We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“peace and tranquility”

Review of Casa Hugo

Swimming Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swimming Pool
Overwiew Main Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
73 reviews
Swimming Pool
Overwiew
Main Bedroom
Livingroom
Overview
Livingroom
Kitchen
Kitchen
Dining Room
Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom
Kitchen
Terrace
Bathroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Overview
Swimming Pool
Swimming Pool
Entry Pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
La Asomada, Lanzarote, Canary Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 73 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
katie p
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“peace and tranquility”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment we arrived at Lanzarote airport, Jose made himself available to us and nothing was to much trouble. He guided us to his villa, where very shortly after arrival we felt very much at home. This is a beautiful and comfortable villa, which is set in large grounds, surrounded by lovely views of mountains and sea in distance.
As a couple it is ideal and we plan and have already made our booking with Jose to return with the two teenagers next year.
The villa is situated within easy reach of the main attractions on the island and the main town of PCD is only 10 mins away.
We can't recommend this villa highly enough nor the service provided by Jose.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank103
Cardiff
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A gem of a villa - not your average holiday rental!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This superb villa was once a home in the Cortes family and thus boasts all the comfort and space you could need, and it matters to Jose Carlos that your time in it is happy. In every aspect of your holiday, from booking, to being met at the airport, and addressing any questions about the property, he is helpful, readily available and yet unassuming.
Details about the villa which we have particularly appreciated (and which are so often totally neglected) are:
A thoughtful welcome basket of fresh food and milk, useful if you arrive on a late night flight.
An ample supply of detergents etc - no rushing out for a washing up sponge or buying a large bottle of washing detergent for a couple of washes.
All barbecue fuel stocked up.
A very generous supply of towels for the showers and also pool/beach towels.
These were replaced after a week and the whole property was meticulously cleaned in the middle of our two week holiday.
Two swimming noodles for the pool for the kids, (as well as balls and squirters!)

The undercover pool (heated to 28.5C) with retractable patio doors is of course a huge plus, especially as even in August, the winds can make bathing/playing a little chilly, depending on time of day etc. Or else you are sheltered from the heat!

The location of the villa is excellent, both in being in a quiet hillside setting with wonderful views, but also within very easy reach of major sights. It is a 30min drive to the beaches of Papagayo nr Playa Blanca in the far south, 50 mins to Orzola on the northern tip. A very good supermarket is a couple of minutes' drive away.

We are a family of two adults and two children aged 9 and 7 and for us, it was the perfect holiday home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WadiRich
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A delightful villa”
Reviewed June 13, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This is a really great choice of stay, the amenities are excellent. Jose is superb and makes sure you are having a good time plus offering local knowledge when needed e.g. Restaurant recommendations, charcoal for BBQ :-).
For a family, this is an exceptional villa, the indoor heated pool is under cover and out of the wind / sun. Alternative entertainment is the table tennis and fuss ball table.
The villa is secure by way of entry gate and alarm system.
Location wise la asomada is very good. Puerto Calero is very nice, a good selection of restaurants serving high standards of food (we are not fans of resorts like puerto del Carmen - too touristy). The villa is central to a number of attractions on the island. From here,everything is less than 30mins away. We'd recommend the caves on the east coast as our highlight. Drew Murdochs bar La Vida in Costa Tiguise is also a great night out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: BBQ area and indoor pool.
Liked least: The wind!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
c00ltrave...
Surrey, UK
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A haven of peace”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We have just spent a week in this wonderful villa. Booking was easy. The day we arrived, Jose welcomed us at the airport. He was extremely helpful and friendly. The villa itself is exactly as advertised. It is situated in a quiet village, in the hills. It is comfortable and feels more like a real home than a holiday home. It is also very clean, as was the pool, which we enjoyed every day. The view across the island is beautiful, and you can see Fuerteventura in the distance. You can sit on one of the terrace and hear nothing but the birds singing. It is so peaceful, yet only a short drive from the coast.
We loved CasaHugo, and if we ever return to Lanzarote, this will no doubt be our place to stay !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the pool, the master bedroom, the house alarm, electric gate...
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guenter W
Perpignan, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Holiday-house ranking list number one”
Reviewed March 21, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Number one on the ranking list of our holiday-houses on Lanzarote in the last 5 years.
The house is very spacy, the garden is beautiful and the pool was great.
Very warm-hearted welcoming by our host José-Carlos.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the pool
Liked least: Fire in the beautiful chimney not allowed
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul N
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A lovely villa, great facilities and in a central location”
Reviewed February 22, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We came away to break up the long cold British winter. We have two small kids and find the Canary Islands a convenient safe place to come for a break. We have been here on five separate occasions and with out a doubt this has been the best Villa we have stayed in. The villa itself has all the facilities (good wifi, satellite tv), but the big bonus is the indoor heated pool. This week we have managed to spend at least 15 hours in the pool and as it is lockable we have also not worried about the kids walking freely around the villa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The indoor swimming pool
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan B
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A special villa for sunshine, peace and relaxation”
Reviewed February 10, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed in several villas in Lanzarote but this has to be the best yet.
Booking and arrangements for our stay went very smoothly. We received all the information and help that we needed. The web pages give a truly accurate account of amenities and describe the villa exactly.
The location suits holiday makers looking for a tranquil setting and Casa Hugo is beautiful; luxurious and homely at the same time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool area and the helpfulness of the owner
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing