible. We stayed in the room that overlooked the front porch and the bed was worse than sleeping on a brick floor. It was so bad we had to resort to sleeping on the couches . Our friends said their beds were not good either but all agreed the one we had was the worst . Unfortunately we could not use the pool as it was green the entire time. As the house faces west it is extremely hot and not being able to use the pool was very disappointing. This was an expensive house and to have bedding that is absolutely horrible and an usable pool is truly unacceptable .
Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samara A, Owner at Hope Town Hideaways, responded to this review
Responded Jul 5, 2019
We have not had any complaints about the beds in the past and I have just confirmed with the caretakers of the property that all of the beds are Sleep Number beds which can be adjusted to your comfort level and are some of the best quality beds money can buy. The pool was just refinished in April so I am surprised to hear it was green. A call to our office or the caretakers would have given us an opportunity to address this issue immediately however we were not made aware of the problem.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
6 rooms overlooking the pool
    0.6 km from Hope Town Hideaways
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    The pool view
    Earn Trip Coins after your stay
    • Expedia.com
      C$745
    • Agoda.com
      C$633
    • Hotels.com
      C$787
    3.5 km from Hope Town Hideaways
    C$1,139
    C$887
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Priceline
    • Hotels.com
      C$886
    • StayForLong
    9.2 km from Hope Town Hideaways
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    C$363
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
      C$362
    • Tripadvisor
      C$363
    47.2 km from Hope Town Hideaways
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    C$253
    C$192
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
      C$203
    • Official Site
      C$253
    • eDreams
    48.4 km from Hope Town Hideaways
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Vio.com
    • Expedia.com
    • Hotels.com
    35.2 km from Hope Town Hideaways
    Free parking
    Pool
    Green Turtle Club Swimming Pool
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Vio.com
    • Expedia.com
    • Hotels.com
    46.5 km from Hope Town Hideaways
    Free Wifi
    Beachfront
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    46.4 km from Hope Town Hideaways
    Free Wifi
    Beachfront
    Docks and Marina
    9.5 km from Hope Town Hideaways
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Elbow Cay
    Reviews (16)
    Filter reviews
    16 results
    Traveller rating
    7
    3
    2
    0
    4
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    7
    3
    2
    0
    4
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    1 - 6 of 16 reviews
    Reviewed May 14, 2019

    This review is more about the rental company (Hope Town Hideaways) than the property itself. I highly recommend that you find another company to use for rentals in the Abacos. First, they misrepresented the property on their website. Their description of the property is a bit misleading. The property lacked the updated amenities listed and the house was more tired than anything (most of the doors would not open, appliances that did not function properly, torn screens in doors/windows, etc). Second, the caretaker for Hope Town Hideways was just downright rude, aggressive, and had very questionable business practices.

    I would be wary of a company that has employees that lack good business ethics and treat their customers in this fashion.

    Date of stay: April 2019
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Hudeylover
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Samara A, Owner at Hope Town Hideaways, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2019

    Can you please tell me which property you stayed at as it would help us to correct any misinformation provided on our website and give us an opportunity to bring these items to the owners attention to be addressed? Also who the caretaker was that assisted you. Thanks.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed May 10, 2019

    We and 2 other couples rented Seaduction, a 3 bdrm 3 bath oceanfront home on Elbow Cay. Overall, we loved the oceanfront location, the charm of the home, and each couple having their own bathroom. Having use of laundry is great if you want to pack light, and having a full kitchen is essential on Elbow Cay. The kitchen was fully equipped, though the stove was a bit wonky and had to be lit manually.

    The grounds were well kept and the home offered plenty of comfortable seating for 6 people, on the patio, under the gazebo and around the pool. If you want sun or shade, you're covered. The pool was great, though over-chlorinated, but too cold to use the week we went. And note that you're not allowed to open any of the ocean-facing doors (except the main door to the patio), including the master bedroom, because they were warped and couldn't be easily put back into place. That was disappointing, but not so great that it merited an official complaint.

    The views of the ocean were great from the back, and one night we spent hours watching a lightning storm in the distance. The week we went (end of March) was warm in the sun, but very windy, so a sweater/longs were definitely needed.

    All in all, we loved the home and in fact recommended it to many people that we met during the week.

    Unfortunately, our trip was marred on Day 5, when we woke to discover that the front door was broken. We'd returned home the evening before without incident, but it was during a wind advisory, so our best guess is that the door didn't latch completely, and the wind caught the door and slammed it, splintering the wood around the dead bolt.

    We called the caretaker and he and his handyman came out within a few hours to do a temporary fix it, so kudos on a very quick response....but then he said that we were responsible for repairing the door, a 50+ year "vintage" wooden door that could not be easily replaced because it matched the other doors. And because we'd signed a contract that we'd be responsible for all damage that occurred while we occupied the home, we were on the hook for 100% of the cost to restore the door.

    So despite the fact that we'd done nothing beyond normal use, within 24 hours we were texted a quote for a whopping $1320 to repair the door, followed by an email asking if we wanted to pay by credit card for an additional 5%. As you can imagine that put a damper on the last 2 days of our vacation. When we returned, my husband called to ask if they could call the owner and see if he'd be willing to split the cost 50/50, the caretaker repeated that we'd signed the contract, and then threatened to sue us.

    So sadly, even though we loved the property itself, we cannot recommend booking it because you'll be at risk for paying for repairs, even for things that are broken during a windstorm. Because of this, I'll never rent another property that doesn't offer a liability insurance policy.

    Lesson learned.

    Room tip: North bathroom was very small, so not suitable for large people.
    Date of stay: May 2019
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Location
    2  Thank LisaRex
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed July 7, 2018 via mobile

    My family just returned from a fabulous vacation in Elbow Cay. While there, we stayed at a newly completed beach front home , the “ Lily Pad” . According to rental agency , Hope Town Hideaways, we were the first renters. The “Lily Pad “had lots of positive features ; a beautiful family room with panoramic views, a new and well equipped kitchen , and a spacious deck with multiple seating areas. To make our visit more enjoyable , the home owners were gracious and generous to share some personal possessions such as bikes and beach accessories. The staff at Hope Town Hideaway were friendly and responsive to our needs during our stay . That said, although we had a wonderful time in Elbow Cay and the “ Lily Pad served our needs, there were some serious flaws in the home, that unless corrected , would discourage me from every renting or referring this home . First, both sliding glass doors to the decks were extremely difficult to open and close. Efforts by a technician sent to correct the problem were to no avail . Secondly , although the house was disclosed to have 2 1/2 baths, both full baths were on the second floor. Having recently had a hip replacement surgery, it was a burden to have to climb stairs to simply take a shower. This bath arrangement will continue to be burden to future renters who have difficulty with climbing stairs; the elderly, mothers with infants, or anyone recovering from surgery. An added inconvenience was that three families had to share one full bath. “Lily Pad’s “ greatest downfall was not having easy and safe access to the beach. Without stairs to the beach, we had to climb down a steep and nearly hazardous slope to the beach. There is no excuse for this given the premium rent paid for the property. Lily Pad” has lots to offer, but modifications and repairs should be made by the home owner to just the weekly rental and to compete with comparable properties on Elbow Cay .

    Michael Davis
    New Orleans

    Date of stay: June 2018
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    2  Thank Michael D
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed June 21, 2018

    This was an absolutely perfect house for four couples. It was clean, comfortable, well appointed, located right across from the Abaco Inn. When we first got there on a rented boat from Marsh Harbor to our private dock in the front yard on White Sound, we thought the pool was a little small... boy were we wrong... it was perfect for afternoon cool down sitting on the ledge all around the pool.

    Room tip: Captains Quarters is not a hotel, but a four bedroom three bath home
    Date of stay: June 2018
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank PapaTomHemingway08
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed January 13, 2018

    Our experience in booking with Hope Town Hideaways was rather unpleasant. We got a confirmation with specific details when to arrive which deviated from our original plan. We booked our flights accordingly and then ... received a cancelation.

    This lead to an email chain for over two months. Hope Town Hideaways did not take responsibility for this and left us stuck with the money we lost due to this.

    We are talking about a few hundred dollars compared to the thousands they charge for staying at the house/their services.

    As we are entering the third month and both parties still do not take responsibility, I would like to make everybody aware of these problems who considers booking with Hope Town Hideways. Even a confirmed booking does not mean that you will get your accommodation.

    Date of stay: January 2018
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    2  Thank twitt
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews